We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tree House” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elkins
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins
Route 1, Box 115, Elkins, WV 26241-9713   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Elkins B&B and Inns
Great Falls, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tree House”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We spent Mother's Day weekend at the tree house. We've stayed at most all other of the CRL cabins, and each one is a unique treat. The Tree House has a unique view of the river and the nearby stream guarantees the constant relaxing sound of running water. You can rent elsewhere, but no where will you get this perfectly relaxing and beautiful setting. Town is ten minutes away, and National Forest is 5 minutes away, hiking, biking, antiquing, everything for everyone is here. If your child attends D&E College, this is a great place to bunk during your visit. These cabins beat the heck out of expensive, crowded, crappy ski accommodations at Canaan Valley or Snowshoe and are well worth the short drive to ski in winter. The Tree House has fewer bedrooms and only one bath so I'd recommend it for a couple or small family. (We has a 14 month old with us, and she was safe and happy). Think twice for the elderly or those with mobility issues. There are quite a few steps. But a landing with a bench. Well lit, there's a light switch at the bottom. If you are afraid of heights, the tree house is built on solid ground. The decking gives you the "tree house" feel. The hot tub is sunken into the deck and surrounded with benches and mountain laurel giving a tropical feel. Bring baby gates for your kids and your dog. It's a little pricey for one pocket-book, but split the cost with friends, fill all the beds (you can bring your dog too) and everybody wins! It's not "upscale" but perfect for getting away. It's clean, well maintained, and comfortable. Another good point is that you can usually reserve a great cabin on short notice. Let's keep it our little secret (LOL). Don't forget to tip the housekeeping staff. They are locals working hard to get by.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunadawg2004, Guest Relations Manager at Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We agree that each property is unique and some cabins or houses may appeal more to certain guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    25
    13
    7
    9
See reviews for
25
34
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I hate to title this review this way, but it impacted our stay in a major way. The room was good, clean, but the bed was awful. I hate the sound a plastic mattress cover makes, even though I understand using it in family-oriented facilities. The main bed problem was footboards that projected out at least three inches beyond both sides of the bed. When I got up in the night for the usual reason, I clobbered my little toe on that footboard. Thank goodness i was traveling with pain pills for another reason. That little toe was black the next morning, and the next day went to a venue that required extensive walking, which I could do thanks to the pain pills. Also, the sound from the room above was bothersome. Every time they opened their bathroom door, I could have sworn it was our bathroom door. The site is beautiful, and if you can get a room that has different beds, I would still recommend it, provided you have an upstairs room.

Room Tip: In the lodge, pick an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunadawg2004, Guest Relations Manager at Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
We are sorry that you had an accident during your stay. We certainly agree that our furniture is of heavy quality. The sturdy furniture and bed help support our premium mattresses. Our rooms are currently undergoing renovations to remodel vanities, decor, carpet and bathrooms. We will certainly take your comments into consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

After a small blip with a lost reservation, my dad and I had a great stay in one of the kitchenette rooms. It is our third stay at the Lodge in the past three while we fished. The room is actually a bit fancier than we need but the price is great and we like to stay at the water's edge. We were the only one's sating at the lodge so it was very quiet. This has become our got to place for a weekend getaway.

Room Tip: The beds are firm, so if you prefer a softer bed a mattress cushion overlay is a quick simple fix.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, West Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I was impressed with the staff, the cottage (Swinging Vine), and the location. The moment I called Roxie I could tell that i was in good hands. It is a great location. A good soak in the hot tub after a day of trout fishing, hiking, or traveling the area was wonderful.
I especially enjoyed the occasional visits from Ranger and Bella.
The prices were reasonable and based on availability and season.
We enjoyed our stay.
My trip was actually in February but the website did not allow

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The Greater Elkins, WV area has some spectacular national forest areas that are well worth exploring. The Vine Cabin that we stayed in was along the banks of the Cheat River. Stay here for the hot tub, privacy, and proximity to the River. The cabin needs TLC, infrastructural capital improvements, and better housekeeping. When we arrived the heat and lights were on and the manager greeted us on our second day with more linens and toiletries. The cabin had plenty of signs posted with regulations clearly showcasing how jaded management and owners have become due to inconsiderate and destructive previous guests. The Vine has a lot of potential as I'm sure the whole property does. Overlook these shortcomings and enjoy all of the other features.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
search&rescue, Manager at Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your candid review.

Keeping it in perspective for those using this review, price in regard to the amenities offered should be a consideration.

Our cabins offer upgrades in 'every' aspect for not much more than the nearby Holiday Inn Express @ $144/night and Hampton @ $119/night.Neither rooms mentioned have cooking facilities, living room, or multiple bedrooms.

The 'riverfront' cabin you stayed at cost $216/night. By comparison, it addition to all the modern conveniences it had acres of privacy, multiple bedrooms, totally equipped full size ktichen, fireplace, and its own private 7' outdoor hot tub. We provide all the linens, and housekeeping supplies, even the firewood. Pick up a bundle at Walmart, its a $1.00 a stick.

So while we may have disappointed you in certain aspects, others may consider this in the context of value.

In addition your pet was welcome. The hotels in the area do not permit pets.

The signage you mention are two 8"x11" framed documents attached to wall. They contain pertinent information that needs to be prominently displayed. One addresses the 'use and operation of the hot tub' . Because local ordinances differ from region to region, the other addresses the 'use of the property'. Local ordinances in Sunset Beach, NC do not allow outdoor BBQ grills. Light one, and you will be fined. The has nothing to do with past conduct of our guests, and that includes our dog owners. Our guests are great and most have been coming here for years. They appreciate our properties, as well as the amenities and value they offer.

Laundry: because a 'commercial' laundry is unavailable, the linens in cabin are standard but there is NO linen fee. You don't have to rent them, nor do you have to clean them. Your beds are made when you arrive. You are given ample supply of towels, but there is NO additional charge for extra linens if they are needed.

Or homes and cabins are much more than a paved parking lot to lobby that has less furniture than our living rooms. Our housekeepers have a lot more space to clean, multiple bedrooms & baths, kitchen, outdoor decks, etc than a generic hallway leading to four small walls with skimpy furnishings. The cleaning fee is included in the nightly rate of $191-216.

As you note, our housekeepers are attentive. I wish you would have mentioned to us while you were here all the areas that were not cleaned to your satisfaction so that it could be resolved.

If upgraded decor, fluffly duvets, 40" wall mounted TVs, designer faucets & vanities are your desire, you need to keep an eye on our KING suites in tour Lodge. They are getting a makeover.

I'm glad you enjoyed the hot tub, and found it in good order, and most importantly clean.

Thank you for your comments. It allowed me the opportunity to offer specific information about the items mentioned.

CRL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Park, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Right on the Cheat River with a beautiful view! Not to far out of Elkins. rocking chairs on the screened in porches to relax and enjoy the view. accommodations were clean and comfortable. Lots to do in the area.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 2nd floor as you get a better view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gulf breeze, fl
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Rhodie cabin at Cheat River Lodge. The reservation process, access to key and stack of firewood waiting for us, started our two night stay perfectly. We arrived at night, in a very dark area, free powerful street lighting. We found the cabin well-stocked and in good repair. The bedding was comfortable and cozy. The "real log cabin" had such a "warm" feeling. We unloaded our suitcases and headed down river to a very friendly, local establishment - Bella's River Grill. The prices were surprisingly inexpensive. The food satisfying.

Back to the cabin to start a roaring fire to warm us following our soak in the hot tub, just outside the screened porch. What a delight. The soak felt great, but better than that was the stargazing. WOW!! So wonderful to see the stars on a clear night with no light pollution to obstruct the view. Beautiful!!

At first light, brewed the coffee and back to the hot tub. This time we could see that we really could fish from the hot tub and another beautiful view of the fall foliage. Another WOW!!

Too many superlatives to list here. If you want a truly heart-warming experience in a wonderful, friendly, patriotic, God-loving part of the country, you must treat yourself to the Cheat River Lodge and Cabins in Elkins, WV.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins

Address: Route 1, Box 115, Elkins, WV 26241-9713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Elkins
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Elkins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cheat River Lodge Properties are a privately owned and operated, non-commercial vacation destination on the banks of the Cheat River. Large riverside homes and cabins are available with a private hot tub. Lodge suites are also available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cheat River Lodge And Riverside Cabins Hotel Elkins

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins to your Saves list