We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Comfortable Near Downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Martin Street, Elkins, WV 26241   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Elkins
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfortable Near Downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This inn is provides easy access to nearby restaurants in Elkins, with a very comfortable room. Our room had a King bed and the bedding was very nice. The breakfast is fairly extensive given that it is complimentary, however, lacked healthier and vegetarian-friendly options. Rooms feature complimentary Wi-Fi, and a small refrigerator for keeping midnight snacks. Several bars and restaurants are walking distance away as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a king bed on the second floor or above, so the early risers at breakfast don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElkinsHIE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. We are conveniently located in downtown Elkins so we are close to most everything Elkins has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    44
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
31
35
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marlinton, West Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Our room was very nice, Cleaner than average. A/C worked very well. What more is needed. Hotel is one of the newer in town, has a pool, Service was excellent. Near to the train station and theater. Walk to downtown and the many small shops. Cool area to visit.

Room Tip: Walking distance to the railroad station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElkinsHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thanks for your comments. We know that no one comes to Elkins just to stay in a hotel but we hope that when you do, we can be the ones to provide you with a clean, comfortable, friendly atmosphere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The 5 of us stayed here while passing through visiting family for one night. We were upgraded to a suite and it was perfect! The beds are super comfy and the rooms are spacious and clean. The entire property was clean and beautiful and the staff was very friendly. The breakfast was very good - especially the french toast. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElkinsHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. Those are all things that we strive for. We hope to see you all agian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed here three nights. The facility is just across the parking lot from the scenic train trip's station. The daily included breakfast was superior to far more expensive properties in which I have stayed. The desk and breakfast staff were very friendly, willing to do the little extra for the customer. Highly recommended. Even own room, right next to the elevator, was quiet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElkinsHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a clean and comfortable hotel with friendly staff. It has a very basic fitness area with a few treadmills and a small kiddy pool. The breakfast was nice and varied over the two days we stayed there. Would recommend this hotel if you need to stay in this area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElkinsHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
I appriciate your comments. Thank you for staying and posting your thoughts about our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

What a beautiful place to come to after a long drive from Dayton, Ohio. The hotel was easy to find, very quiet and relaxing. The first night it was booked solid with a tour group. The staff was gracious and helpful with information about the area. Our room was excellent, clean, and there were awesome views at sunset.

Being close to the train depot for those taking the excursions is a plus. The breakfast was very good, love the cinnamon rolls. My husband was especially happy with the sausage gravy and biscuit. It's his favorite.

We stayed June 28 and 29, 2013. On Saturday, we drove from Elkins to Durbin to see the depot there. We continued on to Cass and the depot, stopped at the National Radio Astronomy Observatory on the way. Took the tour, enjoyed it, is an interesting place, worth the extra time. Made a loop back to Elkins, beautiful scenery along the way.

If we make it back that way again, we will definitely stay here. I would highly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Our room was close to the elevator, never had any problem with noise coming from it. It was conveni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElkinsHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. I love that you not only point our facility, but all the things to do around this area. We are truly fortunate to have all the natural beauty surrounding us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

This hotel met all of the standards which we expect from a Holiday inn Express. It was clean and comfortable. The staff was attentive to the needs of the guests. Morning breakfast was tasty as usual including the signature cinnamon rolls. The only thing missing a breakfast was some fruit. That may have been a timing matter since I noticed some when we were checking out.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElkinsHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We will look into adding some fruit, other than the bananas, to our breakfast bar. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins

Address: 50 Martin Street, Elkins, WV 26241
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Elkins
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Elkins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express in Elkins, West Virginia. This new 69 room property is located minutes off of Rt. 33/250, near the heart of historic downtown Elkins, home of Davis and Elkins College, The American Mountain Theater, and The Durbin and Greenbrier Scenic Railroad. Visiting a customer or other local business? Our hotel offers all the services a business traveler needs for a productive visit including free high speed internet! Visiting for leisure? Nestled in the western foothills of the Allegheny Mountains, Elkins is surrounded by the natural beauty of the Appalachian Plateau. The abundance of mountains, forested terrain, and cold-water streams make fishing and hunting in this area a rewarding experience. Streams and rivers are stocked with both golden and brown trout which are actually hatched at the Bowden Fish Hatchery located 10 miles east of Elkins on US. Route 33. Randolph County - the hub of the mid-Atlantic ski region is just a short drive from any of the area's three major ski resorts. Canaan Valley, Timberline and Snowshoe Mountain Resort offer excellent downhill skiing opportunities. The region also offers an abundance of ungroomed cross-country trails on forest roads, mountain sides and ridges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Elkins
Holiday Inn Express Elkins
Holiday Inn Elkins
Elkins Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.