We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High on the hill, Hampton Inn will thrill” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Elkins

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Elkins to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Elkins
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   480 Plantation Drive, Elkins, WV 26241   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2x HHonors Points
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Elkins
Frederick, Maryland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“High on the hill, Hampton Inn will thrill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

I love the consistency of Hampton Inns. I was greeted as a Hilton Honors member by a cheerful front desk person. I was offered some fresh baked cookies at check in.

The room was as advertised. Clean room with micro and fridge. Flat screen and a comfy bed. Bathroom was spotless.

The hotel sat high on a hill with a view of the mountains around town. Nice pool and spa. Breakfast was hot and tasty but no oatmeal.

Good place to stay if visiting the Cass Scenic RR or the Durbin and Greenbriar RR right downtown.

It's my second stay here and I would choose it again

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    61
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
75
65
18
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Great for overnight or long term stay.
Shutttle bus to downtown areas.
Rooms were large, very clean and beds were comfy.
The AC unit over head did blow down onto the beds and we had to keep it on low. Bathroom light switch also turned on fan which was VERY LOUD and could not be turned off until light was turned off....somewhat annoying.

Room Tip: Rooms were spacious and very clean. Beds were comfy!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkins, West Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

My husband & I live in Elkins and we stayed at the Hampton Inn for our One Year Anniversary as a way to celebrate. We booked a room with a king sized bed & we requested a room with a view overlooking the mountains as opposed to the parking lot.

The hotel was completely full, however we were very well taken care of I wouldn't have known if it wasn't for being filled in on that! We were given a room on the very top floor towards the end of the hallway away from all the groups of people and it was fantastic. The only noise I heard early in the morning was someone knocking on one of the neighbor's door saying it was time to get up. Nothing out of the ordinary when people travel in groups to hotels and they have things scheduled to do. Been there!

The room was very large! The bathroom even bigger! I swear that shower could fit 4 people! Also, very hot water and good water pressure! Lots of counter space around the sink for beauty supplies. The fridge and microwave worked very well, as did the tv and FREE internet! We didn't try out the breakfast, so I cannot comment on that. However there were a ton of tables and chairs so its looked as though seating wouldn't be an issue.

We did check out the indoor pool. It was refreshing! It isn't a very big pool, but it goes 3ft to 5ft and we were the only two in it at the time, so really no complaints! The whirlpool was excellent! Although, if you are around 5'4" or less, it may not be that enjoyable. I noticed while i was sitting in it, that if i were any shorter, the water would be higher than my neck and with the jets on, it's not very relaxing. There are steps going into it though that you could sit on and still enjoy. Overall, a great stay! Best hotel my husband & I have ever stayed at!

Recommendations:
Breakfast: Mama's Kitchen in Beverly
Dinner: 1863 Tavern in Elkins across from the Davis Memorial Hospital (Very yummy steak dinner as well as cinnamon rolls! We spent a little over $75 for the two of us and that included a $20 bottle of champagne. Plus it was for a 4 course meal!)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, WV
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

My wife and I stayed here vacationing with my in-laws. I would definitely tell people to stay here if passing through Elkins. The staff was very courteous during our visit. The indoor pool is a little small but very clean. The only complaint I have about this hotel is the road leading to the hotel. Watch out for the potholes. When staying at this hotel, request a room overlooking the valley. The hotel is on a hill and the view is hice. The other side of the hotel overlooks a grass mound.

Room Tip: When booking a room, request a room overlooking the valley. The hotel is on a hill and the view is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW OH
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Stayed here one week for business. Best hotel in Elkins.(Had stayed in another name brand hotel as well) Scenic views from the front side of hotel. Close to Walmart, stores, Bob Evans, Applebees, other eateries. Brkfst had fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, to make waffles, and a different hot brfkst of eggs and meat. Good coffee. Delicious cookies in afternoon. Room and tiled bathroom/shower spacious, comfortable and clean. Thin walls and can hear noise, footsteps and conversation of adjacent room so just turn tv volume up.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton Junction, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

Stayed here 2 nights. Clean, comfortable, decent breakfast. Couldn't ask for more in this location. Don't even bother with any other accommodations in Elkins. Had a very positive experience here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

I stayed at the New Hampton Inn located on Coliseum Blvd, Hampton, VA across from the hospital. It was within a 1/4 mile from just about any restaurant you could want, a mall, several mini-malls, less than three miles from Langley AFB, and it seemed to be so easy to exit and approach traffic wise with four or six lane roads. What a fabulous stay with outstanding support, efficiency, super fast internet both wireless and cable, free HBO and on and on. Breakfast was a full breakfast with waffles, eggs, meats, fresh fruit, yogurt, and the works. Microwave, refrigerator, desk and chair, queen size cozy county bed etc...When I arrived in the evening there were warm fresh cookies and a nice cup of coffee waiting to picked up. So reasonable with every chance to save money and normal cost efficiency. What a wonderful solution to my needs. You would be crazy not to give the Hampton Inn a chance.

Room Tip: Hampton Inn, Coliseum Blvd, its fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Elkins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Elkins

Address: 480 Plantation Drive, Elkins, WV 26241
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Elkins
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Elkins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Elkins 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Elkins is comfortably located in the heart of West Virginia, overlooking the Tygart River Valley. Minutes away from beautiful scenic mountain views, shopping, dining and more, and within five miles of large local corporations, the Hampton Inn Elkins is perfect for both pleasure and business travel. As the day winds down, enjoy complimentary internet access and a clean and fresh Hampton bed. In the morning, enjoy a free hot breakfast complete with waffles, hearty oatmeal and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hampton Inn Elkins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Elkins Hotel Elkins
Elkins Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Elkins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.