We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lodging in spectacular location, yet close to everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge to your Saves list
Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge
Blackwater Falls State Park, Davis, WV 26260   |  
Hotel amenities
Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great lodging in spectacular location, yet close to everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

I booked this last minute and did not know exactly what to expect. The lodge is great. My husband & I went to the Canaan Valley primarily for some skiing....the lodge was warm, rooms were clean and comfortable...great amenities including a big hot tub and pool. On site restaurant serving all you can eat breakfast (eggs, sausage, bacon, pancakes....you name it) for ~ $10 pp. Dinner too although we did not eat here in the evening.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    45
    30
    4
    2
See reviews for
36
57
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

This is one of the most charming establishments in which I've had the pleasure to stay. From the large fireplace in the public gathering room to the jigsaw puzzle also located here, (I haven't done one in years, it was nice to put forth my contribution to it.), it was all so nice. This lodge has the cleanest rooms ANYWHERE! I looked. No dust on ANYTHING. I have to tell you about the stars at night out back of the lodge at the overlook point for the canyon below. AMAZING! There seemed to be a galaxy just overhead with the brightest sparkling diamonds you'll ever see. I'll NEVER forget that sight. STUNNING! Sorry about the all caps. I usually don't but this place really, really impressed me in many ways. The trails are well marked and the grounds are kept impeccably clean and neat. The breakfast buffet was really a big hit. I liked everything. The bacon. I asked where I could buy it. It was the best we've ever had any where. It was like a bacon flavor explosion in your mouth with each perfectly cooked bite. My partner said the fried shrimp at dinner was among the best he's ever had. And believe it or not, I have to rave about the carrots. Yes, the carrots. Most tender and with just the right amount of sweetness, they were terriffic! It would have been nice if it were less expensive for the room, but I'd go back in a heartbeat if for no other reason, than to be there on a clear night just to see those wonderous, gleaming collection of stars in their backyard. Oh yeah, I almost forgot, the falls themselves were absolutley beautiful. Some of the nicest I've been to. Well worth the effort spent walking up and down the stairs to the viewing platform. The canyon out back of the lodge had some of the best fall foliage I've ever seen. We were there around the 13th of October. Just can't say enough good things about my time spent here. Two negatives: the restaurant was short-staffed during dinner, but it was quite a minor inconvenience. And they charged if you wanted to use the indoor pool. We declined. Not a deal-breaker by any means. We aren't big water enthusiasts anyway.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

We spent the weekend here for a friend's wedding. It's a great, budget-friendly option, if you're planning a trip to this area. The rooms are pretty bare bones and could really use updating, but they were clean and the bed was very comfortable. FYI, the view from room 222 is particularly nice. The only complaint is that sound travels very easily through the doors.
The food was exactly what you would expect at a place like this - hearty and filling. Try the breakfast buffet for the warm, fresh biscuits and pancakes. The lodge catered the wedding reception and everybody loved it - they even had a tasty vegetarian option that was *not* the usual pasta.

The town of Davis is charming, if tiny. Hellbender Burritos is a great lunch/dinner place.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

Room was nice. Enjoyed the waterfall nearby and the gorge behind the lodge. Also enjoyed the trail. Also enjoyed the lounge area with fireplace, TV, and all the tables with jigsaw puzzles on them. Extra charge for swimming pool not good. Buffet was OK but the shrimp was delicious.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sterling,va
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

This is a beautiful campground that allow dogs many campsites, however they seem to always get pretty full. we went to this campground a rainy and a weekday and almost all the campsites were full. There were many dogs barking overnight.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

I spent last weekend at the Lodge and had some mixed feelings., The lodge itself is very typical of a state park lodge, very simple, nothing fancy, but quite comfortable. It is older, but well kept. My room and the public areas are very clean, though somewhat in need of an update. The WiFi was faster than I have at home. The pool is small, indoors, and there is a hot tub. I had a 'canyon view' room but it was nothing special, might be quite nice in the fall or winter. I would not hesitate to stay there based upon the lodge itself. This is a great place to go if all you want to do is relax and catch up on some reading.

The dining room was most disappointing though. The buffet breakfast was good but uninspired, the dinner buffet was ghastly. Having seen Jamie Oliver's attempt to put fresh non-deep fat fried foods in West Virginia school cafeterias...the message never got carried over to the park menus. There was nothing fresh anywhere - including some very old lettuce which appeared to be for a salad. The meats were horrid, either dried tired beef soaked in a juice, or ham slices which have been cooking for years. Certainly something could be done to completely overhaul the menus. The dining room staff was very nice, though admittedly overworked as they just lost alot of staff as college has started, leaving a big hole.

Most surprising was the front desk staff. They were, except for one individual, the sourest, most expressionless sad souls I have ever come across in years of travelling. Is it that hard to say "hello" or "welcome to the lodge?"

The park is very nice, and with it being close to Pittsburgh and Washington DC, it could be a very lovely weekend getaway but they need to improve the meals and customer service.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

Blackwater State Park Lodge is rustic but very comfortable and clean. Some of the rooms look out over the canyon (request this when you make your reservations). They have a decent restaurant in the lodge where excellent breakfasts can be had at a decent price.
While visiting Davis, WV and Blackwater Falls, be sure to visit Thomas, WV. If you love life music and eclectic surroundings and people, go to "The Purple Fiddle" in Thomas. You won't be sorry!!

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge

Address: Blackwater Falls State Park, Davis, WV 26260
Location: United States > West Virginia > Davis
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Davis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackwater Falls State Park Hotel Davis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.