We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting experience.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elkins Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Elkins Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Elkins Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1200 Harrison Avenue, Randolph Center, Elkins, WV 26241 (Formerly Days Inn Elkins)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Elkins
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Interesting experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

As many have stated, this used to be a hospital. There are still Dr. offices and other businesses in the building. We had a big room, would sleep 4 adults (had a sofa bed). Had 2 tv's microwave, fridge, coffee pot. Loved the extra space as we were there 5 nights. Pretty clean. My main complaint would be the air conditioning/heating. They control the temperature, you have a "fan" control. If you are a hot natured person, you'd better bring a fan. The windows would push out at the bottom, letting a little fresh air in. The ice machine is behind the front desk. You have to take your ice bucket and ask for ice. Staff was friendly. Overall ok.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    12
    28
    22
    32
See reviews for
28
37
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cadiz,oh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

This place used to be a hospital before being converted to a "hotel". It still smells like a hospital. There are 4 floors, but only 2 have rooms for customers, the rest are rented out to local businesses. The rooms are very poorly lit and the internet is poor. This makes it very hard to try to work in the evenings. There is no individual a/c or heat control, just a fan that does not work well. The bed is a cardboard box that is no more than 12 inches off the floor. The "bathroom" in micro sized. It only contains a toilet and shower stall. Thank goodness I am small, because a normal sized person would not fit in the stall. The curtains are filthy and full on cigarette burns, though the place is non smoking. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!! I'm in town for 2 days, and the rest of the hotels are sold out or I would have checked out. If I could I would not feel and of the rating marks.

Room Tip: Call the Hampton Inn up the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Every other hotel was booked and after reading the reviews for this hotel I was very hesitant but had no choice. The room had no ac, just fan high or low. The bed was very uncomfortable and there was a dog barking across the hall. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldie, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stay in this converted hospital for one of two nights while visting relatives. The matresses were cardboard. Seriuosly, they were cardboard and if you moved at night you could hear the matress crackling.
Restrooms were never updated from the hospital days.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greencastle, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

For $50 a night, this was what I expected it to be. The room was tiny with a view of the gas station and office building next door. The bathroom was micro-sized: the toilet is all but in the shower. Although our room was a non-smoking room, it smelled faintly like smoke (I should emphasize faintly-the smell was noticeable, but by no means overwhelming). The walls are very thin. We got home from the wedding we came to Elkins to attend at about 9:30pm and could hear the people in the next room watching TV and talking. Luckily they were good neighbors and got quiet after 10:00. The room was clean, but not exceptionally clean. There was a bug on the shower curtain and even though we didn't see any obvious dirt, didn't find any hairs, etc, it just smelled like it wasn't quite sanitized. However, the room was nice and warm (it was about 20 degrees the night we visited so that was definitely a plus) the bed was VERY comfortable and the staff was very kind and helpful and made us feel right at home. For $50 a night, I feel that this was a good experience, but if you are going to be staying in Elkins more than 1 night or will be spending a lot of time in your hotel room, I would not recommend it. If you just need a place to sleep one night, it's a good deal.
The continental breakfast offered by the hotel is not worth your time. Go to the Outback Cafe behind the hotel. It is no-frills, homestyle food, but it is also very filling and hearty. The homefries literally could have been made by my grandmother.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Creek, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

This Days Inn used to be a Hospital, so there were some unique features. Because they had 3 elevators, we never had to wait for one. They had a large spacious lobby, helpful staff, and a different guest room set-up. We enjoyed easy access to free internet. The complementary breakfast was only beverages, pastries and other cold items, nothing warm unless you used the microwave. Even though we only had a queen size bed, we had 4 very nice fluffy pillows. Our total cost was $67.31. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkins, West Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

we made reservations for our anniversary and we checked in at 12:00, 1.Our room was not ready, they gave us another room . 2.the room that we got was right down filthy. hair was in the bed, jacquzzie, coffee pot was not cleaned. I went to complain and to my avail i was told we couldn't get a refund...I am so disappointed in the service and i would tell everyone about what we found, they said there was no complaints given, i told them all about it..so i will tell anyone and everyone..DO NOT GO TO THE ELKINS DAY'S INN UNLESS THEY ARE PREPARED TO CLEAN THEIR ROOM THEMSELVES...BRING YOUR OWN BEDDING , AND MAKE SURE YOU BRING YOUR CLEANING KITS.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Elkins Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elkins Inn & Suites

Address: 1200 Harrison Avenue, Randolph Center, Elkins, WV 26241 (Formerly Days Inn Elkins)
Location: United States > West Virginia > Elkins
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Elkins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Elkins Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Elkins Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Elkins Hotel Elkins
Elkins Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elkins Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.