We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canaan Valley Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Canaan Valley Resort to your Saves list
Canaan Valley Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   230 Main Lodge Road, HC 70 Box 330, Davis, WV 26260   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Davis
Chesapeake, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We went to the newly renovated resort and it was amazing! The people in the area were so nice and my family especially loved seeing the deer around every corner. We ate at both of the restaurants available within the resort and both were very good. Service was the best-we always had someone smiling at us and asking if we needed anything! We have plans to go back next year!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    88
    57
    30
    18
See reviews for
88
91
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

I would like to thank Lori, Debbie, Megan, and Linda from the front desk. These ladies went beyond their normal customer service to accomodate our needs. Also, thanks to David H. and Cindy for all of their help during our conference.

Room Tip: It is all brand new -- beautiful rooms!!! And very clean!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Every year our family rents a rustic cabin at Canaan Valley State Park and Resort. It is fabulous and we have a great time. The cabin prices are very reasonable (even cheaper than Blackwater Falls SP.) We have rented the deluxe cabin on down to the 2 bedroom. They are in pretty good shape and clean. The SP supplies you with wood for your stone fireplace. It is wonderful after a good day of skiing to get back to your cabin, light a fire, make dinner and relax. We go each February and it ALWAYS snows at least one of the days. It is like a winter wonderland. Skiing at Canaan is always great and it is never crowded.

We have never eaten at the Canaan Valley Resort lodge but, have gone to Blackwater Falls SP for the Sunday brunch which is a good deal.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We love it! We've been staying in a cabin now for the last 4 years. They're nothing to write home about but it doesn't even matter. The kitchen gives us the ability to cook for ourselves, the space allows us all to stay together in one big unit. The fireplace gives us lovely light to fall asleep to. We did go inside and see the remodel. It's gorgeous!!! The pool are received new windows and is still plenty of fun. I just wish we could head back next week. :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz M, Director of Sales at Canaan Valley Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
We are ecstatic that you enjoy our cabins so much, and that you and your traveling companions find such great and fun use in each of the cabin's amenities.
We wish you could come back next week as well! Looking forward to welcoming you again.

All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I went to Canaan Valley (on a voucher from another site) with the aim of skiing two days. Unfortunately, the weather didn't cooperate and I skied only the first afternoon. In spite of that, I enjoyed the resort -- interesting three-hour drive from Washington, fine room, pleasant dining room, etc.

My only complaint is the hype in the Trail Map brochure: "The legendary challenge of our mountain . . . breathtaking runs . . . the premier ski resort in the Mid-Atlantic . . ." Please!

As a ski resort, Canaan Valley is a nice hill with one slow lift (7:30 minute ride to the top) and quite a number of runs, virtually all of which lead back to the same point.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

These newly remodeled rooms are very nice - made for a very relaxing weekend of combined work and play. The ski slope was nearby and transportation from the lodge was available. The staff was very helpful in relocating us to a room with a better view when we asked. The food at the restaurant was fine though not very interesting. I recommend at least one trip into town for a meal at a local joint.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms may provide a view of only the storm drain if you are on the entry side of the bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Ohio
Top Contributor
1,519 reviews 1,519 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 221 cities Reviews in 221 cities
3,030 helpful votes 3,030 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

The “all new” Canaan Valley Resort is a first-rate international ski and four-season resort! We have viewed the construction progress for several years, and finally in October 2013, the West Virginia Parks system presented a GEM to the state and to the country.

We have stayed at several European, Canadian, and New Zealand resorts, and the Canaan Valley Resort generally exceeds the “creature comforts” of these foreign resorts.

We do not want our hyperbole about the Canaan Valley Resort to reflect on the quality of the skiing at 4200+ feet at Canaan Valley and nearby Timberline. In our view, both ski resorts are among the finest mid-Atlantic ski resorts. And these ski resorts compare favorable with New England skiing; however, Whistler/Black Comb, Lake Louise, Beaver Creek, CO, Vail, Deer Valley, and nearly all the Rock Mountain states and Cascades states offer excellent skiing.

Nearly 40 years ago, we opened the Resort w a stay at Raven Lodge. That was one Holiday Inn type building and a snack and coke machine, and we arrived in a station wagon in a blizzard!

Today, the parking lot of Canaan Valley Resort is filled with cars from D.C., Pennsylvania, Maryland, Ohio, Virginia, and West Virginia. Unless one owns a $500,000 - $1,000,000 home in Timberline, Canaan Valley Resort is the best alternative.

The old Canaan Valley Resort was pure Holiday Inn; The new Canaan Valley Resort might compete with some very nice lodgings in Beaver Creek, Vail, and Deer Valley!

We hope that all Mountaineers take pride in the new Canaan Valley Resort. And we hope that Mountaineers will enjoy the new Canaan Valley Resort year round.

The bedrooms (several configurations and prices) are new and sparkling. We talked with several cleaning staff members, and these ladies were beaming with pride.

Actually, we recommend the mini-suites for a bit more class and living space. We think the mini-suites are worth the price upgrade. In general, the sleeping areas are quiet and very inviting.

The new Canaan Valley Resort has great public spaces, and some of these public spaces are three stories high. Of course, the current decorations are winter and snowmen. We lost count of the numerous public spaces, and small lobbies are in abundance.

The new gift store at the new Canaan Valley Resort seems to be a small museum of Mountaineer crafts and clothing. The lady in charged also beams with pride. The front desk clerks are beaming with pride.

There are several on-site dining choices from an open-air café to the Laurel Lounge with great mountain views to the very excellent upscale Hickory Dining Room. Great thought was given to providing dining options for families, couples, and business conferences.

We are huge fans of the HOT breakfast buffet. Lunch seems to be burgers, salads, and sandwiches; we choose to be off-site skiing during lunch. It is dinner that the Hickory dining room shines. The menu provides great options for all. In our view, the steaks are priced right. The Hickory dining room is a “room with a view.” Expect a full service bar with a nice wine selection. Actually, we find dinner at the Hickory Room to excel other Canaan Valley and Davis options. Still not convinced? Within five –ten minutes there are several other price options for those on a limited budget.

The new Canaan Valley Resort offers four-five floors, depending on location. Be aware that the older “Holiday Inn” rooms are still standing, but these are soon slated for elimination.

Our room tip: select a top story mini-suite with a view of the ski area in the winter, and we advise this same room for the other four seasons.

Canaan Valley Resort offers several packages, and provides a romantic get-aways all year long.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz M, Director of Sales at Canaan Valley Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
If I didn't know any better, I would presume that you had my title! Thank you so very much for your incredibly warm thoughts, and your glowing recommendation of Canaan Valley. We truly believe that we have the privilege of working at A GEM - and by the looks of it, that pride shows through in our team members as well.
We are thrilled that you are as in love with the new Canaan as we are, and most certainly look forward to welcoming you back.

All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canaan Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canaan Valley Resort

Address: 230 Main Lodge Road, HC 70 Box 330, Davis, WV 26260
Location: United States > West Virginia > Davis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Davis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Canaan Valley Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Canaan Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canaan Valley Hotel Davis
Canaan Valley Davis
Canaan Valley Resort Wv

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canaan Valley Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.