We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay for our Polar Express trip!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elkins
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins
Save
You added Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins to your Saves list
Route 1, Box 115, Elkins, WV 26241-9713   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Elkins B&B and Inns
Virginia
1 review
“Excellent stay for our Polar Express trip!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

If we had to do it all over again, I would stay at the Cheat River Lodge Cabin again in a heartbeat. We stayed in the Big Poplar Cabin. It was feet away from the river and our kids had so much fun hanging out by the riverside. The cabin was very private. It was exactly what we needed. It was very well-equipped, clean, and so cozy. The kids enjoyed the cabin as much as they did riding the Polar Express. We had such an amazing time and the cabin really made our experience to West Virginia so great!

Room Tip: We loved Big Poplar so much! I think it has one of the best locations, but during snow, it would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunadawg2004, Manager at Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
We are so glad to be part of your very special Polar Express experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    27
    14
    7
    11
See reviews for
26
37
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed in one of the recently remodeled rooms at the lodge. The bedding was very comfortable and we had no sleep issues. Very soothing mountain location. Easy drive to Canaan Valley, which was at peak leaf during our visit (9/30 to 10/3), Cass RR, Seneca Rocks. At that time of year any driving is pleasurable. Didn't have a decent meal in Elkins. However, we did find a great restaurant across the four lane up Kelly Mountain Road (prices are not cheap). Elkins does have a great bookstore, and some nice local arts stores. If you are looking for an affordable place to stay to enjoy the mountains, Cheat River Lodge is a good choice.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

A friend recommended it and I'm so happy we came. Close to many things to do. The scenery is breathtaking. And its charm is heart warming. I recommend it to anyone who like mountains and seclusion but yet close to a town full of friendly people and treasures. Little diners, quaint stores, friendly bars, and many attractions.
The owners are great. Worked with us changing our arrangements. And I fell in live with the lil store.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, West Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We spent the weekend in the King Studio.
Good points-loved the door going right out onto the deck and hot tub. I spent the afternoon in the hot tube while hubby watched WVU. Nice King Bed and very nice linens, parking right across the street. Price very reasonable.
Not so good-not exactly clean (air conditioner was very dirty), bathroom is TINY, when the toilet is so close to the wall that the handle to flush it has worn a whole in the wall, it is tiny! LOL and it was a tiny little toilet. We are big people, it was not good.
All in all, not too bad. If we had it to do over we would have spent the extra $40/night to get an upgraded room.

Room Tip: this room is ok if you want something reasonable and don't mind a room that is older and not per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
search&rescue, General Manager at Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Your suggestion to pay more to get more is right on. The little studio that you stayed in, is no longer an offering, and soon the 'standard' king will not be an option. We are remodeling. The new rooms are very nice, and will cost more. We've been in business for 30 years, and our clients over the years have enjoyed a reasonable rate. But the time has come, to make a change. We expect that our "rooms with a view" will surpass any other available locally with a price that will be competitive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mobile, al
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Cabin was just as described on the website. Clean, affordable and wonderful service. The babbling river right out the door was the added touch that sent my kids into heaven ! Overstuffed beds were so comfy. Some really fine and unique eateries within 15 minutes of the place...just ask the locals.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth, West Virginia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I truly enjoyed my stay. Since it was labor day weekend, we wanted quiet and private, and it was delivered. I enjoyed sitting on the porch and listening to the river, which is incredibly close. The cabin is surrounded by rhododendrons, so you seem to be the only ones around.
Crystal with housekeeping was a big help. We had some issues with the hot tub due to flooding a few days prior and she did everything to help us.. I would highly recommend this cabin.

Room Tip: big poplar, listening to the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green, Ohio, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Spent six days here and really enjoyed my time there and the surroundings. I had the luxury of staying in one of the upgraded remodeled lodge rooms which was very nice, but would suggest some plumbing upgrades. Also believe management should keep office /general store open on a daily basis not just weekends. Love that porch area!!!

Room Tip: Ask for the newly renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
search&rescue, Manager at Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
The comment shows that the newly remodeled rooms are being well received. The project is ongoing, and more rooms will soon be remodeled.

I, too, wish what we could keep the office open during the week. Unfortunately, doing so would greatly increase our daily overhead; a cost that would have to be passed onto the patron. With only seven rooms this would raise our rates significantly especially since occupancy rates are generally lesson weekdays when compared to weekends.

We provide a courtesy phone on the premise that is answered 24/7 for this purpose, and believe it an effective and efficient way to communicate patron's needs. We have housekeepers and maintenance on duty everyday.

CRL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins

Address: Route 1, Box 115, Elkins, WV 26241-9713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Elkins
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Elkins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cheat River Lodge Properties are a privately owned and operated, non-commercial vacation destination on the banks of the Cheat River. Large riverside homes and cabins are available with a private hot tub. Lodge suites are also available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cheat River Lodge And Riverside Cabins Hotel Elkins

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.