We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to Skiing Winterplace” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Resort at Glade Springs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Resort at Glade Springs to your Saves list
The Resort at Glade Springs
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   255 Resort Dr, Daniels, WV 25832   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Activities Package
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Daniels
Certificate of Excellence
Camden, Arkansas
Level Contributor
162 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Convenient to Skiing Winterplace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We bought the New Years package with an extra day that included ski passes. The new years package was good . . . Party included band, heavy hors devore., and open bar. Stayed in the executive suites which include a fridge and microwave which is convenient for the cost concious. Great amenities that you would expect from a resort. 7 miles from skiing. Note that ski passes are only good for the day of your stay. I was skied out the last day and was hoping to use the passes on a return visit to the slopes.

The front desk operations were the worse I have experienced .. Very slow and inefficient.

Room Tip: Ask for the executive suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    267
    88
    50
    33
See reviews for
322
234
18
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Terribly disappointed with overall experience. Problems every night to include noise and smoking neighbors. Onsite restaurant, The Bunkers, was over priced and food quality barely acceptable - took over an hour to get food. Checked out a day early because of wife's allergies related to smoking in adjacent room. Staff had nerve to want lift tickets back. Recommend staying at Marriott Courtyard or somewhere else and avoiding The Glades all together.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

Like 110travelduo, we stayed here overnight to break up a 12 hour drive. It was perfect for small children as the resort property is gated and safe. There are sidewalks everywhere for early morning strolls while Daddy sleeps in. We also used the playground before breakfast - which was included in the package.

We planned on skiing since lift tickets were included with our package but it was way too warm for good skiing. Instead we went swimming at the indoor pool, enjoyed the sauna, then hit the road. If we had time, we would have played on the indoor tennis courts, tried out the bowling alley then taken in a PG film at the leisure center.

For all of these perks, I felt like the price was reasonable. That said, the room was not a $300 room. It met Marriott or Embassy Suites standards but with a higher price tag.

Regarding the location, it is in between two interstates (30 minutes in either direction) so its easy to get to - the surreal aspect involves the economic disparity between the resort and the community outside the gates. Its a bit dramatic for the US. Imagine trailer homes on one side and large 4 bedroom homes on the other, but that is the way things are in West Virginia. You can take it or leave it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cana, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Had a wonderful experience. The staff was very helpful with everything we needed. The restaurants were very good. We loved the bowling and the swimming. Very nice sauna, steam room and changing/shower rooms. Also great fitness room. Loved it all. Very clean and classy.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca, South Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

We've stayed here twice now - once in 2010, and again in 2011. We use this as a half-way stop on our way to visit family in northwest PA, which would normally be a very long and tiring one day trip for us. Resort is off the beaten path, but since we like to golf, we have found their 2 nights with a round of golf package just the ticket for us. Of course, the longer the stay the more of a deal you can get, but that is usually all the time we can allow. The stay is comfortable, with varied (and OK) dining possibilities, including a very nice breakfast buffet, which is usually included. This is a year around resort, and offer a variety of activities depending on the season. They fail to mention "deer watching" - and there are deer everywhere! One even accidentally joined us on the golf course one morning. We used their nice little bowling facility one afternoon, but were there mainly for the golf. The courses are very nice. We have golfed on 2, the Cobb course, which is the resort course and laid out throughout the residential area, and Stonehaven, which we enjoyed very much, and which had some drop-dead gorgeous views. I should also add we are fairly good "recreational golfers" (no handicaps) and not rating the courses here, but know for a fact the courses are challenging, especially their 3rd course, Woodhaven. We referred friends from here in SC and they had a equally pleasant experience. All 4 of us are now planning on getting together and going again sometime, and for a longer stay.

Room Tip: The Executive Suites are not luxurious, but are comfortable,and for what it's worth, we could on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

My family stayed at the resort for Thanksgiving and we all truly had a terrific time. Could not ask for better accomodations or service. The kids had a wonderful time at the leisure center and the great weather allowed us to venture out and explore the grounds of the resort. Hope to return soon. Thanks

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

I met up with 3 friends at The Resort at Glade Springs this weekend. We shared a Queen Double at the Inn. The room was big enough for us to spread out and play board games late into the night. We all appreciated the extra sink outside the bathroom when it came time to get ready to go out or go to bed. The included breakfast was ample with something for everyone including make your own waffles. We ate a good breakfast at 10 and didn't need a formal lunch. The Leisure Center is very nice. It houses Spa Orange as well as a 10 lane bowling alley, indoor pool, steam room, sauna, whirlpool, tennis court and movie room. We really enjoyed our trail ride leaving from the Equestrian center. The Resort has a shuttle that will take you where ever you want to go on property including the restaurants. We had a great dinner at Bunker's Bar & Grill which was better than what we could have gotten in town at Applebee's or Outback Steakhouse, but still reasonably priced. The only thing we could have used in the room was an exhaust fan in the bathroom. Otherwise, a very enjoyable visit on a quiet weekend in November.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front of the first floor. It was a quiet weekend so I don't think there was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daniels
9.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
9.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley
9.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Beckley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Pipestem Resort State Park Lodge
23.0 mi away
Quality Inn New River
Quality Inn New River
#1 of 1 in Fayetteville
4.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
5.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Beckley East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Resort at Glade Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Glade Springs

Address: 255 Resort Dr, Daniels, WV 25832
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Daniels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Daniels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Resort at Glade Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Resort at Glade Springs is a full service destination resort offering travelers a memorable mountain escape where they can enjoy a variety of accommodations, meeting facilities, outdoor adventures and recreational options while decompressing and being themselves. Its’ ideal Southern West Virginia setting provides the total package of outdoor mountain fun, world class golf, skiing, equestrian, tennis and spa services that offers great value and surpasses expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Resort at Glade Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort At Glade Springs Hotel Daniels
Hotel At Glade Springs
At Glade Springs Daniels
Glade Springs Resort West Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Resort at Glade Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.