We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, room needs updating” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Charleston WV

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Charleston WV to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Charleston WV
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   102 Racer Drive, Cross Lanes, WV 25313   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cross Lanes
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, Tennessee
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, room needs updating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The lobby was nice and Sharon the desk manager was great to work with. There was no elevator and hallways were long. The carpet and drapes were dark as was the bedspread and all needed to be updated. The dead bolt on the door didn't work. The breakfast area was busy but the women working it was friendly and keep it well stocked. I was not impressed with the old facility but it was clean and would do in a pinch.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnWV, General Manager at Comfort Inn Charleston WV, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for aknowledging the staff, they love what they do and it shows. We look forward to you returning to our property in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    34
    32
    12
    5
See reviews for
49
52
13
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My family just spent 8 days at the Comfort Inn at Charleston while my husband coached in the North/South All-Star game. It was very clean with an extremely friendly staff. Staying there by myself with two young children, I felt safe with the coded doors, personnel present, and well-lit parking lots. It is very centrally located and we were close to food and shopping. Both of the pools are in excellent condition and the entire place is well maintained. They are currently doing some renovations, which will make this hotel even better. I NEVER write reviews, however, this hotel deserves snaps for a more than job well done! I highly recommend this Comfort Inn if you are ever anywhere near!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnWV, General Manager at Comfort Inn Charleston WV, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to list the details of how we made your stay with us the Best. We appreciate the "Snaps" and look forward to making your future stays with us even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensburg, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Everyone at the hotel was very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. The hotel was very clean and convenient to restaurants and stores. The only thing that I didn't like was the free breakfast, it didn't have a good taste. Anyway it was free, right? The pool and spa are absolutely wonderful! We totally enjoyed the stay and plan to stay there again on our next visit.

Room Tip: We had an end room and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnWV, General Manager at Comfort Inn Charleston WV, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for your kind and constructivecomments. We look forward to seeing you upon your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

No elevator! One key card did not work and even when fixed you had to wiggle and jiggle to get the reader to work. Remote was broken and when replaced we had to reprogram it ourselves! Bed was uncomfortable. Coffee pot was disgusting. Had to wear socks because carpet was weirdly sticky. I could go on...and I won't go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnWV, General Manager at Comfort Inn Charleston WV, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We appreciate your willingness to do so because it let's us know what we are doing right and in this case what we can do to improve. We hope you will stay with us again to show you that your experience is not typical of how we wish to present our hotel. Again, Thank you and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Rooms were small and need updating, that being said, they were clean, just off the interstate, TGIF across the street, and two clean nice sized pools (indoor & outdoor) for the kids.
I would recommend for a stopover or if traveling with children and a pool is important.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnWV, General Manager at Comfort Inn Charleston WV, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on how clean our rooms are and the fact that you enjoyed the pools. We will have some of our newly renovated rooms available in just a few days. Please ask for one your next trip to our hotel. Our indoor and ourdoor pools will make kids from all over excited and we are happy your kids enjoyed them both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stopped here on a two day drive from Chicago to Raleigh with young kids. The whole family was very happy that we pushed the extra hour the first day so we could enjoy a final morning of vacation 'in Hawaii' before reaching home. My spouse was able to enjoy the saloon and let his eyes relax while I got the kids to sleep, and had the option of bringing me a relaxing beverage when he left. The next morning we enjoyed breakfast before heading to the pool. Breakfast was mostly hotel standard, but offered a choice of strawberry or blueberry waffle batter and the Peach Paradise in the juice machine was a nice touch of variety next to the usual apple/orange/cranberry.
The pool, however, is where this hotel really shines. Due to the weather, we did not even look for the outdoor pool, which staff say is also heated, but the indoor pool with the waterfall feature was wonderful. Kept about 80degrees, it's comparable to therapeutic pools with benches in the deep curves and has an amazing setting. The greenhouse-like structure features landscaping of palms for privacy along the outside walls and a gorgeous mural covering the whole of the wall into the hotel proper. Everything was very clean without any obvious chlorine smells. The hot tub was also kept at a moderate temperature, so kids could sit on the steps while I took a break. Mine really felt they were 'in Hawaii'.
Staff was also very friendly and helpful everywhere. We saw a minor repair of some tile in one hallway, and they apologized for the awkwardness while making kids smile as we passed by. Fifteen minutes later, they were done with more cheer for the kids.
We will definitely be making reservations ahead on future trips rather than 'stopping when tired'.

Room Tip: The ice machines were very loud as we went by them-try to avoid being put in adjacent rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnWV, General Manager at Comfort Inn Charleston WV, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing the details of your enjoyment while staying with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon. =)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

My husband and I need a place to stay on a long drive and opted for this hotel. The lobby and dining area are beautiful but the rest of the hotel is a bit dated. Since they are remodeling, I assume that the rooms will also be updated. That said, I have zero complaints about the staff, the cleanliness of the room, or much of anything. I gave the hotel a 4 star rating since it is not a hotel that I would recommend for a nice weekend away but it was very nice for a stopover. The hotel does have an enclosed pool area with palm trees (which would be great for kids) and serves a typical hot breakfast (eggs, meat, toast, pastries, waffles) that was fine if you need to get on the road.

Room Tip: Don't be fooled if your room description says mountain view. You can see a part of the mountain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnWV, General Manager at Comfort Inn Charleston WV, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We appreciate your business and look forward to reserving you one of our newly renovated rooms in the very near future. See you next trip! =)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Comfort Inn Charleston WV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Charleston WV

Address: 102 Racer Drive, Cross Lanes, WV 25313
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Cross Lanes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cross Lanes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn Charleston WV 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to Mardi Gras Casino in Cross Lanes, WV near Charleston, WV, we offer a 100% non-smoking hotel with a shopping center, theater, dining and attractions. We have 137 rooms, a Large Tropical Indoor Pool with Waterfall, Spa, Sauna, an Outdoor Pool, plus Fitness Center, Business Center with three computers with High-Speed Internet, and don't forget the Lazy Dog Saloon just off our large lobby with fireplace. FREE BREAKFAST Featuring: fresh scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, flavored waffles, sausage gravy and biscuits, an assortment of donuts, bagels, pastries, cereal, yogurt, fruit, and juices. We also offer some unique services and features you may not find at every hotel, such as: Fully stocked Sundry Room, Guest Laundry, Picnic Area with grill ,Coffee Bar in Lobby - fresh coffee with cookies (24 hours). From the moment you arrive at Comfort Inn we want you to relax and feel at home. Our helpful staff is there to welcome you and fulfill even the unexpressed wishes and needs of our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Comfort Inn Charleston WV reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Charleston Wv Hotel Cross Lanes
Comfort Inn Cross Lanes
Cross Lanes Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Charleston WV, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.