We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good, the bad, and the tired” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Charleston WV

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Charleston WV to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Charleston WV
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   102 Racer Drive, Cross Lanes, WV 25313   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cross Lanes
Marshfield, Wisconsin, United States
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“The good, the bad, and the tired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is really trying and it shows. The parts that have been updated, like the lobby and the breakfast area are really nice. The pool area is great. Breakfast was nice with hot items and Sandi the attendant was super friendly and kept things looking nice. On check-in, we discovered a room deoderizer in our room since a previous tenant had smoked and we asked to be moved which we were promptly. However old is old, and the rooms are old. Our toilet ran every 15 minutes throughout the night which kept us up, and the air conditioner made a dripping sound like a faucet. Otherwise everything was clean.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnWV, General Manager at Comfort Inn Charleston WV, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your acknowlegement of the qualities you like about our hotel. Our renovations have been very successful thus far. I am glad you found our original room clean. I will have to say the items in your room are not indicative of anyother rooms. And I apologize for your inconvenience. We look forward to your return in one of our new rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    34
    31
    12
    5
See reviews for
49
50
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Indiana
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This place is a "must stay" if you're in the area! Friendly staff, clean room, beautiful pool area, great view, neat small bar, and one of the best breakfast buffets I've had in quite some time. And if you're into gambling, there's one less than a mile away! Enjoy!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnWV, General Manager at Comfort Inn Charleston WV, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We are proud to be one of the best kept hotes in the West Virginia Mountains. It was very nice of you to ackowledge our service and amenities as a tribute to our Great State.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carterville, Illinois
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The employees were very welcoming and friendly. The pool was clean and sunny with nice ambiance. The rooms were quiet and comfortable. The only thing was the bathroom fan was very noisy and it came on when the light was on. Not a big thing to complain about. We did get one of the remodeled rooms and it was clean and nice. The elevator should be working in one week, but that wasn't a big deal either since there are only two floors.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the remodeled rooms. The hotel is in the middle of a total makeover.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnWV, General Manager at Comfort Inn Charleston WV, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to serving your lodging needs in the future. The new rooms are spectaculary chic, glad you enjoyed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, California
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is an older hotel, that is no frills. If you really need a low cost hotel and can get this for a good price, then it is very acceptable. It is not much for comfort, but it has all of the basics, and nothing is horrible about it. It is just ok. I wouldn't stay here for a long time, but a night or two will be just fine. Check out the casino nearby, because it really is nice. The breakfast here was really good also, so definitely take advantage of that. This hotel needs a lot of updating, to take it to the next level, but then the prices would be higher, and it wouldn't attract the same crowd, which appears to be mostly a blue-collar laborer type. Overall, I would give this hotel a two star rating out of 5, so use that as your expectation guide.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnWV, General Manager at Comfort Inn Charleston WV, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Your comments are welcomed. Our public areas renovations are finished I can't wait til you see the new rooms. Come back to see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
intl falls, mn
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The two desk personnel, Cory and Moni, were vere helpful, accommodating, and friendly. We appreciated their gracious help. The rooms are very nicely decorated, spotlessly clean and quiet. The indoor and outdoor pool along with the workout room are very pleasant places to be. The attached bar and grill offers very reasonable drinks ($3 for a microbrew) and decent sandwiches. The setting offers a nice view of the hills, and the location, off the crazy I64 is convenient. A quite tasty full breakfast buffet was a nice touch. $79 seemed expensive, but you won't get a nicer place for that price. In fact, without a coupon this Comfort Inn is over $100.

The only negative was the spotty internet service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnWV, General Manager at Comfort Inn Charleston WV, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your remarks! You seemed to have taken full advantage of all of our amenties and we are happy your experience was one to brag about. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The fact is, this fairly large place is in dire need of renovation, but if you can overlook the broken elevator, long gloomy hallways, and smelly/ineffective air conditioning system, it does have good points: the staff is accommodating and welcoming, the breakfast is much better than average, the kids like the indoor pool, jocks like the better than average fitness center [though the treadmill was dead], and the nice touchpad entry system gives you a feeling of security. And, it's the closest hotel to the Mardi Gras Casino . . . and you can call a shuttle that will take you to and from the casino. It has a bar with food if that's of interest. Bottom line: sleep was hard to come by because the room was cold and clammy.

Room Tip: Choose a downstairs room if you have a lot of heavy luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnWV, General Manager at Comfort Inn Charleston WV, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Your comments are important to us. And we will use them to enhance our progress. Thank you for the good points. Our staff will appreciate your kind comments.

Our hotel is in the middle of a $1.5 million renovation. And we have strategically planned our upgrades so our guests will enjoy their stay without the hassle these changes can sometimes cause. We just finished a new lobby, a newly renovated breakfast area, our front public areas as well as a brand new front desk. And we have a projected date to complete more of our plans.

Good news! The treadmill was fixed the same day. As for the elevator, it is a brand new construction for us and should be completed in two weeks. We figured our the problem with the A/C and have since taken care of it. So, come back and give us another chance to show you a newer side of hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here because it was convenient to the casino. It is in need of major updating ( let me put it this way...decor was done in hunter green and burgundy...that goes back to the 1980's) The room was clean but felt dark and gloomy. Bed linens were thin and pillows need replacing. For $109 it's a place to stop in a pinch.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnWV, General Manager at Comfort Inn Charleston WV, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am excited to tell you that we are in the middle of a $1.5 million renovation. While our original rooms are nice and clean we have all of our rooms on scheule for a new decor rnovation. We have just completed a brand new lobby and elevator. Just two months ago we renovated our front desk, meeting room, and breakfast area. We also would love for you to return to stay in one of our completed newly remodeled rooms so you are able to be as excited as we are about their modern, chic decor. We pride ourselves on purchasing linen that is above the standard and I apologize that your linens were not up to par. It is comments like this that help us be more proactive in removing thin linens during our very busy season. Please check out our new rooms on Facebook. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Charleston WV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Charleston WV

Address: 102 Racer Drive, Cross Lanes, WV 25313
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Cross Lanes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cross Lanes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn Charleston WV 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to Mardi Gras Casino in Cross Lanes, WV near Charleston, WV, we offer a 100% non-smoking hotel with a shopping center, theater, dining and attractions. We have 137 rooms, a Large Tropical Indoor Pool with Waterfall, Spa, Sauna, an Outdoor Pool, plus Fitness Center, Business Center with three computers with High-Speed Internet, and don't forget the Lazy Dog Saloon just off our large lobby with fireplace. FREE BREAKFAST Featuring: fresh scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, flavored waffles, sausage gravy and biscuits, an assortment of donuts, bagels, pastries, cereal, yogurt, fruit, and juices. We also offer some unique services and features you may not find at every hotel, such as: Fully stocked Sundry Room, Guest Laundry, Picnic Area with grill ,Coffee Bar in Lobby - fresh coffee with cookies (24 hours). From the moment you arrive at Comfort Inn we want you to relax and feel at home. Our helpful staff is there to welcome you and fulfill even the unexpressed wishes and needs of our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Comfort Inn Charleston WV reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Charleston Wv Hotel Cross Lanes
Comfort Inn Cross Lanes
Cross Lanes Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Charleston WV, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.