We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for passing through the area.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Resort at Glade Springs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Resort at Glade Springs to your Saves list
The Resort at Glade Springs
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   255 Resort Dr, Daniels, WV 25832   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Activities Package
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Daniels
Certificate of Excellence
Bryson City, North Carolina
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Good choice for passing through the area.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Booked through one of the blind deals on a favorite travel site, the resort proved to be an excellent alternative to the freeway exit hotels. Though several miles out of our way and way off the beaten path, it was worth it. Very comfortable and quiet. Does need some updating and exterior cleaning. We stayed upstairs in the Sycamore building. The grill was delightful. Perfect server and good food, though it took a while to get it brought out.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeAnna D, Guest Relations Manager at The Resort at Glade Springs, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear DMS1157,
We are so glad that you found us and that you feel we are an excellent alternative to the hotels just off the interstate. Just so that our other travelers know, we are only 5 miles from I-64 and 8 miles from I-77, and hopefully for all, well worth the extra drive time. It is nice to see that you enjoyed Glade's Grill with a perfect server and perfect food. We hope you will join us again the next time you are passing through Beckley, WV!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    248
    83
    48
    32
See reviews for
303
218
17
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

A year in advance, we contracted with Glade to hold our 50th wedding anniversary party (consisting of 100 family and friends) at the outdoor pool with specific assurance that the pool would be closed for our event. We reserved a Manor House for our family. Four (repeat-- four) days prior to the celebration, we were informed by management that the pool would be open for resort members and guests-- a clear and acknowledged breach of contract and an obvious incompatible mix. Although forced to move the venue to the pavilion due to weather (rain), the decision by the resort general manager to not abide with his agreement, caused significant distress to my wife and me. For personal reasons and despite a clear contract, we have decided to not pursue legal measures. However, be aware that Glade management is not to be trusted. It's a wonderful place with fabulous people marred by disappointing leadership. As temporary residents of Glade, we write this review with regret.

Room Tip: Don't choose rooms on the bottom floor of the Manor Houses-- any activity on the second floor wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

My husband and I have stayed here the past two years during the Greenbriar Classic. We love the setup, the golf courses and the idea of ending up here is a dream for the future. The house keepers could use some pointers and may try to make their guest feel more welcomed. We did enjoy the amenities the resort had to offer but the gym needs an overhaul. The service at the pub was great but the kitchen for the second year in a row was a fail. The waitresses and bartenders are constantly apologizing for the wait. For two salmon salads we waited over a hour, Cassie was amazing. Kristin was running around like a maniac the first day we were there, ALL day and night and she did so well by herself, but again the kitchen disappointed. The evening of the fireworks was crazy and that's expected but there was a disgruntle customer at the bar and irritated because her large order of burgers, 8 to be exact was taking longer than she thought she snapped at Cassie, ok, whatever, but then she voiced "do you know who I am?" She marched into the kitchen. Cassie kept her composure but was obviously embarrassed. I later asked who the lady was, she is a resort employee. Jennifer Gwen. Name or spelling could be off. But, I was so disappointed in the overwhelming lack of respect and help for guests along with fellow employees. My husband and I would like to return and when we spend 2k for a long weekend feel like every penny was worth it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeAnna D, Guest Relations Manager at The Resort at Glade Springs, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear JontM,
Thank you for your loyalty and staying with us over the Greenbrier Classic. We appreciate this feedback. Your review has been shared with our management team and these issues have been addressed. We want to apologize for your wait times in Bunkers. These are some of the busiest days of the year for the resort but we are happy to see that Cassie and Kristin were going over and beyond. We will certainly share these accolades with them, as it is our philosophy that our associates are our most valuable assets. We hope to see you again next year during the Classic or sooner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I would highly recommend this resort for a quiet get away. Great pool, great food at the pool! Excellent breakfast with all the goodies; bacon, eggs, sausage, waffles, sausage gravy, oatmeal, fruits, coffee, juice bar. Large quiet room with spacious bathroom and double vanity. Comfortable king sized bed! Definitely great get away for a couple, or for golf outing. Nothing to do in town of Beckley

Room Tip: Rooms in the lodge are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeAnna D, Guest Relations Manager at The Resort at Glade Springs, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Hello Patrick W,
Thank you for staying with us and sharing the great review! We are thrilled to see that you received excellent service and breakfast and that your room was spacious and comfortable. We appreciate your high recommendations and look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Our family stayed at this resort in one of the 6 bedroom lodges. There was plenty of room and the house was very nice! I would have to agree with some of the other reviewers that some updates are necessary for the price we paid. I didn't go to the breakfast buffet in the main restaurant, but the family members that went said it was very overpriced for a "continental" breakfast. The second day, a few of us had breakfast in the Cafe and it was exceptional and very affordable! On the upside, there was plenty to do for everyone. All the staff and workers we encountered were friendly, helpful and amazing. There is a shuttle service that takes you everywhere on property and it seemed as if it was at our front door before we could hang up the phone! I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeAnna D, Guest Relations Manager at The Resort at Glade Springs, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear shannad51,
Thank you for the nice review and having your family vacation with us! It is rewarding to see that our staff was friendly, helpful and amazing and that our shuttle drivers were promptly at your service. I was sorry to see that some of your family members felt that our buffet breakfast was overpriced. We have a variety of items daily on our hot bar including eggs, bacon or sausage, waffle station and a starch item plus our cold bar includes cereals, juice, fresh fruit, yogurt with granola and breakfast pastries. I am happy to see that you had an exceptional and affordable breakfast at Small Talk Café. We hope that you and your family will visit us again in the near future; thank you for staying!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I really was looking for a spot to stay one night on a long road trip where I could play a round of golf on a nice course connected to the hotel. The golf course was fantastic and in great shape. There are three courses there and the Cobb course was being used on the Monday following my stay for a qualifying round to seize four spots for the upcoming PGA Greenbriar that following week. I stayed in the executive suites and was pleased with the layout, but for the money felt like a hotel 6 with the outdated interior. Grounds were nice, but exterior executive buildings need facelift as does interior to justify the rates. Really disappointed with the lack of a lobby bar and kitchen for after dinner cocktails at the main hotel. They seem to think that leaving the golf course bar and kitchen (which is far from the hotel) open is good enough, but if you want to attract the higher end clientele, you have to provide these types of services. Certainly the main hotel building has the facility already there to offer that feature, but chooses to make guests walk/drive over to a loud booth/ pool table type environment instead. In all fairness, there is a "fine dining" restaurant attached to the golf facility bar, but it has a tiny, tiny cocktail bar (like three bar seats) which would be better positioned over at the main hotel with many more seats. Curious management decision there. How much more overhead, if any, would it be to station that bartender over at the main hotel? I should have stayed at the Marriott in Charlestown an hour up the road and just payed the 75 bucks green fees to stop for four hours and play.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeAnna D, Guest Relations Manager at The Resort at Glade Springs, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Jimiv91361,
Thank you for the review and constructive feedback. We are happy to see that you were pleased with our golf courses and grounds. Most of our guests enjoy walking to the restaurants or they use our complimentary shuttle service. Bunkers, which has a large bar, is a sports bar where most guests go for fun and entertainment. Glade's Bar, on the other hand, has a quainter atmosphere with a few bar seats as well as several comfortable sitting areas for conversation. We are sorry that you did not find the type of hotel bar that you were looking for and that you felt your room was overpriced. We stay in line with the nicer hotel chains in terms of pricing but will look at any areas that need updating. We appreciate you visiting us and would love to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We were totally impressed with our Vacation at Glade Springs.

Our Suite was very convenient and furnished with many amenities that made our visit very comfortable.

It was nice to stay where our included Breakfast was a Gourmet meal. The complete meal meant that we could start our Day and be ready for a morning of many fun filled activities.

The Golf Clubhouse is a wonderful place to purchase Souvenirs for my Golf Buddies at home. Also, the 2 restaurants are Fabulous.

The Golf courses are the Best!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeAnna D, Guest Relations Manager at The Resort at Glade Springs, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Hello luvenia8,
Thank you for the kind review! It is great to see that you enjoyed our full buffet breakfast and our other restaurants during your visit. We are happy that you were totally impressed with our resort and hope to have the opportunity to be of service again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Resort at Glade Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Glade Springs

Address: 255 Resort Dr, Daniels, WV 25832
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Daniels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Daniels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Resort at Glade Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Resort at Glade Springs is a full service destination resort offering travelers a memorable mountain escape where they can enjoy a variety of accommodations, meeting facilities, outdoor adventures and recreational options while decompressing and being themselves. Its’ ideal Southern West Virginia setting provides the total package of outdoor mountain fun, world class golf, skiing, equestrian, tennis and spa services that offers great value and surpasses expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Resort at Glade Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort At Glade Springs Hotel Daniels
Hotel At Glade Springs
At Glade Springs Daniels
Glade Springs Resort West Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Resort at Glade Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.