We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel..Great Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Elkview

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Elkview to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Elkview
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Crossing Shopping Center, Elkview, WV 25071 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Charleston North (Elkview)   |  
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elkview
Quakertown, Pa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel..Great Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel for the last 5 years the week of Thanksgiving while visiting family in the area. It is always clean and the staff is exceptionally friendly and very helpful. Rooms are a little worn but I believe that they have been doing renovations to fix them up some. The complimentary breakfast is very good.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    19
    6
    10
    12
See reviews for
34
17
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Nice, clean, hotel in Elkview, WV, off of I79. Big room for complimentary breakfast. Situated in a shopping ctr, which had a Bob Evans, and a few other fast food eateries. Heat unit in room could use some updating. Had an indoor pool and jacuzzi, which we didn't have time to try!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

I have stayed in other properties of the County Inn and Suites brand and have been very satisfied. Unfortunately, the property at Elkview was a disappointment.

The lobby was clean and bright and gave no hint of the poor guest rooms. Rooms are tired, dark, depressing and worn, with a lack of amenities I'd have expected in a budget property, but not in a County Inn and Suites. (I looked into changing rooms, but the second was no better and had a pathetic little round table serving as a work desk.). No frig or microwave (apparently some rooms have them and some don't, and the desk clerk did not know which did and didn't). TV signal weak and fuzzy. Furniture marred. Bed worn and barely adequate, and made up sloppily by housekeeping. No WiFi service on 5th floor (had to go to lobby). Automobile noise. Smoke detector hanging out of wall and inoperative. "Business Center" consists of one computer next to check-in desk that only worked intermittently and slowly, offered zero privacy, and forced user to stand. I am a former auto travel manager at AAA and have seen the good, the bad, and the ugly in lodgings, so I am not just a complainer. Trust me, this property needs a renovation NOW. I would not return, as I could get equivalent budget accommodations for far less money. On the good side, the breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: Call ahead to find out if renovation has occurred. If not, go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Elkview hotels

Oshawa, Canada
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Very good customer service and The beds were great.
Too Bad there is construction and a interstate right next to the hotel.
Overall, great service !

Room Tip: Try to stay on the north side away from the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, SC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Entered room and immediately noticed bed was very sloppily made up (spread not tucked under pillows, spread hanging off mattress onto floor. Pillows were extremely flat. Pulled back sheets and found a dead bug. Room had a distinctive pet smell odor. Bench in shower was very loose and potentially hardazous. There was also a problem with the flooring in the shower (being loose). As far as having computers available for guests--its right beside check in desk, you are not able to sit down, and the sun coming in the windows makes it hard to see the screen. Highly recommend you bring your own

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berea, Kentucky
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Hotel Representative obtained my bank card under false pretenses stating that no charges would be placed on the card...however, unauthorized room charges were placed on my bank card, and I paid cash for the room...I was told that the unauthorized charges would be removed, but the fact remains that I was told that the card would not be charged and only used as reference because the hotel cannot tell who is honest and who is not honest. I have traveled alone for a long, long time and never been subjected to the rudeness and dishonesty that I found here--guess I should have asked for their bank card before inquiring about rooms. Elkview, West Virginia is a beautiful location...too bad this was the only lodging and energy offered. I just wish I had napped in my car and gotten out of West Virginia as fast as possible. Filing a complaint with the Attorney General Monday. I have stayed at Country Inns before but this was my last time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

I was visiting my son's family and chose this hotel because of its proximity to his location. I was generally impressed with the facilities, free breakfast and staff. I only tried the pool once and was not impressed. Overall I'd say the price and location make up for any shortfalls. I'd certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Elkview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Elkview

Address: 101 Crossing Shopping Center, Elkview, WV 25071 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Charleston North (Elkview)
Location: United States > West Virginia > Elkview
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elkview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Elkview 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LaQuinta, Orbitz, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Elkview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Elkview
Elkview Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Elkview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.