We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brass Pineapple Inn

Save Saved
You added Brass Pineapple Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Brass Pineapple Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1611 Virginia St. East, Charleston, WV 25311   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Charleston B&B and Inns
Athens, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Room was great. Comfortable bed, nice sitting area and TV. The house was nicely decorated with antiques and paintings. Afternoon tea and breakfast was excellent. Very gracious hostess. Close to Capital and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    7
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
7
33
5
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blacksburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The house is beautiful, the food is outstanding, the owner was so nice. Felt right at home. I didn't want to leave. I would definitely recommend this B&B to all my friends and family.
Thanks Lisa for a great time!
Wendy

Room Tip: Don't miss the tea time. Desserts, teas, coffee, wine, snacks, juices. All outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Based on the website, this seemed like the perfect stop-over between Washington DC and Louisville for a relaxing, romantic stay with my fiance. The rates seemed on the high-end for West Virginia, but the added luxory and hospitality of this B&B seemed well worth it. Overall, the trip advisor comments seemed to support that this was the place for us, but I was a little aprehensive based on a few reviews... ultimately, those were the ones I should have listened to.

We arrived to an awkward-borderline-rude greeting from the owner, and from the beginning, never really felt welcome there. The house is old and historic with lots of beautiful details, and certainly has some quirks that really give it character, but it also seems to have an identity crisis between an 18th century victorian mansion and cluttered yard sale. Like the house itself, our room managed to be both comfortable and uncomfortable at the same time - clean, dark, elegant, cramped, ornate, outdated. The location is in a nice neighborhood, just a block away from a great restaurant (blue grass kitchen) and the capitol building, which kept us plenty entertained. Tea time snacks and breakfast were very good. We requested vegetarian breakfast in our reservation, which was missed, but we didn't say anything because at that point it seemed like the owner had warmed-up to us and we didn't want to make any waves. We hung around a little while after breakfast to explore the capitol complex, but were glad to check-out. We won't be back.

The Brass Pineapple experience is like staying at your grandmother's house for the same price as a higher-end hotel. We just felt on-edge the whole time, and didn't enjoy it. However, there seem to be some loyal fans of this place, so to each their own.

Room Tip: Stay at one of the nice brand-name hotels in the city center and drive the few miles to see the capi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Have stayed in B&B's throughout U.S. & Canada. This was the worst experience by far. 3rd floor room had water damage throughout. Smelled musty and 2nd room was too hot to sleep in. Owner Lisa was inaccessible and rude. Asked "what do you want me to do about it" when we were unable to get the water warm to take a shower! Then proceeded to text me nonstop when I had told her we were going to dinner. The text described her personal issues that were clearly overwhelming her. While i feel badly, she ruined both my evening and my stay, very unprofessional and she should have let Marsha handle things during this time.
The first night we had a smoke detector battery beeping and she acted like it was a big inconvenience to come and fix it. The other family staying on the floor was disturbed by the constant beep as well.
I could go on but the bottom line is I would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We are fairly frequent guests here -- it is between our home in Virginia and family in Kentucky. The rooms are great, the public areas a lot of fun, and the food is marvelous. Lisa provides a full breakfast, of course, but also has snacks, desserts, drinks, cheese trays, and an open refrigerator. She made calls for us for dinner and gave us a lead to a musical show; both dinner and show were within easy walking distance. This time, one of us fell ill, so Lisa not only provided bed and food, but played nurse. You can't beat the accommodations or the service.

Room Tip: Our room was on the front, but there was no noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We had a great time here - Lisa, the Innkeeper is a lovely, vibrant engaging woman who can cook! She provides home baked, home cooked snacks and breakfast, coffee, tea and an assortment of juices. We connected with other guests and really enjoyed ourselves. The location is great, a few blocks from the capitol and the river with plenty of good restaurants w/in walking distance. But...it's time to apply some elbow grease, time for it to be refreshed, cleaned up, repaired and painted, or at least spot painted. The pictures on the web-site are fairly misleading.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elyria, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was a last minute weekend getaway. The Brass Pineapple was then perfect place. Clean, quiet, and the meals were wonderful. We will be returning for more future weekend getaways. The location was close to main highways, and about 10 minute drives to Cabelas, and Mardi Gras casino.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brass Pineapple Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brass Pineapple Inn

Address: 1611 Virginia St. East, Charleston, WV 25311
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brass Pineapple Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brass Pineapple Inn-Historic Stately Accommodations with Modern Amenities. Rooms have 12 foot ceilings, beautiful lighting, sturdy wood beds, private bathrooms. Breakfast Included with Room Rate. Meals and Room Service Available. Award winning accommodations. Guests include Good Morning America, Arts & Entertainment Television, PBS, Mountain Stage, Delloitte & Touche, MeadWestvaco, Bayer, Toyota, Producers from Oprah Winfrey Network. Conveniently located only 3 blocks from I-77/I-64, 3 Miles from Yeager Airport, 1/2 Block from State Capitol Complex, 1 Mile from Downtown, 3/4 Mile from Clay Center, 1.5 Miles from Civic Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Venere so you can book your Brass Pineapple Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brass Pineapple Bed And Breakfast
Brass Pineapple Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brass Pineapple Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.