We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a one nighter” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Host Inn Charleston

Save Saved
You added Budget Host Inn Charleston to your Saves list
Budget Host Inn Charleston
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Budget Host Inn Charleston
3313 East Kanawha Boulevard, Charleston, WV 25306   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 23 hotels in Charleston
Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great for a one nighter”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Average priced and very small motel. Location somewhat outside of Charleston, but close to I 77 and overlooks a river. No frills, room was small and could use an update, but it was very clean. Great place for a one night stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    8
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
5
6
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Very friendly and nice staff. It was a wonderful price for the room, and had a beautiful look over the river. It was a good distance away from Charleston, and the room was clean and had everything we needed. We would stay again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia beach
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

stayed here while in town for a charleston wv minor league game and had a room facing the river and it was nice. room was clean and had a good selection of channels on the tv. close to downtown. rained out the game but it was nice sleeping weather. expect no frills.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisburg, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

A perfect no frills place to sleep. Ask for a room facing the river and wake up to birds singing and fantastic scenery. Room smells smokey. Water fluctuates in temp. No frills. Three steps to the parking space. Free wifi. For the price I could stay two nights for the price of one. For my tastes ... Wifi ... Easy in n out ... Very quiet ... Incredible nature views ... Great sleep ... This is a perfect place to stay and a bargain to boot.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Orchard Beach, Maine
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

On the lower end of our typical hotel choices (which are pretty low end :)), but it was a great value! It was a hotel with NO frills, but was clean, convenient, and cheap. It's a 10-15 min drive from downtown Charleston, where we had dinner. I probably wouldn't stay at this hotel alone or as a vacation base, but it was fine for our purposes.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My husband and I spent 2 nights in this motel on our stay in Charleston. The premises were well maintained, the staff very friendly, the room very clean, only the matress was very hard. The only downfall was that a family with kids stayed next door and the kids were screaming and banging in that room until 2:00am in the morning and were awake and screaming again by 7:00am in front of our door. But this is more the parents responsibility and not the motel. Otherwise the river view was very pretty and we experienced also a thunderstorm with dollar size hail coming out of nowhere. All in all it was a adventures stay. For staying only a couple nights, I refer this motel to everyone with a low budget.

Room Tip: Take a room with the river view. Also make sure you don't have a family with more than one kid n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boiling Springs, South Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our visit to Charleston last weekend. Very impressed with the cleanliness, quietness and comfort of our room and bath, not to mention the view of the Kanawha River. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The room price was very, very attractive and appreciated. Liked it so much, we've made reservations to stay here in September when we travel back from South Carolina for a family reunion. So, the Inn may not have all of the amenities like your high dollar lodgings, but who cares???? It's safe, comfortable and clean. Biscuits and pizza are within a stone's throw. Thanks, Budget Host Inn of Charleston WV.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Budget Host Inn Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Inn Charleston

Address: 3313 East Kanawha Boulevard, Charleston, WV 25306
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Budget Host Inn Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Inn Charleston Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Host Inn Charleston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.