We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was just fine” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Elkins Economy Inn

Save Saved
You added Elkins Economy Inn to your Saves list
Elkins Economy Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elkins Economy Inn
State Route 33 East, Elkins, WV 26241 (Formerly Econo Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Elkins
west virginia
1 review
“It was just fine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

we are a family of 4 and i just wanted to say that we stay at this motel every year to attend the elkins youth wrestling tournament and my kids have a really good time in the pool.. Its not a expensive motel but its not bad either..we found everyone to be very nice..and it could use some modern cleaner upper but the rooms where clean i have never had a bad experience there...

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
6
5
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, Maryland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

Roaches in room. Hotel is suspended from "Choice Hotels" so you get NO points for your stay. However, no one told us that until we got a letter in the mail today 11/2/09

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forks, WA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2009

We decided to go on a weekend getaway. All the hotels were booked for the weekend so we ended up here. It was horrible! The rooms were scary. It was filled with hunters and truck drivers. The kids wanted to go swimming in the pool but it was disgusting and scary! The hot tub was just the size of a regular tub. I definitely wouldn't reccomend this place!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott Depot, WV
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2009

We found the Econolodge in Elkins, WV to be perfectly fine. We're a family of four, our room had two double beds (the pillows were flat but that's the only complaint), the room was dated but very clean, everything was in working order, and it was quiet. The motel offers a simple continental breakfast which was nice. I left my jewelry in the room upon checkout and didn't realize it until several miles down the road. My husband called the motel, the jewelry had been turned in to the office, and they were nice enough to mail it to me.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2008

I stayed at this motel for one night. I asked for a non-smoking room and it smelled of smoke. I was switched to another "non-smoking" room and it smelled of smoke as well. The employees were not very friendly. I felt as though they were doing me a favor. I would not return again.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — smell
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robson, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2008

We stayed in Elkins for 2 days on business, and the Econo Lodge had some of the better ratings for the price on this website. It was less than 2 miles for my partner to get to his job, so the motel was in a great location. For being located on US Route 33, I must say that it was the most quiet and peaceful location that I've been to in a very long time!
Our room was in an odd set of 5 rooms in a smaller building off to the side of the main building. I think that we had it better than the main building since it was quieter and a bit newer too. The room was very big compared to a lot of the places we stay, with a king bed, table and 2 chairs, big flat screen HD-ready TV, and desk (a huge desk at that!). Even though some of the furnishings were older, the TV was brand new and much bigger than any hotel TV. The air conditioning was a huge window unit cut into the wall. It was a bit loud, but worked like a dream. We like to be frozen and we like the sound of it running while we sleep. The bathroom was larger than average, but there was nothing extra special about it. The sink is outside of the bathroom and didn't have much counter space. The bed was nice and cushy...not too hard or soft. Overall, I found the room older but the campiness of it was comforting. I was kind of disappointed that there was no microwave/fridge in our room (like the website picture showed), but we managed.
The free wireless internet worked like a dream in this motel. We were a long ways away from the lobby and we still had a high signal. We usually have problems since our laptop has Windows Vista, but this motel was the first to not cause a problem for our computer!
There was an indoor pool/hot tub that I didn't know this place had until we arrived. I stopped by and took a quick swim and dip in the hot tub. The pool was actually pretty big and nicely heated, even though it was very old. It didn't have the smoothest surface either, so be careful if you like to swim. The hot tub was hot, but not scalding like most public ones. The jets were fairly weak and the tub was kind of dirty looking. I didn't stay in it very long at all! Overall, the pool area is a nice amenity for the price of the stay.
We didn't eat breakfast while here, but from reading the other reviews, I decided to skip that and the coffee. Sad, since I'm a mega coffee drinker. The woman at the desk was not very nice and lied to us on 2 different occasions, so I cannot say that there is good service here. They charged our credit card after telling us they wouldn't, and they lied about our phone in the room not working. This motel is nice, but try not to let the desk clerk get you down!

  • Liked — the peaceful setting, the internet working (it rained the whole time we were here!)
  • Disliked — the service desk clerk, the clock radio in our room
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadville, PA
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2008

This was not a nice place. The rooms are old, and look it. The bed was hard as a rock. The bathroom was really grungy with the dirt of many, many years. The window air conditioner "sang" very loudly the entire time I was there. Very poor breakfast, especially the coffee. If you stay, try to get a room in the "newer" two-story building.

  • Liked — I suppose its location
  • Disliked — The general yuckiness
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elkins Economy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elkins Economy Inn

Address: State Route 33 East, Elkins, WV 26241 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Location: United States > West Virginia > Elkins
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Elkins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Elkins Economy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Elkins
Econo Lodge Elkins
Elkins Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elkins Economy Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.