We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years Eve Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge

Save Saved
You added Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge
Blackwater Falls State Park, Davis, WV 26260   |  
Hotel amenities
Barboursville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“New Years Eve Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Every year for my Birthday I try to find a state park thats having a new years celebration. I love going to state parks becaue they are so relaxing. When we arrived the area was covered with a foot or more of snow. When checking in the front desk person (Allen) was very attentive and explained the New Years Eve celebration. The room was very clean. Dinner at the restaurant was excellent and the New Years Eve Celebration was alot of fun. Its a very nice family enviroment! I will attend again next year.

Room Tip: We stayed in a king room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    45
    28
    4
    2
See reviews for
32
56
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boonsboro, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Read the one bad review and have to say I strongly disagree. Yes the place is old, but that is half it's charm....it's like a step back in time. My husband and I really enjoyed the 1950's look of the lodge. The lodge as well as the rooms are very clean. Much cleaner then most commercial hotels. As for the staff we had chatted with quite a few of them. All are very kind. So much so that we asked for a comment card to mail in to the state park dept. Enjoyed hearing bear stories from the head chef etc. Lookng forward to re visiting this lodge again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Three of the most important factors in accommodations for me are cleanliness, lack of odor and lack of noise. This state lodge has all three characteristics with a slight caveat - "slammers" - that's what we call hotel patrons who let their doors close with the loudest possible noise. But even the slammers couldn’t ruin our stay.

As all the other reviewers have noted- the rooms are simple and clean. Our room "overlooked" the roof with barely a view of the parking lot, but we were in our room only when it was dark out. If a nice view from your room is important, try to book the canyon side of the lodge. As other reviewers have said - you may not actually see the canyon but you would be able to see trees, wildlife, green grass, etc...

The main room in the lodge is cozy - the fire is always going, there are puzzles sitting out, free coffee when the restaurant is closed. I felt the TV in the main room was superfluous but it allowed for a gathering of football fans on a Saturday afternoon. A gentleman was playing acoustic guitar/singing around the fireplace one night - it was great ambiance all around. Attached to the main room is nice porch with a bank of windows on one side.

The restaurant was like home-cooked fare. We dined there for breakfast once and it was reasonably priced. We ate at various restaurants in the towns of Davis and Thomas for the remainder of our meals. This is not a slight against the lodge restaurant - we just wanted to explore. The wait staff is friendly and helpful.


We did not use the pool or the game room.

As for the outside of the lodge - the view is a breathtaking look over the canyon. There are benches and lots of green area. We haven't seen this many stars since a visit out west. The Milky Way was evident as well.

The surrounding area is stunning. We think the most expansive view is from Lindy Point. This is a must-see and it's only a less than 1/2 mile hike on an easy trail to get there. Another great overlook is at Pendleton Point.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olive Hill, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

The room and bathroom were extremely small. There was no hair dryer or iron and ironing board. The decor jumped right out of the 70's! We were comfortable though and enjoyed the views. The dining room was pleasant and the common area was cozy with a fireplace and TV.

Room Tip: Ask for a canyon view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinston
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

This is not your big city four star hotel. It is a nice quiet place to stay in wonderful surroundings. Rooms are plain, squeaky clean, and very quiet. Had a great night's sleep. Furnishings are certainly adaquate and coffee is available downstairs when the restaurant is closed. Restaurant is plain with salad bar and non elegent but good menue selections. This place is well worth a stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The lodge & food are totally average. The *key* is to stay in one of the older cabins with the deer, foot paths & clear nights in order to watch the milky way float past. We've stayed in 5 of the older cabins & have some faves (not telling). Cross country and downhill are nearby, but sometimes it's awfully tempting just to stay in the park.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluefield, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Just average !! The room was clean but the decor and hotel overall is very dated. No perks just a bed and an average dining room. There was no iron or hair dryer, take your own !! OK for a overnight stay, the park and the falls are beautiful..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge

Address: Blackwater Falls State Park, Davis, WV 26260
Location: United States > West Virginia > Davis
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Davis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackwater Falls State Park Hotel Davis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.