We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a family reunion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Resort at Glade Springs

Save Saved
You added Resort at Glade Springs to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Resort at Glade Springs
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   255 Resort Dr, Daniels, WV 25832   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Daniels
Callahan, FL
1 review
“Great place for a family reunion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We held our family reunion at the Resort at Glade Springs in the fall of 2013. The accommodations were very pleasant. We stayed in the Chestnut Hill Lodges and were quite pleased with the very private comfortable clean rooms, each with their own bathroom facilities. Then the ability to meet in the common area was just great! Plenty of room to host the whole family of 20 of us in the living room. The wide screen up on the mantle made it easy to share family videos and pictures.
We really enjoyed the grounds, the restaurants, and the golf. The Cobb course is excellent. Unfortunately the Resort decided to close down some of the fun stuff that the younger set would have enjoyed like the archery, laser tag, and some of the other things. They thought there wouldn't be much demand in the fall but from our point of view there were plenty of people looking for those kinds of activities. Their prices were a bit high; especially considering the high price for the rooms. But we figured this was a once in a life time opportunity to splurge.
The staff was friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Chestnut Lodges because there were several families in our family reunion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeAnna D, Front Office Manager at Resort at Glade Springs, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for the review! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the Chestnut Hill Lodges, the grounds, restaurants and golf. Our Chestnut Hill Lodges are great for families to be together. We are very sorry that some of our outdoor activities were limited for the young members of your family due to a large event we had the following week. Regarding our rates, we keep our rates comparable to other resorts, hotels and restaurants in the area and they do tend to change with the demand and the seasons. We occasionally have extra special offers for guests who are signed up through our email program. I am happy to hear that our staff was friendly and helpful. We do hope to have another opportunity to host your family again in the future and that they can enjoy the activities on a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    197
    63
    38
    26
See reviews for
238
168
15
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Attended family reunion, stayed in two lodges. Family came from all over US to get together. Disappointment started with some housekeeping issues but they did respond to our calls right away. However, all activities were closed. If I golfed, I would be happy as a lark. But any thing else in early October was closed up for the season. Not too sure why all closed up but seriously disappointing for the kids in the large group. Dinner at Bunkers was good, thank goodness because all the other choices for a large group would be too expensive. Rooms were nice, plenty of them in the lodges but need up-keep. My shower had mold growing on the wallpaper. The best part of my vacation: seeing the extended family. We made our own fun because everything else was closed (except for the pool but it was lame).

Room Tip: Lodges are great. Ask for the odd-numbered ones. The even numbered ones are on a down-slope of a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeAnna D, Front Office Manager at Resort at Glade Springs, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your review and constructive feedback. I am so sorry to hear that your recent visit was disappointing. I am happy to hear that housekeeping was responsive and prompt and that you enjoyed your dinner in Bunkers Sports Bar. Some of our outdoor activities were closed because of preparations being made for a very large event we had the following week and I apologize that we were not able to provide those activities during your visit. Our staff is reviewing the wallpaper and that will be fixed. I would like to have the opportunity to discuss these issues with you further. Please contact me directly at 304-763-0816; I look forward to speaking with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We visited Glade spring resorts 10/4-10/6. Stayed in the lodges with family. Men all went golfing and enjoyed that. We were with the kids and every activity we wanted to do with them was not available. No outdoor laser tag because they were getting ready for fright nights, no indoor laser tag as someone was using the indoor area. No archery, couldn't go fishing because there were only a few rods and the rest were locked in the boat house for the season. Bowling only available at 5pm and we had dinner scheduled with family. We did rent bikes but paid 78.00 for two adults and two children $$$ could have bought a bike for that price!! We could not even have bonfire unless we booked in advance and paid $50.00 , we had all the food to make s'mores but no lighter or matches to light fire. To top off our stay my 9 year old left his handheld game in the lodge bunk room , he was able to tell us exactly where he left it. I called as soon as we got home and left a message Sunday and got a call back Monday after 4 saying they didn't find anything! Probably wouldn't even have needed his game if there were activities to do!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeAnna D, Front Office Manager at Resort at Glade Springs, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Please accept my apologies that we did not meet your expectations regarding our activities. We mention in our online Activity Brochure that advance planning is highly recommended for our activities as some activities are limited in the fall as we prepare for Fright Nights. I am sorry that information did not reach you before you arrived and that we fell short in providing these services while you were here. I would love to have an opportunity to speak to you in order to ensure that we meet the needs for you and for our future guests. My direct phone number is 304-763-0816; I look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckley, West Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The Resort at Glade Springs offers numerous fun activities including golf, bowling, laser tag and volleyball. Glade served delicious food and had many areas for relaxing, as rockers on the porch, a wonderful spa and a big bonfire. Whether you prefer to rest and enjoy the beautiful countryside and abundant wildlife or whether you prefer to take in every adventure offered, you will enjoy the charm of The Resort of Glade Springs.

Room Tip: If you are traveling in a group, I suggest the Manor Houses or the Chestnut Hill Lodges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeAnna D, Front Office Manager at Resort at Glade Springs, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We are so glad you visited our resort and enjoyed our activities, food and wildlife! It is nice that we are able to offer both adventure and relaxation in one setting, year round. Many thanks for your review; we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We were able to get in several different activities while at the Glade Springs. We enjoyed them all. From the food, the bowling, fitness center, fishing, hiking, etc. The service is what stands out the most of them all. Exceptional service from start to finish. Can't wait to go back again!

Room Tip: We went with the executive suite. A lot of room and great location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeAnna D, Front Office Manager at Resort at Glade Springs, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
I am thrilled to hear that you had an awesome visit with us! It is so rewarding for you to mention our exceptional service; this is what we all strive for at The Resort at Glade Springs. Thank you for visiting us and for the great review! We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the resort. We stayed in the suites & the rooms were great & the area well kept. Enjoyed the bonfires and a round of golf. Very relaxing time. Tried the deli/bakery & it was very good. Close to Beckley if you needed to go to town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeAnna D, Front Office Manager at Resort at Glade Springs, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience! We are so glad you enjoyed the golf and bonfire as well as Small Talk Café and your suite. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

My wife and I live in Canaan Valley, but needed a change of scenery. Reserved an unlimited golf package and had a blast! The room (in the hotel) was spacious, well equipped and very comfortable. Golf on the Cobb and Stonehaven courses was outstanding, well groomed and challenging! Breakfast buffet left a little to be desired, but plentiful with good selections.

Room Tip: I have stayed at Glade numerous times and the (all) rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeAnna D, Front Office Manager at Resort at Glade Springs, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for visiting, neighbors! I am delighted to hear that you and your wife had a blast and we appreciate you sharing with the travel community how much you enjoyed your stay and our golf courses. We look forward to having you back with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Resort at Glade Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort at Glade Springs

Address: 255 Resort Dr, Daniels, WV 25832
Location: United States > West Virginia > Daniels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Daniels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Resort at Glade Springs 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Resort at Glade Springs is a full service destination resort offering travelers a memorable mountain escape where they can enjoy a variety of accommodations, meeting facilities, outdoor adventures and recreational options while decompressing and being themselves. Its’ ideal Southern West Virginia setting provides the total package of outdoor mountain fun, world class golf, skiing, equestrian, tennis and spa services that offers great value and surpasses expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Resort at Glade Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort At Glade Springs Hotel Daniels
Hotel At Glade Springs
At Glade Springs Daniels
Glade Springs Resort West Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Resort at Glade Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.