We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't let the Front of the Building Fool You” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Charleston WV

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Charleston WV to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Charleston WV
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   102 Racer Drive, Cross Lanes, WV 25313   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cross Lanes
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Don't let the Front of the Building Fool You”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

This is the typical type of motel ChoicePriveledges wants you to spend your hard earned money on and tell you how good they are. At first when I walked into the lobby of this motel I thought it would be clean and decent for the $90 a night they charge. But once I got to my room I saw just how poor this place really is.
The first thing that happened was I found that the maids are to lazy to check the tv remote control and the batteries were dead, wouldn't even turn the tv on they were so dead. Then as I tried to turn the light on next to the bed I found that the switch on the light had been twisted off so it was no good to even try to turn on the light. Saves on electricity I guess. Then I filled the bathroom sink up with water, it was still full of water when I left this morning because the plunger had been broken a long time ago, same as with the bathtub.
The carpeting is old and stained and smelly. Desk clerk this morning when checking out told me she hears about these complaints all the time. Hope you enjoy your over priced stay at this dump.

Room Tip: I have stayed at MicroMotels that were better quality and lower priced. This place is very over pric...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnWV, General Manager at Comfort Inn Charleston WV, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
We would like to thank you for your comments for it gives us an opportunity to solve issues through the guests' eyes. We anticipate hearing your voice to take care of any problem you may have that causes discomfort or inconvenience. Our goal is to make it right during your stay.

Our staff is always ready to make your time with us as relaxing and excellent as possible. We post the cell phone numbers of the hotel's President as well as the General Manager's cell phone number in each room, we put a very visible computer on top of the front desk for our guest to leave us comments at anytime that is directed to our phones in the form of a text alert as well as display the 100% satisfaction sign by Choice Hotels International informing guests that we will do whatever it takes to make it right given the opportunity. There are many ways to let us know how we can make your stay better.

We are in the middle of a $2 million dollar renovation and it is nice to know you are pleased with our new lobby with fireplace, new front desk, new breakfast area as well as a new elevator.
We have also completed several of the new rooms designed to meet the "Truly Yours" renovation theme designed by Choice Hotels. During renovation time, there is a lot going on and we have done a great job of making our renovation operations as inconspicuous as possible to our guests. We do not want to make any excuses and realize normal day to day preventative maintenance must go on. Yet because we have alternatives to each problem and we are willing to honor our 100% satisfaction promise we just ask for a chance to do so.

We hope you stay with us again and find that your recent experience is not indicative of how our hotel operates in general. Our standard is to "WOW" our guest from the beginning to the end of each stay and we want to see you again to make it happen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    34
    30
    12
    5
See reviews for
48
49
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Came into hotel on the 14th November after an drive from Myrtle Beach. Wife and I were tired and hungry. They have a small bar with food inside their lobby. Nothing fancy but all around good food. The room was clean and on the fisrt floor as requested. The next morning we discovered that our car would not start ( dead battery) We had a good breakfeast and was going to call our road service to get a jump. The morening desk clerk ( I believe Cody) heard of our dilemma and volunteered to use his auto and cables to get our vehicle running which he did. Beyond the call of duty.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnWV, General Manager at Comfort Inn Charleston WV, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing how we were able to make your visit with us special. I am proud of the staff we hire to make each and every stay for our guests a remarkable experience. Please come back to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddleston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Our room was in the new section and it was clean, comfortable, and quiet. The pool was beautiful. All attendants were very pleasant and accommodating. Breakfast was one of the best buffets with hot eggs and bacon. Curtis worked at the desk and was extremely helpful. We'll be happy to go back again.

Room Tip: Our room was 214 and was just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnWV, General Manager at Comfort Inn Charleston WV, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
It is such a joy to know that you enjoyed so many aspects of our hotel and staff. We have been very busy renovating our property to the Choice Hotels "Truly Yours" package for Comfort Inns. We are delighted you appreciated the aviance of our new rooms, the courtesy of our staff and our great breakfast of variety. We hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshfield, Wisconsin, United States
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is really trying and it shows. The parts that have been updated, like the lobby and the breakfast area are really nice. The pool area is great. Breakfast was nice with hot items and Sandi the attendant was super friendly and kept things looking nice. On check-in, we discovered a room deoderizer in our room since a previous tenant had smoked and we asked to be moved which we were promptly. However old is old, and the rooms are old. Our toilet ran every 15 minutes throughout the night which kept us up, and the air conditioner made a dripping sound like a faucet. Otherwise everything was clean.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnWV, General Manager at Comfort Inn Charleston WV, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your acknowlegement of the qualities you like about our hotel. Our renovations have been very successful thus far. I am glad you found our original room clean. I will have to say the items in your room are not indicative of anyother rooms. And I apologize for your inconvenience. We look forward to your return in one of our new rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This place is a "must stay" if you're in the area! Friendly staff, clean room, beautiful pool area, great view, neat small bar, and one of the best breakfast buffets I've had in quite some time. And if you're into gambling, there's one less than a mile away! Enjoy!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnWV, General Manager at Comfort Inn Charleston WV, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We are proud to be one of the best kept hotes in the West Virginia Mountains. It was very nice of you to ackowledge our service and amenities as a tribute to our Great State.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carterville, Illinois
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The employees were very welcoming and friendly. The pool was clean and sunny with nice ambiance. The rooms were quiet and comfortable. The only thing was the bathroom fan was very noisy and it came on when the light was on. Not a big thing to complain about. We did get one of the remodeled rooms and it was clean and nice. The elevator should be working in one week, but that wasn't a big deal either since there are only two floors.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the remodeled rooms. The hotel is in the middle of a total makeover.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnWV, General Manager at Comfort Inn Charleston WV, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to serving your lodging needs in the future. The new rooms are spectaculary chic, glad you enjoyed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, California
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is an older hotel, that is no frills. If you really need a low cost hotel and can get this for a good price, then it is very acceptable. It is not much for comfort, but it has all of the basics, and nothing is horrible about it. It is just ok. I wouldn't stay here for a long time, but a night or two will be just fine. Check out the casino nearby, because it really is nice. The breakfast here was really good also, so definitely take advantage of that. This hotel needs a lot of updating, to take it to the next level, but then the prices would be higher, and it wouldn't attract the same crowd, which appears to be mostly a blue-collar laborer type. Overall, I would give this hotel a two star rating out of 5, so use that as your expectation guide.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnWV, General Manager at Comfort Inn Charleston WV, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Your comments are welcomed. Our public areas renovations are finished I can't wait til you see the new rooms. Come back to see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Charleston WV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Charleston WV

Address: 102 Racer Drive, Cross Lanes, WV 25313
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Cross Lanes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cross Lanes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn Charleston WV 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to Mardi Gras Casino in Cross Lanes, WV near Charleston, WV, we offer a 100% non-smoking hotel with a shopping center, theater, dining and attractions. We have 137 rooms, a Large Tropical Indoor Pool with Waterfall, Spa, Sauna, an Outdoor Pool, plus Fitness Center, Business Center with three computers with High-Speed Internet, and don't forget the Lazy Dog Saloon just off our large lobby with fireplace. FREE BREAKFAST Featuring: fresh scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, flavored waffles, sausage gravy and biscuits, an assortment of donuts, bagels, pastries, cereal, yogurt, fruit, and juices. We also offer some unique services and features you may not find at every hotel, such as: Fully stocked Sundry Room, Guest Laundry, Picnic Area with grill ,Coffee Bar in Lobby - fresh coffee with cookies (24 hours). From the moment you arrive at Comfort Inn we want you to relax and feel at home. Our helpful staff is there to welcome you and fulfill even the unexpressed wishes and needs of our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Charleston WV reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Charleston Wv Hotel Cross Lanes
Comfort Inn Cross Lanes
Cross Lanes Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Charleston WV, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.