We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Host Inn Charleston

Save Saved
You added Budget Host Inn Charleston to your Saves list
Budget Host Inn Charleston
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Budget Host Inn Charleston
3313 East Kanawha Boulevard, Charleston, WV 25306   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 23 hotels in Charleston
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed here twice enroute to the OBX of North Carolina, first night of the trip, and last night of the trip. First stay was in room 16, which was very clean and comfortable, but with an ill-fitting door that required slamming in order to close. The bathroom was especially nice for an old-style motel, with updated hardware and even had a "comfort height" toilet. For some reason, there was no coffee offered in the lobby that morning. The second night was in room 17, right next door. It was also quite clean (except for that brown spot under the toilet rim, that the maid must not have seen) and it also had an ill-fitting door that required slamming and the "carpet" trim was missing on the front wall, which made it look a bit shabby. Both rooms could use a lamp in the area at the back of the room where the table and chairs are placed, as it was difficult to see back there and all the lighting in the sleeping area seemed rather dim. There was coffee in the lobby on the second stay. The staff I encountered (owners,I presumed) were courteous and professional, but not what I would call friendly.
Overall, if you are on a budget, and just need a pillow for your head, this is a good place to go.

Room Tip: Rooms on the river side are probably quieter. Experienced some traffic noise on the road side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    5
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
5
6
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I called the Budget Host Inn in Charleston, WV to make sure if I made a reservation online my daughter and friend could stay there that night. They were travelling and needed to rest and give their car a rest. I wanted to pay for the stay with my credit card, and when I asked the Indian sounding man if there would be a problem with me paying online for the room and letting them stay there, he told me several times I could not do that. He wanted me credit card info. When I said I could book the room online because I had all the info filled out and was ready to confirm it, and he again told me I could not do that. I said I don't want to give our my credit card info and he told me he would not give it to them (my daughter and friend). I told him I did not want to give it to HIM. I asked him if I made the reservation online would he allow them to stay there, and he told me "NO". So, I made a reservation online with Motel 6 in the area, called them before I completed the online reservation and asked the same question, and they said it was no problem as long as they had the confirmation number and driver's license, which they did. Thank you Motel 6.

Room Tip: I, nor my daughter, did not stay here.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I stayed here because of the low price and fairly decent reviews. Big mistake. There were ants all over the room and even on my pillow. There was a gap under the window with no carpeting which might be where they were coming from. Even though there were four of us in a double room, there were only two sets of towels. I called the front desk to ask for more towels, and the owner told me to come and get them. (Nice.) It was raining at the time, so needless to say the towels (and me) were damp. I asked the owner why there were only two sets of towels for four of us, and he said "motel policy". I don't know if he means Budget Host’s policy, or just his motel. I asked about breakfast, and he told me there was coffee at 7:00. I stopped by the office the next morning at 7:30, and there was no coffee anywhere. I asked the owner, and he told me very clearly that "coffee is at 7:00!". OK. The bathroom had an open pipe sticking out of the wall under the sink -- I hope nothing crawls out of there. The motel is just off an exit ramp, so it is difficult to get to from certain directions. It's also difficult to get back on the highway depending on which way you are headed.

Room Tip: Rooms either face the Interstate or the river -- ask for a river view (if you must stay here).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised at every turn about this little motel. Pete was very nice and so helpful! And the motel office had such a wonderful fragrance! My room faced the river which eliminated most traffic sounds. They have a lovely little porch that overlooks the river where you can sit and meditate. The room was very clean and the bed was pleasantly comfortable. I enjoyed my stay immensely! I plan to return very soon.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Average priced and very small motel. Location somewhat outside of Charleston, but close to I 77 and overlooks a river. No frills, room was small and could use an update, but it was very clean. Great place for a one night stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Very friendly and nice staff. It was a wonderful price for the room, and had a beautiful look over the river. It was a good distance away from Charleston, and the room was clean and had everything we needed. We would stay again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia beach
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

stayed here while in town for a charleston wv minor league game and had a room facing the river and it was nice. room was clean and had a good selection of channels on the tv. close to downtown. rained out the game but it was nice sleeping weather. expect no frills.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Budget Host Inn Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Inn Charleston

Address: 3313 East Kanawha Boulevard, Charleston, WV 25306
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Budget Host Inn Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Inn Charleston Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Host Inn Charleston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.