We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok except for mold around bathtub. No elevator was hard...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Dunbar Charleston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Dunbar Charleston to your Saves list
Super 8 Dunbar Charleston
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   911 Dunbar Avenue, Dunbar, WV 25064-3126   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dunbar
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    81
    45
    26
    8
See reviews for
74
55
19
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We've stayed in a lot of Super 8 properties and this one is average or better. The room was clean, the service good (we enjoyed the Italian restaurant nearby) and it was quiet. We needed wi-fi for sure that night and even though the desk clerk said they'd had a problem with it there was no problem. She volunteered to help us if the wi-fi wasn't available.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale S, General Manager at Super 8 Dunbar Charleston, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. I am pleased to hear that you found our hotel clean and our staff friendly, and especially that the Wi-Fi worked as well. We have had some off and on problems but it looks like they were resolved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This super 8 is very clean, the staff is excellent, clean rooms, clean hallways, clean grounds, 1/2 mile off 64 west.
Thanks guys....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale S, General Manager at Super 8 Dunbar Charleston, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thanks for letting other travelers know the good things about our hotel. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Ny
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The Super 8 Dunbar Charlston is one of the worst that I have ever stayed at. There is only 1 entrance to the hotel and parking is abysmal. When we arrived the entrance was blocked by people sitting on the front steps smoking. Then we took the stairs to the 3rd floor (No Elevator.) When we arrived in our room at 10PM there was loud music coming from a truck in the hotel parking lot outside where people were drinking and hanging out. When we took our shoes off we noticed that the carpet in the whole room was soaking wet! During the course of our trip we stayed in all super 8 hotels. We notice a huge variation in them. We will be looking at other lodging in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale S, General Manager at Super 8 Dunbar Charleston, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
I'm sorry we didn't meet your expectations. Our building is approximately 25 years old and was remodeled in August 2012, but it does not have all the features a newer building may. Our carpet was professionally cleaned within the last week so it is likely that is the reason the entire room had a dampness on the floor. I did not expect it to still be wet that late in the evening. We will make adjustments in the future so they can dry thoroughly. As with all hotels, especially economy chains, we host guests from all walks of life, from the business person or family stopping along the way, to the construction worker in town for months on end. You are welcome to call the front desk any time day or night and we would have been glad to ask them to turn down the music so as not to disturb other guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dunbar hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Dunbar Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Dunbar Charleston

Address: 911 Dunbar Avenue, Dunbar, WV 25064-3126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Dunbar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dunbar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Dunbar Charleston 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our newly renovated Super 8 Dunbar / Charleston Area hotel, conveniently located off Interstate 64 near Mardi Gras Casino & Resort. Our completely non-smoking hotel in Dunbar offers easy access to Charleston-area attractions as well as amenities like free parking for your truck, bus or RV. Sleep well on brand new bedding and pillow-top mattresses in your newly renovated guest room, and start your day off right with free SuperStart continental breakfast. Check on local events or catch up on work with free Wi-Fi, available throughout our pet-friendly Dunbar hotel. We offer guest laundry facilities for your convenience, as well as handicapped-accessible rooms. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Super 8 Dunbar Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Hotel Dunbar
Super Eight Dunbar
Dunbar Super Eight
Dunbar Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Dunbar Charleston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.