We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comida Deliciosa de Venezuela = Yummy food from South America!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Gran Sabor

El Gran Sabor
413 Kerens Avenue, Elkins, WV 26241
(304) 636-8200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 44 Restaurants in Elkins
Cuisines: Venezuelan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Comida Deliciosa de Venezuela = Yummy food from South America!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My mom lives in Elkins, West Virginia and I wanted to provide her with a special dining experience in her home town. What to do? We headed to El Gran Sabor... meaning "The Great Flavor."

This is a family restaurant where mom works in the kitchen, helps serve the food, and gently scolds her boy in Spanish. The ambiance is homey, nicely decorated with international photography and a few small tables. Most of the other wait staff don't habla, so plan on speaking English.

My mom's favorite dish is the orange flavored shrimp, heavily peppered, over rice. I found the cornmeal-based items a bit bland, so skipped those. The salad may be more than okay, but I opted for the wonderful black beans instead.

There is a bar for those who imbibe. I gave their beverage menu an A-plus for local draft beer brewed in nearby Thomas; particularly the caramel-rich amber. For those that don't imbibe, you can still get your caramel fix by ordering the vanilla flan... plan on sharing.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    21
    8
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Oho
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent fish tacos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were very pleased with our experience. The wine list is small but good. Our waitress was polite and prompt even though they had no bartender that night.

The tostones were very good as was the accompanying sauce. We both had the tilapia fish tacos and were very impressed. The empanadas were also good but more adequate than outstanding. What was outstanding were the black beans. These were some of the best we've had.

A definite redo!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A taste of Venezuela in the West Virginia Highlands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Even though our hotel and official Elkins tourist pamphlets pointed us towards the likes of Applebee's, we stumbled upon El Gran Sabor, a real gem. Venezuelan food is similar to the food of Colombia--lots of sweet yellow or white corn, chicken, sweet/spicy flavorings, but not "hot-hot" (although if you like it that way, you can add heat). Fried plantains, luscious rice and black beans are key, and you'll find shrimp, bell peppers, squash, cilantro, and other fresh tastes in the dishes. Really nice staff, who will help you choose from menu items to make your perfect meal.

Our one complaint was that we ordered a tap beer from a keg that had obviously been "skunked" or overheated and was so bad tasting/smelling as to make us fear food poisoning; we sent it back and the waiter said, "No one else has complained about it." That's just about the worst thing to tell a customer. Our server did replace the beer with something non-rotten, but I worry about those people who drank rancid beer and didn't complain.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

I am so impressed with the flavors! The tostones and yucca fries are a must! Everything was awesome! Highly, highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Always a treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My husband is a meat and potatoes guy, but I like every kind of food, so it is such a treat to get to go to the El Gran Sabor occasionally. He can always find something he can eat, and I like to try everything!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Gran Sabor also viewed

 

Been to El Gran Sabor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Gran Sabor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.