We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and scenic!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Anchor Cabins

Golden Anchor Cabins
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dryfork
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golden Anchor Cabins
Save
You added Golden Anchor Cabins to your Saves list
18 Nautical Way, WV Route 32 South, Dryfork, WV 26263   |  
Hotel amenities
Maryland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Quaint and scenic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Great view from deck, hot tub was wonderful on cold evenings. The cabin also has a great fireplace. Lots of kitchen amenities. The only problem was the lack of wifi in the cabin. We saw herds of deer outside of the cabin. Bring your own food from home, the kitchen is fully stocked and the local restaurants and grocery store are dubious.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    1
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

The cabin was perfect for an anniversary getaway. Warm and cozy, great hot tub and wonderful view to watch snowflakes fall. Convenient to ski slopes, hiking and parks. Take your own food-the kitchen is well equipped and restaurants few and far between.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed at Golden Achor cabins in 2009 for our honeymoon. We decided to return in June 2013. I must say that the cabin has gone downhill. It was not very clean. The mattress seems like it should have been replaced years ago. It sinks down in the middle. The couch could also use to be replaced. The hot tub is a nice touch but that too could use to be replaced. It's not a horrible place to stay but for the money they charge, I would expect better.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

The cabins are beautiful and situated in a great location in the Canaan Valley -- great for hiking, horseback riding and more. The cabin we stayed in had its own private hot tub. The restaurant was nice and a short walk from the front porch.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville MD
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

We just returned from a winter ski get away. This place was fantastic. After driving 4.5 hours we were greeted by a cabin that had soft music playing and a warm fireplace going. Very romantic accommodations. The place was very clean with top quality linen. Rent was a little higher but definitely worth it. It is within 5 miles of 3 ski resorts. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC Metro Area
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

My husband and I love this place. We stayed in the Pond View in May 2007 and returned in May 2008 for a stay in the Honeymoon Cabin. This year, we are taking friends and staying in the Hillside. The cabins are beautifully decorated and offer a wonderful view of the mountains. There is a gas grill and they have all the kitchen utensils to make your own meals. We normally eat at the restaurant the first night, which is good and has wonderful service. I think it is slightly over-priced, but then again, no one feels like cooking after a 4-hour drive and it is right on the premises. The only negative about the cabins is that a road runs right in front of them, but it isn't heavily traveled.

The hot tub is heavenly after a long hike and perfect when you arrive after a long drive. So nice to sit back with a glass of wine and actually be able to see stars at night and only hear the sounds of nature and the occasional passing car.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Anchor Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Anchor Cabins

Address: 18 Nautical Way, WV Route 32 South, Dryfork, WV 26263
Location: United States > West Virginia > Dryfork
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Dryfork
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six luxury log cabins (four honeymoon cabins and two family cabins). Located two miles south of Canaan Valley Resort on WV Route 32. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Anchor Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.