We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Elkview

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Elkview to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Elkview
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Crossing Shopping Center, Elkview, WV 25071 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Charleston North (Elkview)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elkview
Draper, Virginia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

This hotel is a little off the beaten path (about 10 miles north of I-64), but because of that you pay less than if you stay right in Charleston. The hotel rooms are nicely furnished, beds very comfortable. It is very clean and inviting. The honeymoon suite has a nice private jacuzzi. Didn't use the pool, but looked in; it's really small. The complimentary breakfast is wonderful. Lots of hot and cold choices.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    22
    6
    10
    13
See reviews for
38
20
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Taylorsville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

A dead ladybug on our windowsill was our first indication that this property is not up to the usual standards that we have enjoyed during stays at Country Inns in other cities.

Do NOT believe the website's claim that this is the "newest Country Inn and Suites" in the Charleston area. It is not new. I suppose they are claiming that because it is under renovation; the entire 2nd floor was closed for renovation during our stay. The hotel is clearly an older property, and not well-maintained.

Other negatives:
- The room was sparsely/cheaply furnished: 2 very old double beds, a dresser/wall unit, and a small round table with two old chairs. There was no couch, desk, or even a comfortable chair.
- The room was not a suite, and had no refrigerator or microwave. The bedding was cheap, thin, and flimsy. We asked for extra blankets; they have none (ever - they don't stock extra blankets).
- Most of the hotel amentities were out of order. This included the whirlpool, ice machines on ALL 5 FLOORS (but the clerk did retrieve ice for us from the kitchen/pantry), business center computer, and even a lamp in our room.
- The hotel does not have roll-away beds. The info folder stated they have air mattresses available at no extra charge. But when we asked for one, we weren't surprised to learn that all of them were broken. (Fortunately, being a family of 5, we travel with a fold-up cot.)
- The pool had an slightly green tint to the water.

Positives:
- Location - easy on/off I-79, in a shopping center with a K-Mart and several restaurants (Subway, McD's, Bob Evans, Chinese, Mexican and more). We ate at the Mexican restaurant, and the hotel didn't seem so bad after a few margaritas.
- The breakfast selection is plentiful and good - especially the fresh fruit mix that included bite-sized grapefruit, pineapple, and orange segments - and pleased all my family with make-your-own waffles, biscuits/gravy, egg patties, sausage, potatoes, oatmeal, pastries, cereals, and more.
- The breakfast area and lobby are quite large and comfortable.
- Most of the staff seems friendly and professional (with the exception of one clerk at our arrival, who held her jaw and complained loudly about her toothache and the tardiness of the person scheduled to relieve her).
- The pool and surrounding area were very clean (and yes, we swam in the slightly green water with no problems - understanding that green tint can be found even in chemically-balanced pool water).
- Other than the dead ladybug on the windowsill, our room was clean. No sign of bedbugs, and the bathroom was clean right down to the grout.

We paid only $50 plus 5,000 Club Carlson points for the room, and for that price (and with a few margaritas), it was ok for a brief overnight stay. If you're staying in the area longer, you should look around for a better option.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quakertown, Pa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel for the last 5 years the week of Thanksgiving while visiting family in the area. It is always clean and the staff is exceptionally friendly and very helpful. Rooms are a little worn but I believe that they have been doing renovations to fix them up some. The complimentary breakfast is very good.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Nice, clean, hotel in Elkview, WV, off of I79. Big room for complimentary breakfast. Situated in a shopping ctr, which had a Bob Evans, and a few other fast food eateries. Heat unit in room could use some updating. Had an indoor pool and jacuzzi, which we didn't have time to try!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

I have stayed in other properties of the County Inn and Suites brand and have been very satisfied. Unfortunately, the property at Elkview was a disappointment.

The lobby was clean and bright and gave no hint of the poor guest rooms. Rooms are tired, dark, depressing and worn, with a lack of amenities I'd have expected in a budget property, but not in a County Inn and Suites. (I looked into changing rooms, but the second was no better and had a pathetic little round table serving as a work desk.). No frig or microwave (apparently some rooms have them and some don't, and the desk clerk did not know which did and didn't). TV signal weak and fuzzy. Furniture marred. Bed worn and barely adequate, and made up sloppily by housekeeping. No WiFi service on 5th floor (had to go to lobby). Automobile noise. Smoke detector hanging out of wall and inoperative. "Business Center" consists of one computer next to check-in desk that only worked intermittently and slowly, offered zero privacy, and forced user to stand. I am a former auto travel manager at AAA and have seen the good, the bad, and the ugly in lodgings, so I am not just a complainer. Trust me, this property needs a renovation NOW. I would not return, as I could get equivalent budget accommodations for far less money. On the good side, the breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: Call ahead to find out if renovation has occurred. If not, go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Very good customer service and The beds were great.
Too Bad there is construction and a interstate right next to the hotel.
Overall, great service !

Room Tip: Try to stay on the north side away from the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, SC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Entered room and immediately noticed bed was very sloppily made up (spread not tucked under pillows, spread hanging off mattress onto floor. Pillows were extremely flat. Pulled back sheets and found a dead bug. Room had a distinctive pet smell odor. Bench in shower was very loose and potentially hardazous. There was also a problem with the flooring in the shower (being loose). As far as having computers available for guests--its right beside check in desk, you are not able to sit down, and the sun coming in the windows makes it hard to see the screen. Highly recommend you bring your own

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Elkview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Elkview

Address: 101 Crossing Shopping Center, Elkview, WV 25071 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Charleston North (Elkview)
Location: United States > West Virginia > Elkview
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elkview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Elkview 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, LaQuinta, Expedia, Orbitz, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Elkview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Elkview
Elkview Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Elkview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.