We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“W Virginia Hills in the fall - YES!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canaan Valley Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Canaan Valley Resort to your Saves list
Canaan Valley Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   230 Main Lodge Road, HC 70 Box 330, Davis, WV 26260   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Davis
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“W Virginia Hills in the fall - YES!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I have to agree with Wordmobile.......this is a super "made-over" hotel. Yes, they were still banging and sawing, working like obsessed beavers to get ready for ski season. SO WHAT? The building crews were courteous and totally focused on their jobs. Meanwhile, the room we had was overlooking valleys and hills, beautifully decorated and appointed, with super comfy beds and sparkling clean bath. Skiers will be happy to see nicely designed in-room racks for their gear, and the closet is ample. Breakfast is a well-stocked buffet, with nothing missing that I could see. They even had oatmeal AND grits ---yea!---and hot stuff was shot and cold stuff was cold. Dinner was mediocre to me, but several of my companions found it just fine. The staff was really nice and helpful.
I hope they do tear down the old part; there were some people staying in it while we were there and they flat out hated it.
The indoor pool and jacuzzi were just right (on the small side) and the outdoor pool looked just fine, but it naturally wasn't open while were were there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    84
    54
    29
    18
See reviews for
85
88
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Yes, I had seen a lot of not-happy-camper reviews, so I was just going to tough it out traveling with a tour group for a two-night stay to ride several railroads in the area. This was late September '13 and while there were some final signs of construction, the rooms were spanking new in decor, sheets, shower curtains, carpet, etc. There was a smaller motel-like structure to the left which someone said was the "old" place to stay. It's still there, but I don't know if they book rooms in it. Make sure you know which unit you want.

The dinner and breakfast buffet were well above average, and the wait staff very accommodating. Drinks purchased separately and served by the staff. Martini (decent) for $5.83. Wow! The bar and lounge were nearby and seem to have a crowd in there. View from 2nd floor was to the valley and hills. Nice. It did have a tiny balcony that accommodated two chairs. And, windows you can open. AC was quite. Bathroom super clean.

They are a conference center, so the corridor to the bar and restaurant houses several conference rooms which seemed to be occupied. Also, notices golfers were staying at the hotel.

It's hilly country, but I got the feeling that we were on a high level plateau since getting there was on winding roads that sloped upward for most of the trip. Would think arriving after dark would require careful driving and a good map/instructions. Allow enough time to get there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSI_CustomerService, Manager at Canaan Valley Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
We are thrilled to welcome our guests at our newly renovated home at Canaan Valley. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your buffet meal and delicious (yet inexpensive) martini! Our new lodge fully encompasses the hospitality we aim to provide to our guests and we thank you for your thoughts and positive feedback regarding our changes and updates.

From all of us at Canaan, we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I visited Canaan Valley Resort recently, having fond memories of the place from a visit years ago. I read the recent Tripadvisor reviews, many scathing in their criticism of the construction of the new lodge and the condition of the 30+ year old motel-type rooms (heard they will be torn down). FYI, ONLY brand new rooms in two newly constructed guest wings on either side of the former lobby (completely renovated) will be available after construction is done at end of October...so complaints about the former rooms are moot. The resort is essentially brand new (check out my pics!). I was SO impressed with the beauty of the new guest rooms...high quality cotton & down bedding, high ceilings, large HD flatscreens, great cell phone reception, gorgeous fabrics and carpets, lots of stone and woodwork...and the same incredible views overlooking the valley with mountains all around (most rooms have balconies with seating!). No more exterior corridors, no more hiking to the next building...the lodge is self contained with all guest rooms, meeting rooms, the restaurant and lounge, indoor pool , exercise room, etc under one roof. Service was excellent, from the restaurant to the front desk, I was welcomed with a smile and treated courteously.

My favorite thing was the hiking trails, you can set off right from the hotel and be in a moss covered forest in minutes, with just the sound of birds in the trees or rushing water along a stream. Don't miss the short and easy hike called Blackwater River Trail (I think), it is less than a mile and the trail head is at the golf course parking lot. It was magical - a wild crabapple orchard attracts deer, who graze unafraid (it is a state park, no hunting allowed). The trail meanders along the river, home to ducks and there was a beaver dam. I happened to be there during the peak of fall color, the trees ablaze in orange, yellow and red. Canaan Valley is a very special place for nature lovers and can now be enjoyed while staying in luxury accommodations that reflect a very good value for the money.

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony overlooking the valley, spectacular views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz M, Director of Sales at Canaan Valley Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We couldn't be more excited to welcome both previous and new guests to our new home at Canaan Valley. Your are correct - it really is special - and our new lodge is the perfect representation of both the outdoor beauty, and the gracious hospitality we strive to provide.
Thank you for your wonderfully kind words - we look forward to welcoming you back!

Our Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

As a member of a retiree's group, 50 of us stayed at this large resort just completing expansion and renovation, about an hour from Elkins. Beautiful location, beautiful modern furnishings, with golf course, indoor and outdoor pool, indoor hot tub and many meeting rooms of various sizes makes this the perfect location for a conference of intermediate size!
The dining room has a generous buffet for all meals, with fresh fruit, salad fixin's, wonderful pastries and desserts. The view is breathtaking, especially at breakfast with the mist shrouding trees and hills!
Various sized rooms and suites are found on each of four levels. We got to examine each type in a 'walk through' with our friends. Some suites have remote-controlled fireplaces and wet bars! Complete facility with all the amenities, the staff is friendly and helpful! Our group was impressed! Plenty of well-lit parking, an outdoor patio, and a large mezzanine with coffee service makes this a welcoming gathering place for vacationers and businesspersons.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on higher floors (3 or 4) for a fantastic view, especially mornings on the East side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSI_CustomerService, Manager at Canaan Valley Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent visit to Canaan Valley with your retiree group! You are correct that the view is truly breathtaking and we are more than happy to share it with our guests. Please do come back and visit us again at the 'new' Canaan! Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

A hidden jewel in West Virginia. Wonderful place to relax and be close to nature. If you visit the park during the summer make sure to take the sky lift to view the breathtaking view of the Valley. Excellent for the whole family.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz M, Director of Sales at Canaan Valley Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your recent visit to Canaan! Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

The Lodge currently almost finished with a total renovation. It has two pools, one indoors and one outdoors, tennis, golf, mini golf bicycle rentals, beautiful hiking trails, fishing and rafting nearby, skiing and ice skating in season and a cool summer climate!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We've rented a cabin with friends we haven't seen for some time. We had a wonderful time. Cabin nice and cozy equipped, plenty of space, with full kitchen so we could cook like at home. Beds were comfy, decent pillows. Shower could be a little bigger, having 6'3" I had not much space in there to turn and wash myself :-)

Cabin could use a little tune-up -- fix holes in screen doors, clean carpets, think of better system of lighting in living room.

We've used the outdoor pool, placed in the middle of a sloped meadow, so you could see valley with mountains while taking a swim -- wonderful. Pool was huge, had a lifeguard and service on duty all the time, plenty of deck chairs all around. Chairs looked a little bit outdated, but served well. Pool could use more cleaning of the water, but I understand it must be hard to keep such a big pool absolutely clean, when you're surrounded by trees and other nature.

Plenty of trails starting next to hotel, we've also taken from nearby ski resort and took Bald Knob Trail from top to bottom. Nice 1.5h walk.

Overall, great place for vacation. Not giving 5/5 as there definitely could be more maintenance done on the cabins / pool. But the main lodge is undergoing massive reconstruction right now (Aug 2013), so I guess they are doing there best and cabins may be next on their list.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canaan Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canaan Valley Resort

Address: 230 Main Lodge Road, HC 70 Box 330, Davis, WV 26260
Location: United States > West Virginia > Davis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Davis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Canaan Valley Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Canaan Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canaan Valley Hotel Davis
Canaan Valley Davis
Canaan Valley Resort Wv

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canaan Valley Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.