We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally enjoyed our stay!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge to your Saves list
Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge
Blackwater Falls State Park, Davis, WV 26260   |  
Hotel amenities
Warren, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Totally enjoyed our stay!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

From the day we checked in everyone was great. The view was beautiful. The waitresses at their restaurant were sooo friendly. Most of the food was good and the coffee was great:) only problem we had was we got a room with two double beds, thank god there were two cause they were more like super singles, we each slept in separate beds:) So be sure to get the queen size unless you like to sleep alone. The small towns nearby were full of things to look at, a few places to eat and people were really friendly. Yes we would definitely go back. Blackwater Falls was beautiful!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    45
    29
    4
    2
See reviews for
34
57
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, MD
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I have been visiting Blackwater since I was a kid. Location does not get any better. Yes, the lodge is dated and has limited amenities. If you want an upscale hotel, find a big city. The cabins are great; quiet, secluded and comfortably rustic. Davis is interesting, Thomas is funky, hip and fun. Great old WV boomtowns. Dine in town, lodge restaurant food is ordinary, mostly frozen entrees due to low volume. Great outdoor recreation and fantastic escape from static of daily life.

Room Tip: In lodge, canyon side is a must. Any cabin is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The lodge is tucked away in the woods with an overlook of the canyon / Blackwater river. Amazing view! It was my first time staying at a State Park and Lodge, and I would do it again. The price for a weekend was more than affordable. Though the lodge is a little stuck in the 70's, it had great appeal. The staff was incredibily nice, and dinning area was clean. We never had a bad meal and it was well priced. By the way, I highly recommend getting their offered "box lunch". It was a lot of food for the price, and after hiking 6 miles it was just perfect. Their gift shop is cute and offers a great selection.

Regarding the rooms, it is a typical hotel room. The only noticable upgrade is the flat screen. Other than that, all you really need is a comfortable bed and running water. It was just enouch for us and we had no problem with air/comfort or anything else.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orwell, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We went to Blackwater Falls State Park on the spur of the moment. We stopped at the lodge to get a map of the state park to hike. It just so happened they had rooms available. The rooms could use some updating, but they were clean and comfy! Everyone was suer nice. The breakfast buffet was very good! We will go back for sure! The only true complaint would be the fact that the hot tub jets did not work.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Clean, Clean, Clean...We booked at the last minute for Labor Day Weekend only a couple of rooms were available, so I selected the King Suite with the balcony on the Canyon Side. Turns out it is the only room like that. It was more money so I was hesitant because I couldn't find any pics, but because of the balcony I went for it. It is on the west side of the building on the Canyon Side. Other reviews mention the view being overgrown with Pine Trees and such....very true. But the King Suite has the best view. Got to watch the sunsets from the Balcony while enjoying some adult beverages. (You have to bring your own). The suite is two rooms, good size, one bedroom with a living room. Small Frig provided. Could have used a microwave. 2 flat screen TV's one in each room. The windows actually opened with screens in them, we did not need AC the breeze was wonderful and fresh. Pics provided. Staff was very friendly. Labor Day, check out day, right about wake up time The main hot water line burst above the hallway on the second floor where all the rooms are. So water had to be turned off. The staff offered Cabins for taking showers if needed. We just happen to get up early and had already taken care of that and was eating breakfast in the Restrauant when that happened. The staffs response to the situation could not have been better. They made the best of the situation. Kudos to the staff. The restrauant....we were there 4 times, 2 breakfast and 2 dinners, 2 of the 4 times were very good. 2 were bad, Holiday weekend, wait staff was worn out. :) If you get the Hot Fudge Sundae in a waffle bowl, be prepared it is for two people. The look on my face when they brought it out had everyone laughing, it was embarrasiing that I was going to eat it all by myself. The location is very remote so not a lot of traffic even on the Holiday weekend. Its a get back to nature kind of place. You will know you have gotten away (far away) from the hustle of city life. Very relaxing and enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We also sat on our bed and looked at the canyon, but enjoyed the three deer that came for a snack below our window the most. The view of the canyon is fabulous at all times of the day. One of the best sunsets we have every seen was from the overlook behind the lodge. Our room was very clean, and comfortable. The staff all over the hotel was very friendly, and helpful. We had wonderful breakfast in the restaurant every morning. Also, sitting by the fireplace was great. We were very surprised being a state park property, and not expecting much. However, our stay was so terrific, and we are planning another visit.

Room Tip: Get a canyon view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Va
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Clean throughout. Helpful staff in all departments. Had a queen bed and twin bed in room overlooking the canyon. Room was small, but clean - no hair dryer, no coffee pot, no iron, no ironing board, no mini refrigerator, no microwave. So if you plan to stay here - plan accordingly for the lack of ammenities. We bought our own coffee maker, coffee, filters and disposable cups and this worked out just fine. They do have coffee in the lobby but we didn't try it as we weren't sure how long it had been there. Pool was large and water was clean. Hot tub was quite large but the jets did not work and will not be fixed because the floor has to be torn up to do so and this will shut the pool area down for 4-5 months according to the pool area attendant. We bought our own cooler (on wheels) and used the ice from the ice machine to keep it replenished (plenty of ice available). If you plan in advance then your trip will be awesome. Skip the dining room area and eat elsewhere - food late getting to you and ladden with grease. Davis had a great B&B called Bright Morning Inn and B&B which serves delicious food. Sarianni's next door has pizza that was actually very good. Hellbenders (across the street) serves giagantic burritos of all sorts much like a Chipolte restaurant does. All in all a great lodge with minor drawbacks. The canyon view is to awesome.

Room Tip: Get a room with a canyon view (other choice is looking at the parking lot).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge

Address: Blackwater Falls State Park, Davis, WV 26260
Location: United States > West Virginia > Davis
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Davis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackwater Falls State Park Hotel Davis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.