We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smoke and broken water line” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grande Hotel At Mountaineer

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Grande Hotel At Mountaineer
Route 2, Chester, WV 26034   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Chester
Uniontown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Smoke and broken water line”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We go every year for a few days. Spa was closed due to water break,ohh well, gym closed also,was unable to shower and flush toilets but had the pleasure of just having the time with my good friend of 30 years. We will be back! We know the non smokey paths around the casino! But perhaps ventilation needs updated

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, Director of Hotel Operations at The Grande Hotel At Mountaineer, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Though the water main break was something beyond our control, I certainly apologize for the experience. I am happy to hear that you still had a good time in the casino and that you will return. Hopefully, the next visit ill be even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    31
    15
    6
    4
See reviews for
6
31
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
pittsburgh, pa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

After reading the latest reviews, I was hesitant going here for a much needed overnight mini vacation. Although we were booked in the lodge, it was wonderful. Just a 1 hour trip to WVA, it was a great trip. The room was dated but very clean. The staff at the hotel & casino were awesome. Everyone was friendly & welcoming. We did not run into 1 staff member that was rude, as a matter of fact, everyone was sweet & helpful. A sweet hello was given by everyone. Good luck & have a great day was the norm.

The food was great & reasonable. We had a great time. Of course, we lost our money. But when one travels on this type of trip. You go in for the fun, not expecting to win. We played though & that's all we asked. I believe that that the past reviews were harsh & we enjoyed ourselves. We stopped at the Fiesta plant on the way out & a farmers market, Janoski's on the way home. All in all, a 24 hour trip was enjoyable.

In the past, I have made use of the spa & found that too, pleasant & clean. The hotel does leave a discount coupon in the room to make the services reasonable. Go & have fun!

Room Tip: In the summer, book the lodge near the pool. In inclimate weather, book the tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, Director of Hotel Operations at The Grande Hotel At Mountaineer, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for the review! We appreciate the feedback and are happy that you had a good time. I also wanted to let you know that we are planning to start our hotel room renovations later this year.

Thanks again for the positive review. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

My mom and I just went to mountaineer for a quick over night trip this week. We enjoyed the outdoor pool in the morning, it was a very nice amenity to the hotel. Later we went up to our hotel room to get cleaned up. Our non smoking room smelled horrible of smoke because the people in the rooms beside us were smoking. It was a nice room though. Especially with it being complimentary. After we showered we went down to Gatsbys and ate some dinner quick. We aren't too crazy about buffets but I think next time we will choose that or the steak house. The waitress had too many tables to give good service and was very short and unfriendly. After dinner we went to the casino. The attendant at the door made a huge production checking my ID (I'm 30) and acted as he was on a power trip, he even made me wear a bracelet. He was rude...like I said, I'm 30, I'm not wearing your wristband. After dealing with that jerk we went and gambled. I thoroughly enjoyed the slots. It was smokey but it's West Virginia, I expected it. We had a great night, stayed up late had a late night snack, didn't get back to our room until after 3. The casino was not clean but the attendants were doing the best the can. It's clear that the casino won't hire enough staff to keep things clean enough. The bathrooms weren't unacceptable but certainly were nothing to be proud of. The next morning we went back down to gamble and the computers were down so we were unable to access our free play. That was certainly an inconvenience. The ladies at the desk were saying they were down for 20 minutes. Later a slot host shrugged his shoulders and said they had been down since 4am. Nobody apologized, nobody was accommodating and they didn't even have the proper information. This was very unprofessional. We made the trip because we were given this incentive. Mountaineer was unable to hold up their end of the deal. Frustrated, we decided to leave. As we were leaving the valet watched my mom and I struggle to get our bags in the trunk yet he stood there waiting for his tip. My over all revaluation is that the staff at mountaineer does not welcome you and treat you as a guest. The workers are just doing the bare minimum to get their jobs done and nothing more. It would be nice to see the staff smile, be helpful and have better manners. I don't need to be treated like a queen but some nice treatment goes a long way and that is truly something that can make or break the over all experience. We will be back but it's sad for your casino to see these minor things go unnoticed by managers. Your staff is only as good as they are taught.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, Director of Hotel Operations at The Grande Hotel At Mountaineer, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Kelly,
I appreciate your posting and for the feedback. I am happy that you had a good time overall. I also wanted to let you know that I have forwarded your comments to the department heads of the areas you mentioned as well as our human resources director. We will use your comments and suggestions to improve the overall experience for our guests at Mountaineer.

I assure you that we will make every effort to improve the areas that you mentioned. Thank you again for posting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I spent a Thursday night in a tower room. The room was very nice and larger than the normal hotel room. The room had a refrigerator and safe and was very clean. My wife and I were impressed. I agree with some of the other comments that although we were on a non smoking floor, the smoke still filtered into the room. We ordered room service for breakfast and it was good and reasonably priced. My only complaint is that the water pressure in the shower is weak, but overall we really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, Director of Hotel Operations at The Grande Hotel At Mountaineer, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
David,

Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We really appreciate the feedback. I will forward your comments regarding the water pressure to our facilities director so he can make sure everything is working as it should. I was also pleased to hear that you enjoyed the room. We are planning to start our hotel room renovations later this year to make them even nicer and more comfortable than they are now.

Thanks again for the feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed overnight with my hubby as we just needed a night away from our busy schedule. Our non smoking room had great ventilation and so was our hallway. In the room we stayed at was decent. No complains there. We ordered room service for breakfast and ordered steak and eggs. Got a call from a lady saying that since we paid cash for our room that night our credit card on file was deleted. When food arrived it was cold and the steak was overdone. I hate to complain so I didn't and ate it. I strongly suggest that the Spa brochure have prices on it. I understand that it's a hotel and casino and people come in to spend money but because of the economy people are also watching how much they spend. Overall: I really enjoyed just getting away. As a previous restaurant owner I understand how hectic a kitchen could be. I recommend staying here even if you don't gamble.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, Director of Hotel Operations at The Grande Hotel At Mountaineer, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Maria,
Thank you for taking the time to post. We certainly appreciate the feedback. It is true that many of our guests prefer to leave a cash deposit in lieu of leaving a credit card so we normally remove the card that was given at the time of booking to avoid any charges inadvertently being posted to it.

Our spa brochure also includes a rate card insert. It was evidently missing from the brochure that you were given. I certainly apologize for that.

Thank you again for the post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We just got back from a quick overnight stay at Mountaineer. We went with 2 other couples to celebrate a birthday. The hotel is very nice but it is so smokey, the lobby is almost a haze of smoke coming from the casino. We had a non smoking room on a non smoking floor, however, the floor above and below are smoking floors. Also, the casino is smoking, so you can't avoid it. The rooms are lovely, very spacious and clean But the smoke filters up. The room just had a mild stale smoke smell, that seemed to get stronger through out the night. The amenities in the room are nice; small fridge with a coffee bar area. The resort has a lovely spa, great indoor pool and of course, the casino. The room we had overlooked the race track, so in the morning you can watch the ponies practicing. I would give this hotel more stars if it wasn't for the smoke. A big plus is that the hotel is attached to the casino. If West Virginia ever goes non smoking, like Ohio, we would be here much more frequently! The restaurants are very nice too! The steak house is fantastic and the Gatsby Restaurant is good for breakfast.

Room Tip: If smoke bothers you, get on a non smoking floor away from the elevators. (the smoke filters up thro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, Dir. of Hotel Operations at The Grande Hotel At Mountaineer, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
I appreciate the review and the kind words about the hotel and our amenities. Although we are a smoking facility, we are in the process of updating our HVAC and smoke elimination systems to try to make the gaming floor more non-smoker friendly. We also have plans for to begin our hotel room renovations later this year. We will be adding approximately 170 new slot machines this year as well as continuing the gaming floor remodel including bathrooms and our center bar.

Thanks again for the review. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

When 80% of American adults are non- smokers you would think an adult entertainment business would give more thought to thabt segment of the population. Mountaineer's ventilation is terrible and their non-smoking section is tiny with no table games. With Ohio casinos now open and non-smoking by law, I will be breathing easy in Ohio until Mountaineer sees the light through its smoke filled room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, Director of Hotel Operations at The Grande Hotel At Mountaineer, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for the feedback. We recently upgraded our ventialtion system and added smoke eaters to the entire casino. Hopefully, you notice a difference the next time you visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chester hotels

Been to The Grande Hotel At Mountaineer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grande Hotel At Mountaineer

Address: Route 2, Chester, WV 26034
Location: United States > West Virginia > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The upscale, five-story tower adds 258 rooms, including 20 suites, to Mountaineer's 101-room wing. Check In: 4:00 pm Check Out: 11:00 am ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grande Hotel At Mountaineer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Grande Hotel At Mountaineer to your Saves list