We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmosphere great...food good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of C J Maggie's American Grill

C J Maggie's American Grill
309 Davis Ave, Elkins, WV 26241
304-636-1730
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 44 Restaurants in Elkins
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Concord, North Carolina
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Atmosphere great...food good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

The atmosphere was very interesting and enjoyable. The food was alright and fairly priced

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    52
    32
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sanaa, Yemen
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Downtown Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011 via mobile

great place to eat. Wide and varied menu with great choices. Nice bar and good outdoor eating space as well.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“MIserable service - I walked out”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

There are very few restaurant choices in Elkins, WV and this is one that most people seem to know. I got there and the place seemed half full. At first there was no one to greet me at the front. Then after the "hostess" finally arrived, she had me wait so that they could "find" a table for one. After I was finally seated in a forlorn corner of the restaurant, I was ignored. No server, no water - nothing. I waited a few more minutes and seeing no hope of getting service any time soon, I walked out. No one even noticed. I have nothing against kids but if you are running a restaurant business, you need adult supervision.

If you have to dine in Elkins, consider going to the Kroger market and making your own meal in the hotel room.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Fun Place to Eat and Have a beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

This place is fun.

This place is where the locals go and I can see why. The food was good and everyone was friendly.

Traveling alone I set at the bar hoping to strike up a conversation with locals. In a short time I was visiting with everyone at the bar. One was a professor at the local college, others worked in the area. All were friendly.

I had a wood fired pizza that was very good. Everything I saw coming from the kitchen looked good. They also had a nice selection of craft beers.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntigntown
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
“Unusual downtown place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

They have a large menu that is almost everything anyone could want. I enjoy their pizza which is cooked in a wood fired oven.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed C J Maggie's American Grill also viewed

 

Been to C J Maggie's American Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage C J Maggie's American Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.