We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Wonder Bar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wonder Bar Steakhouse

The Wonder Bar Steakhouse
Wonderbar Road, Clarksburg, WV 26301
304-622-1451
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 65 restaurants in Clarksburg
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Glenville, West Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Wonder Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We have been going to the Wonder Bar for 25 years. It has changed ownership recently and we were concerned that the great food and service would change. Not to worry! We didn't know they were taking reservations now as the previous owners didn't, so when we went the past Saturday night we didnt have a reservation. Susie, the hostess, said not to worry they would get us in and she did so quickly. The food and service is still excellent and the bar staff is friendly and efficient. They make you feel like "this is home and we want you here".

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel W, Owner at The Wonder Bar Steakhouse, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
We want each and every one of our customers to feel "at home" at The Wonder Bar Steakhouse and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your evening with us. Susie is a great member of our team and glad to hear she took care of you. We don't require reservations however we do encourage customers to call and make them ahead of time if possible. Thank you again and hope to see you in the future at The Wonder Bar Steakhouse!

All the best,
Daniel Watts
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    40
    9
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Steakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

The Wonder Bar is the go-to restaurant for my husband and I for special occasions. The red carpeted walls are nostalgic and the 60's Hollywood stars on the wall indicates the special service and attention to detail that awaits. The steaks are fantastic, the house wine superb. My husband and I want there while dating, and they always put us at a table for two in a corner, most romantic. They are a little pricy, but you don't get this kind of service anymore. I recommend it highly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel W, Owner at The Wonder Bar Steakhouse, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
We greatly appreciate your patronage to The Wonder Bar Steakhouse and look forward to your next visit.

All the best!
Danny Watts
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Steak Located Here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I ordered the filet medium and it was cooked to perfection. Tender, juicy, and flavorful. The wait staff was excellent. A little pricey but you definitely get what your pay for. Wonder Bar has been around for decades and there's a reason - great food! Perhaps a little hard to find for the traveler but worth it. If you like steak you have to go here.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel W, Owner at The Wonder Bar Steakhouse, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and our staff appreciates your comments. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

All the best!

Danny Watts
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksburg, WV
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Steaks In Town!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

The Wonder Bar definitely has the best steaks in the area. The atmosphere is old school....red carpet on the floors and walls. The same decor they have had for as long as I can remember. Some people hate the carpet on the walls, but it is how all locals know The Wonder Bar. Their steaks are cooked perfectly, they are so tender and juicy. All of their appetizers are wonderful, Mom's Hot Peppers as a side, are a must with your steak and The Wonder Bar's lobster tail is one of the best I have ever eaten...ANYWHERE! I have had one other filet that could even closely compete with The Wonder Bar and that was at The Jerry West Steakhouse at The Greenbrier. It is definitely my favorite restaurant in the Clarksburg and surrounding area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, NC
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“High on a hill, great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The steaks here are first rate, service efficient. The whole meal from drinks to appetizers to steaks to dessert was absolutely great!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wonder Bar Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to The Wonder Bar Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wonder Bar Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.