We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and Free” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grande Hotel At Mountaineer

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Grande Hotel At Mountaineer
Save
You added The Grande Hotel At Mountaineer to your Saves list
Route 2, Chester, WV 26034   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chester
Poland, Ohio
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good and Free”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Came home today after my one night free stay. Some of the reviews complain about housekeeping and terrible smoke. I thought for sure that was going to be an issue for me, my suitcase resembled Molly Maid equipment bag, instead of a gambler! My room was on the first floor near the resturant , only room they had was smoking. I was pleasantly surprized not to have any smoke smell. Room was worn but very clean,carpet was new,bathroom old but again clean. I only play slots, I had $55 dollars on both days, from my player card,used it up quickly, had some fun but; in the room by 9pm. Today started no better, than BAM! I came home at 1pm with $760. So remember not everything you read will be true for you. Go and have a good time, I can hardly wait for more promotions.

Room Tip: rooms on ground floor are more than okay, they are quiet good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, Director of Hotel Operations at The Grande Hotel At Mountaineer, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Patty,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We apreciate the feedback. I will pass on your comments regarding the housekeeping department to our housekeeping manager. I also wanted to let you know that we are planning to begin hotel room renovations later this year. Congratulations as well on going home a winner. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks again for the positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    36
    21
    10
    6
See reviews for
13
45
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

The room was nice. Make sure you book your stay in the tower if you want internet. The lodge is very dated and somewhat dirty. The indoor pool needs better ventilation the fumes from chlorine burn your eyes just sitting by it. The water you would think would be clean first thing in the morning but it wasn't. Bugs floating in the pool and no clean towels to be found. Overall was an ok overnight stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, Director of Hotel Operations at The Grande Hotel At Mountaineer, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dave,

Thank you for taking the time to post. We appreciate the feedback. We are working toward Wi-Fi being available throughout the casino, including the lodge. We are also planning to begin hotel room renovations later this year. I will pass along your comments regarding the indoor pool to our maintenance team. Thanks again for the post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Wife and I took our grandaughter to mt. They did the spa while I played. They had a fine time. After the wife hit the slots while we swam.. indoor and outdoor. Later we went and played the horses. This has become our favorite place to play and will be coming back next month.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, Director of Hotel Operations at The Grande Hotel At Mountaineer, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
DB,

Thanks for the positive review. We are happy to hear that you had a good time and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barberton, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Very nice hotel. Rooms are very nice as are the beds.Well kept. The only problem is the smell of smoke is very bad. New ventilation is needed to keep smoke from casino out. But over all good bang for your buck

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, Director of Hotel Operations at The Grande Hotel At Mountaineer, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Debbie,

We appreciate the kind words regarding the hotel. We have made upgrades to our ventilation system and will continue to do so. We are also planning to begin hotel room renovations later this year. Thank you for the feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We were there in April and July and have reservations for August. We treat ourselves for birthdays and holidays. We are going to try the lodge because our family from Columbus is meeting us and we thought we could be together on the first floor by the pool my brother in law needs a wheel chair. I booked 4 rooms we should have a great time. We love the breakfast in the upstairs restaurant. Always have a really fun time at the Mointaineer I go to Presque Isle in Erie almost every day and tell every one about Mountaineer.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, Director of Hotel Operations at The Grande Hotel At Mountaineer, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thanks for the positive review. Although the first floor is a popular request, we will do our best to accommodate you. We appreciate your feedback and your telling your friends about us. We look forward to seeing you in August.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stay and gamble at Mountaineer casino and resort about once a month. We always find the experience pleasurable, even if we don't win, but a lot of the times we do win. From the time we check in ( the ladies at check in are always delightful and positive), to time we leave we feel welcome and comfortable. The bartenders, the dealers, the slot attendants are helpful and polite and professional. During our last visit we had the pleasure of meeting the slots manager, Jason Pugh (I made a point of getting his name) as he was so nice and up-beat. Thanks Jason.

The rooms are always clean and comfortable, never had a problem.

Thanks to all the employees at Mountaineer. We travel and gamble somewhat, and for sure Mountaineer is our favorite.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, Director of Hotel Operations at The Grande Hotel At Mountaineer, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Timothy,

Thanks for the positive review and for all of the kind words about our team members. I will make sure that I pass them along. I also spoke to Jason and let him know that you mentioned him by name. Thanks again for the positive feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Went to the Grand Hotel at Mountaineer for a weekend with 3 other friends. Was not looking forward to a smokey room but was pleasantly surprised. Not a trace of smoke smell in our room. Room was clean and beds were very comfortable. Casino and lobby were very smokey but once in nonsmoking section of casino, all was well. Great breakfast at the restaurant also.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, Director of Hotel Operations at The Grande Hotel At Mountaineer, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thanks for the positive review. I will pass along the comments regarding the breakfast to our food and beverage director. We appreciate the feedback and look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grande Hotel At Mountaineer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grande Hotel At Mountaineer

Address: Route 2, Chester, WV 26034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The upscale, five-story tower adds 258 rooms, including 20 suites, to Mountaineer's 101-room wing. Check In: 4:00 pm Check Out: 11:00 am ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grande Hotel At Mountaineer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.