We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average no frills hotel.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Charleston WV

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Charleston WV to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Charleston WV
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   102 Racer Drive, Cross Lanes, WV 25313   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Cross Lanes
Fontana, California
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Average no frills hotel.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is an older hotel, that is no frills. If you really need a low cost hotel and can get this for a good price, then it is very acceptable. It is not much for comfort, but it has all of the basics, and nothing is horrible about it. It is just ok. I wouldn't stay here for a long time, but a night or two will be just fine. Check out the casino nearby, because it really is nice. The breakfast here was really good also, so definitely take advantage of that. This hotel needs a lot of updating, to take it to the next level, but then the prices would be higher, and it wouldn't attract the same crowd, which appears to be mostly a blue-collar laborer type. Overall, I would give this hotel a two star rating out of 5, so use that as your expectation guide.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnWV, General Manager at Comfort Inn Charleston WV, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Your comments are welcomed. Our public areas renovations are finished I can't wait til you see the new rooms. Come back to see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    26
    27
    12
    5
See reviews for
43
41
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
intl falls, mn
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The two desk personnel, Cory and Moni, were vere helpful, accommodating, and friendly. We appreciated their gracious help. The rooms are very nicely decorated, spotlessly clean and quiet. The indoor and outdoor pool along with the workout room are very pleasant places to be. The attached bar and grill offers very reasonable drinks ($3 for a microbrew) and decent sandwiches. The setting offers a nice view of the hills, and the location, off the crazy I64 is convenient. A quite tasty full breakfast buffet was a nice touch. $79 seemed expensive, but you won't get a nicer place for that price. In fact, without a coupon this Comfort Inn is over $100.

The only negative was the spotty internet service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnWV, General Manager at Comfort Inn Charleston WV, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your remarks! You seemed to have taken full advantage of all of our amenties and we are happy your experience was one to brag about. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The fact is, this fairly large place is in dire need of renovation, but if you can overlook the broken elevator, long gloomy hallways, and smelly/ineffective air conditioning system, it does have good points: the staff is accommodating and welcoming, the breakfast is much better than average, the kids like the indoor pool, jocks like the better than average fitness center [though the treadmill was dead], and the nice touchpad entry system gives you a feeling of security. And, it's the closest hotel to the Mardi Gras Casino . . . and you can call a shuttle that will take you to and from the casino. It has a bar with food if that's of interest. Bottom line: sleep was hard to come by because the room was cold and clammy.

Room Tip: Choose a downstairs room if you have a lot of heavy luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnWV, General Manager at Comfort Inn Charleston WV, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Your comments are important to us. And we will use them to enhance our progress. Thank you for the good points. Our staff will appreciate your kind comments.

Our hotel is in the middle of a $1.5 million renovation. And we have strategically planned our upgrades so our guests will enjoy their stay without the hassle these changes can sometimes cause. We just finished a new lobby, a newly renovated breakfast area, our front public areas as well as a brand new front desk. And we have a projected date to complete more of our plans.

Good news! The treadmill was fixed the same day. As for the elevator, it is a brand new construction for us and should be completed in two weeks. We figured our the problem with the A/C and have since taken care of it. So, come back and give us another chance to show you a newer side of hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here because it was convenient to the casino. It is in need of major updating ( let me put it this way...decor was done in hunter green and burgundy...that goes back to the 1980's) The room was clean but felt dark and gloomy. Bed linens were thin and pillows need replacing. For $109 it's a place to stop in a pinch.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnWV, General Manager at Comfort Inn Charleston WV, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am excited to tell you that we are in the middle of a $1.5 million renovation. While our original rooms are nice and clean we have all of our rooms on scheule for a new decor rnovation. We have just completed a brand new lobby and elevator. Just two months ago we renovated our front desk, meeting room, and breakfast area. We also would love for you to return to stay in one of our completed newly remodeled rooms so you are able to be as excited as we are about their modern, chic decor. We pride ourselves on purchasing linen that is above the standard and I apologize that your linens were not up to par. It is comments like this that help us be more proactive in removing thin linens during our very busy season. Please check out our new rooms on Facebook. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
155 hotel reviews
Reviews in 141 cities Reviews in 141 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel a few different times over the last couple of years. Always nice stay and happy to know that the elevator will be finished this coming week so I don't have to panic to get a first floor room due to the amount of "stuff" I travel with LOL

The only thing that will discourage me from staying here again when in town is in the past they always had a variety of fresh Otis Spunkmeyer cookies and popcorn in the lobby when you arrived. For some unknown reason, they have stopped this feature and from talking to other guests and staff, I'm not the only one not happy by the change. Please bring both the cookies and popcorn back so my next stay will be perfect :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnWV, General Manager at Comfort Inn Charleston WV, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
We appreciate your loyalty to our property and we are proud to call guests like your "Ours". We did not realize the cookies and popcorn would be so missed. I will make sure we get the popcorn machine back and I will work on the Otis Spunkmeyer cookies. I loved them myself.;)))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich Square, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Good: Hot breakfast, Heated indoor pool, Clean rooms
Bad: Cold outdoor pool, A/C so-so, Long walk to pool
The breakfast was awesome. Eggs, bacon, sausage, etc. Two waffle makers made the wait short. The breakfast was maintained by two people who constantly restock food and beverages. The good definitely outweighed the bad. I mean a long walk to the pool was only a few hundred feet. It was heated, but not overly so. The outdoor pool was cool, but the kids still enjoyed it as well. It was a bit chilly for me, but I may have been spoiled from being in the heated one. The laundry room was next to my room which helped us and I never heard it. There is a mini-store at the front desk with candies and drinks that can be purchased 24 hours a day. Very friendly staff. It was my first visit to WV and I left quite happy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnWV, General Manager at Comfort Inn Charleston WV, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
A little Southern Hospitality we lik to call it. Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We are thrilled you enjoyed our tasty breakfast. Our in door and outdoor poos are kept at a heated temperature of 85 degrees. We'll check the outdoor. Thank you and come back to see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putnam COUnty
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

If you're looking for a great hotel with awesome service and the best manager (Cindy Bagwell) on the planet, PLEASE stay at the Cross Lanes Comfort Inn... I've stayed there MANY times and this hotel treats is guests like they are at a Hyatt! The indoor pool is great, and the seasonal outdoor pool is a great place for a tan and cool water.

Nearby is the Mardi-Gras Casino.... A Bob Evans, Fridays, Taco Bell and Wendy's, or you can order room-service food and eat at the pool or in your room... The hot breakfast can't be beat!!!

The rooms are clean and large!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnWV, General Manager at Comfort Inn Charleston WV, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. I appreciate you pointing our our room service for guest rooms and our pools. We are happy you enjoy your stays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Charleston WV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Charleston WV

Address: 102 Racer Drive, Cross Lanes, WV 25313
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Cross Lanes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Cross Lanes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn Charleston WV 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to Mardi Gras Casino in Cross Lanes, WV near Charleston, WV, we offer a 100% non-smoking hotel with a shopping center, theater, dining and attractions. We have 137 rooms, a Large Tropical Indoor Pool with Waterfall, Spa, Sauna, an Outdoor Pool, plus Fitness Center, Business Center with three computers with High-Speed Internet, and don't forget the Lazy Dog Saloon just off our large lobby with fireplace. FREE BREAKFAST Featuring: fresh scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, flavored waffles, sausage gravy and biscuits, an assortment of donuts, bagels, pastries, cereal, yogurt, fruit, and juices. We also offer some unique services and features you may not find at every hotel, such as: Fully stocked Sundry Room, Guest Laundry, Picnic Area with grill, Pet-Friendly Rooms (Based on Availability) ,Coffee Bar in Lobby - fresh coffee with cookies (24 hours). From the moment you arrive at Comfort Inn we want you to relax and feel at home. Our helpful staff is there to welcome you and fulfill even the unexpressed wishes and needs of our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn Charleston WV reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Charleston Wv Hotel Cross Lanes
Comfort Inn Cross Lanes
Cross Lanes Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Charleston WV, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.