We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms, wonderful location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canaan Valley Resort

Save Saved
You added Canaan Valley Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canaan Valley Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   230 Main Lodge Road, HC 70 Box 330, Davis, WV 26260   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Davis
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great rooms, wonderful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

What a wonderful surprise to see the new lodge.We stayed in the old one fifteen years ago and never wanted to step inside again.What a change! The rooms remind me of Westin accommodations.They are a bit pricey for the area, but worth it.The food options have become better,too,but there is still room for improvement.The only real critizism I have is the closing time of the restaurant. 9 pm in the summertime? That is ridiculous

Room Tip: We were out exploring and hiking all day, so for us,the extra cost for the balcony was not worth.it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    78
    49
    29
    18
See reviews for
82
79
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ellijay, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

The new lodge is spectacular. The new attitude of the staff agrees with the new construction as well. Housekeeping was phenomenal, an elegant guest directory was in the room showing all the options for where to eat and play. The deer come right to your balcony to say hello with no fear of humans. Golf was wonderful and there is a new skeet shooting range as well. All in all, a wonderful week's stay. Be sure to visit the Purple Fiddle in Thomas while you're at Canaan. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findlay, Ohio
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stayed here one night when traveling thru West Virginia..This newly updated resort was absolutely wonderful..the view from the pool and hot tub area is breathtaking..Rooms were really nicely done...and the staff, including the manager who talked with us while we were loading our car on Saturday was just wonderful!. if you are in the area...don't miss staying here..you will not be disappointed. Make sure you enjoy the Chair Lift Ride (normally the ski lift) that takes up to the top of the slopes and looks out over the Valley..Beautiful!.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz M, Director of Sales at Canaan Valley Resort, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
We couldn't be more thrilled that you enjoyed Canaan. It truly is a remarkable place and we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon.

Our Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This review is for the campground portion of the resort. I didn’t use the pool or any of the other resort amenities so I can’t say much about those! First of all, the campground itself is set in a beautiful location surrounded by mountains and nature. It’s right in Canaan Valley State Park and near a number of trails, parks and outdoor opportunities. It’s also about ten miles from Davis, so you’re not far from restaurants, shops and a grocery store. The campground was very quiet and peaceful and it didn’t seem too busy when we went in late May. There were only two showers and stalls in the women’s/men’s bathrooms so I was expecting them to be crowded and dirty, but they were surprisingly clean and empty. I guess a lot of people RV camping have their own bathrooms! There is a meadow/play area for kids in the middle of the campground and plenty of hiking trails within 1-2 miles of the campground. Another nice thing is that our site had no roots or rocks, so sleeping was pretty comfortable! We stayed here in late May and nights were pretty cold. It got down into the 50s and I definitely wish we’d brought more blankets in addition to our sleeping bags.

Despite the lovely setting, I do have a couple of complaints. When we got to our tent site the electricity wasn’t working. They supposedly fixed it, but when we plugged our cell phones in, there was a sizzling sound and our chargers were fried…so I had to buy a new charger when I went back home. No offer of a discount, though one of the campground workers did give us some free firewood. The site we stayed in was shady and cool with big, mature trees making for a beautiful, idyllic setting, but some of the trees looked dry and I was slightly concerned about falling branches! Maybe I was being paranoid though. Other than that, the site itself was your average, typical site. I would probably come back here because of the setting, location and price (again, I don’t know about the cabins and lodge…just the tent sites) but it would have been nice if we actually had electricity like we were supposed to. Another thing to consider is that there isn’t much cell phone reception in this area of the state. I have Sprint and only got sporadic extended network service. The guy who works at the bike shop over in Davies told us only AT&T and US Cell get service here.

Room Tip: I didn't stay in the lodge or cabins, but found my tent site to be nice and shady!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz M, Director of Sales at Canaan Valley Resort, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
We thank you and appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay. We are so sorry that you didn't receive the total accompaniment of services that you anticipated. It is never our intention to leave our guests unsatisfied with our services, and we hope that you might have the opportunity to try us again, and allow us to exceed your expectations.

All our Best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Very nice resort, centrally located to all exciting and fun activities. Extremely helpful and courteous staff. Rooms at lodge are clean and equipped with all amenities but cabins are ok to get by. Fantastic views to golf course and great food at the buffet.

Thanks.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This is a lovely place. The rooms are new, nice and big; with small refrigerator, coffee maker and microwave.. Comfortable beds. Great indoor and outdoor pools, hot tub, sauna, fitness center.
Restaurant food is very good. Beautiful mountain views and beautiful view of golf course.
The staff was excellent! This is the place to stay if you love being in the mountains of West Virginia.

Room Tip: Ask for golf course side if available. Some also have a small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz M, Director of Sales at Canaan Valley Resort, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for choosing Canaan Valley and for sharing your glowing recommendation. We must agree - it is THE place to stay if one relishes the mountains of West Virginia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Newly remodeled rooms are very nice. The dining choices right in the hotel are excellent, and the staff was courteous. The coffee shop area wasn't open early enough for us, but that was the only negative.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Canaan Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canaan Valley Resort

Address: 230 Main Lodge Road, HC 70 Box 330, Davis, WV 26260
Location: United States > West Virginia > Davis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Davis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Canaan Valley Resort 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Canaan Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canaan Valley Hotel Davis
Canaan Valley Davis
Canaan Valley Resort Wv

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canaan Valley Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.