We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Host Inn Charleston

Save Saved
You added Budget Host Inn Charleston to your Saves list
Budget Host Inn Charleston
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Budget Host Inn Charleston
3313 East Kanawha Boulevard, Charleston, WV 25306   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 23 hotels in Charleston
Boiling Springs, South Carolina, United States
1 review
“Pleasantly surprised.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our visit to Charleston last weekend. Very impressed with the cleanliness, quietness and comfort of our room and bath, not to mention the view of the Kanawha River. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The room price was very, very attractive and appreciated. Liked it so much, we've made reservations to stay here in September when we travel back from South Carolina for a family reunion. So, the Inn may not have all of the amenities like your high dollar lodgings, but who cares???? It's safe, comfortable and clean. Biscuits and pizza are within a stone's throw. Thanks, Budget Host Inn of Charleston WV.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    5
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
5
6
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We staying in two Budget Host Inns on our trip to Myrtle Beach (there and back), both were chosen because of reviews on Tripadvisor. I've got to say, I was so impressed by the value of both properties. For stopovers, especially with an infant, all you want is something clean and affordable and this is what you will get. Immaculate rooms. The Charleston property also has a nice view of the river and mountains. The owner of Charleston BHI wasn't as friendly as his peer down in Wytheville, but still obviously cares about his business and maintaining his property for his customers. The only thing I would say that was a minor inconvenience, would be the big production it is to get to the main strip where all the restaurants and gas stations are, at least according to Google maps.

Room Tip: The river view is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Great budget motel close to interstate travels and clean safe rooms. hot water and small fridge in rooms. helpful staff and room maid nice too. loved stay definitely will be back!! king beds available and ask for river view if you like tugs and barges. you can't go wrong here. Spotless clean room and bath, too.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I are staying at this hotel and even with changing rooms found this place to be very clean with a river view that is simply beautiful! And the tugboats going by are an added plus The staff here go out of their way to make your stay nice. Clean towels and beds. Cameras around the property for safety. And the parking lot and grounds kept neat and trash free. We would highly recommend this hotel. And will continue to stay here as long as the job requires. You won't find a better value anywhere else in Charleston.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This little inn is clean, inexpensive, and you get a view of the water traffic on the Kanawa River to boot (ask for a waterfront room). All of the rooms have been remodled. The television has a good number channels and reception is clear. The hot water is hot and instant with good pressure. The rooms have refigerators. The Anchor Inn bar and restaurant is next door.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Motel is right on the river, you could fish from your room! Room was clean and smelled good. There is an attached restaurant / bar. Home made food was real good, folks are nice. We travel 77 from MI to Fl several times a year this is the first time I have felt compelled to write a motel review. Even my wife thought it was good! I'm not giving it 5 stars as compared to a high priced hotel but for what it is we are going to keep this one in mind on our next trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the river side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We also stayed here during the power outage. We didn't pay the high price like you though. Our online rate was around $50. The manager did not handle things appropriately, i agree. However they were nice enough people. It wasn't his fault that the power went out. We slept with the window open since we had no A/C. seemed like a safe area. It is next to a busy road that is noisy though. The rooms have a microwave and fridge.

Room Tip: get far away from the road if that is possible. The road is noisy/busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Budget Host Inn Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Inn Charleston

Address: 3313 East Kanawha Boulevard, Charleston, WV 25306
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Budget Host Inn Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Inn Charleston Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Host Inn Charleston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.