We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hampton in the middle of nowhere.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Elkins

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Elkins to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Elkins
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   480 Plantation Drive, Elkins, WV 26241   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Elkins
Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Hampton in the middle of nowhere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

I stayed two nights at this location during a recent motorcycle trip. The hotel is new, so everything is in good shape. The location is removed from everything. It looks like eventually, development in the surrounding area will catch up. To its credit, the hotel does offer a shuttle van if you have a destination and don't want to drive or ride. As far as the hotel goes, it is a good Hampton Inn with all that implies. Breakfast is hit or miss. If you get there when the college athletic team from out of town is monopolizing the lunch room, you might as well forget breakfast. If you get there at a lucky moment, there is reasonable seating, but you still have to fight your way around the breakfast counter to get something. Why hotels don't invest in a commercial toaster is a mystery to me. The entire breakfast crowd has to take turns using one pathetic toaster. Despite the free breakfast, I usually find it more pleasant and appetizing to go out for breakfast. Anyway, I don't go to hotels for their breakfast, so I can forgive this shortcoming. Downtown Elkins is a couple of miles away and has a modest selection of restaurants, But everything in town seems a bit worn around the edges. The dinning scene in that area is on the level of Applebees.
Anyway, if you have reasons to spend the night in Elkins the Hampton is a good place to lay your head. I also appreciate their courtesy in allowing me to park my motorcycle in the front of the hotel, under cover.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    72
    15
    8
    2
See reviews for
97
79
19
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Casselberry, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011 via mobile

Stayed here overnight on September 1. The hotel is very clean, and the room was immaculate. Would definitely choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vineland, New Jersey
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Last stay was August 17th, when my wife and I were in town to visit friends. Overall,very good experience. Helpful and quick check in. Nice selection of breakfast foods. Only gripe is paper thin walls between rooms with, apparently, no sound proofing. Around 3 AM, person in next room was having a phone conversation and most of it was distrubingly audible.

The Holiday Inn Express and this hotel are the best in the area, with The Hampton being my favorite. Vey clean and confortable beds.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

What more can I say that hasn't already been said about this Hampton Inn? The hotel is wonderful and is exactly what you'd expect from a Hampton. Breakfast was also a delight and I enjoyed having the option between a quick bagel and milk or a waffle, eggs, and bacon in the morning. The property is also in a good location that's near a shopping center and downtown Elkins, but it's also only an hour drive from Seneca Rocks and other gorgeous attractions in the West Virginia hills, which makes it a great headquarters for a West Virginia staycation. On this particular trip, I stayed at the Hampton on business but plan on visiting Seneca and Spruce Knob this fall and will be returning to this hotel for a personal stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kawartha Lakes, Canada
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011 via mobile

Lovely new hotel. Location is a bit odd in that it's set well back from the main road. It would be a good walk to anything else. Large bathroom. Nice size room. Very comfy bed. Good assortment of breakfast foods.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

I love the consistency of Hampton Inns. I was greeted as a Hilton Honors member by a cheerful front desk person. I was offered some fresh baked cookies at check in.

The room was as advertised. Clean room with micro and fridge. Flat screen and a comfy bed. Bathroom was spotless.

The hotel sat high on a hill with a view of the mountains around town. Nice pool and spa. Breakfast was hot and tasty but no oatmeal.

Good place to stay if visiting the Cass Scenic RR or the Durbin and Greenbriar RR right downtown.

It's my second stay here and I would choose it again

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Great for overnight or long term stay.
Shutttle bus to downtown areas.
Rooms were large, very clean and beds were comfy.
The AC unit over head did blow down onto the beds and we had to keep it on low. Bathroom light switch also turned on fan which was VERY LOUD and could not be turned off until light was turned off....somewhat annoying.

Room Tip: Rooms were spacious and very clean. Beds were comfy!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Elkins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Elkins

Address: 480 Plantation Drive, Elkins, WV 26241
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Elkins
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Elkins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Elkins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Elkins is comfortably located in the heart of West Virginia, overlooking the Tygart River Valley. Minutes away from beautiful scenic mountain views, shopping, dining and more, and within five miles of large local corporations, the Hampton Inn Elkins is perfect for both pleasure and business travel. As the day winds down, enjoy complimentary internet access and a clean and fresh Hampton bed. In the morning, enjoy a free hot breakfast complete with waffles, hearty oatmeal and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Elkins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Elkins Hotel Elkins
Elkins Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Elkins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.