We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tacky, Overstated Resort -STAY AWAY!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Resort at Glade Springs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Resort at Glade Springs to your Saves list
Resort at Glade Springs
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   255 Resort Dr, Daniels, WV 25832   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Daniels
Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tacky, Overstated Resort -STAY AWAY!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My family has stayed at Glade Springs July 2013 & April 2012. We will NOT return.

On our April 2012 visit we stayed Friday - Sunday in one of the Manor houses. Accomodations were newly remodeled... we knew this because one closet was filled with construction items such paint cans, rolls of plastic, brushes, etc. Upon calling the frontdesk to ask if these items could be removed from the closet, the answer was "no, we have nowhere else to store the items". Really? Ok, other than that, the room with 2dbl beds, living area and kitchen was nice. We ate Bunkers Sports Bar, Glade Grill, & Rotunda. Food was just ok at all 3, service lousy at Bunkers, good at Glade Grill & Rotunda. Bowling & Swimming were good. The spa was mediocre... no relaxation room prior to treatment which was a big disappointment. Waiting room was busy & noisy so not a good place to sit right before going in to a massage.
Our July 2013 stay was terrible. We booked 2nts in a 3bdrm Chestnut Lodge. Rm spacious but very dated, ugly furninshings, smelled very moldy. We found out all accomodations at resort had been remodeled except for these units... this would have been great information when booking the reservation, not after arrival. Arrived late so went to Bunkers Sports Bar, 5ppl in our party. Very busy but had lots of staff on duty, however only a few were actually working. We waited 30minutes to get drinks another 30minutes to get appetizer, and another 60min when only 3of 5 sandwiches arrived. They boxed up the 3since it was now 10pm, We were charged full price, $69 for nachos, 3chkn sandwhiches & 5cokes. We spoke to mgr & he was rude & unapologetic. He said "everyone just came in at once"... they were grossly unprepared for a big crowd during 4th of July weekend. Upon checkout, all the resorts' systems were down & we could not get a receipt.
But, regardless of the smelly room, horrible dining service, the whole experience was terrible due to the "regular" patrons... The resort is centered in a nice private subdivision so the residents are "members". Upon both visits in 2012 & 2013, the public display of drunkeness & lewd behavior in the restaurants, bowling ally, & pool, were not suited for "family" atmosphere. Both visits, older men heavy flirting with young girls, loud profanity on the deck of restaurant & in restaurant. We could definately tell the "regulars" from the "visitors". Since we witnessed this behavior during both visits, it seems this is the norm at this resort. Terrible.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    199
    68
    40
    27
See reviews for
239
176
15
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Just returned from 3-generation family reunion of 26 members. The villas were perfect for get -togethers, Spacious and clean and modern. Housekeeping prompt and accommodating. There were more activities than we could even get to. On one rainy day we had bowling, arcade, beautiful spa services,indoor and outdoor tennis,fitness and a lounge movie theater. The site was more beautiful than the pictures depicted. Full breakfast in a comfortable dining room. Staff friendly and professional. Nearby Beckley convenient for groceries and incidentals. Would definitely recommend for a quiet couple retreat or a large family reunion.

Room Tip: Do not book in Executive Suites,a misnomer as they are older and farther from the core resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

On the surface the Glade Springs Resort was supposed to be a place for myself and my three high school buddies to celebrate our 40th birthday year. The Oakville Lane villa was nice, although my bed was broken. The inclusive breakfast was ordinary and boring, the Bunker Sports Bar was over staffed, yet slow, the food was unexciting and bland and the staff was reluctant to change any of the TVs to the Stanley Cup Finals (we had to reserve the TV for Game 2); the Glade Grill was supposed to be the upscale restaurant at the Resort. The wine list was limited and the food,once again was pedstrian. We wanted to rent a gas grill so we could cook for ourselves, but at $50/ day it would have been cheaper to buy a $50 grill and charcoal for the four nights and leave it behind. There is not much else around in the area, so you are stuck at the resort.

Golf was the focal point of our trip, but two of our days we were competing with a tournament on the Stonehaven and Cobb courses and forced over to the Woodhaven course. The Woodhaven course is a joke. So many tricked-out holes that it was not fun to play. And that sentiment was echoed by many members and residents of the resort that we spoke to afterwards. The Cobb Course was fantastic, playable for all levels of golfers in my group. Stonehaven was the highlight of Glade Springs. Even though the pro shop screwed up our tee time, they squeezed us in. The backside played slow as they had a mix of two and three balls on the course.

The reservation manager, Shannon was very helpful with scheduling a rafting trip on the New River with Adventures on the Gorge. If I had to do it all over again, I would skip Woodhaven Golf Course and stay at Adventures on the Gorge; do two days of rafting and just play Stonehaven and Cobb. The food up at the Adventures resort was great, and we did not even go to the upscale outdoor bistro place. We ate at the bar after rafting and left very satisfied.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Kentucky, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Beautiful place with lots of stuff to do! We loved the horse back riding. Good restaurants on site with an excellent gym. Plus not too far from all the activities in Fayetteville and Beckley. Will definitely come back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed at The Inn. Room was fresh, bright & inviting! Was more like a bed & breakfast feel. Spotless would be an understatement! Spent 3 nights and all meals were enjoyed on the resort. Food was delicious and well presented. Staff was very pleasent and it was great having shuttle service to all venues at resort. Would love to come back for vacation and try the golf course!

Room Tip: My room at The Inn was perfect! Microwave & Fridge included!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irwin, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed at the resort on a two getaway for three other couples. Our experienced exceeded our expectations. The grounds were well kept and the staff very friendly. Our rooms were very clean, comfortable, and quiet. All three golf courses were in excellent shape, challenging and staff friendly. We had unlimited golf for two days, and our wives enjoyed the spa. The only small negative was the main restaurant was closed for Sunday and Monday, we had planned on eating there during our stay. We plan a return trip in the fall.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The buds were just coming on the trees, and spring was beginning a little later here, when I stayed the night of April 21, 2013 for a one day conference. The rate was reasonable, and my room in the Inn was spacious and clean. A refrigerator kept my water cold and if I had some popcorn, I could've made it in the microwave. It was quiet and restful. The breakfast provided next morning was delicious and we were steps away from the day's meetings. I'm looking forward to returning with my family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Resort at Glade Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort at Glade Springs

Address: 255 Resort Dr, Daniels, WV 25832
Location: United States > West Virginia > Daniels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Daniels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Resort at Glade Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Resort at Glade Springs is a full service destination resort offering travelers a memorable mountain escape where they can enjoy a variety of accommodations, meeting facilities, outdoor adventures and recreational options while decompressing and being themselves. Its’ ideal Southern West Virginia setting provides the total package of outdoor mountain fun, world class golf, skiing, equestrian, tennis and spa services that offers great value and surpasses expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Resort at Glade Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort At Glade Springs Hotel Daniels
Hotel At Glade Springs
At Glade Springs Daniels
Glade Springs Resort West Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Resort at Glade Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.