We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Stop for the Money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Host Inn Charleston

Save Saved
You added Budget Host Inn Charleston to your Saves list
Budget Host Inn Charleston
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Budget Host Inn Charleston
3313 East Kanawha Boulevard, Charleston, WV 25306   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 23 hotels in Charleston
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Stop for the Money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This little inn is clean, inexpensive, and you get a view of the water traffic on the Kanawa River to boot (ask for a waterfront room). All of the rooms have been remodled. The television has a good number channels and reception is clear. The hot water is hot and instant with good pressure. The rooms have refigerators. The Anchor Inn bar and restaurant is next door.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    8
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
5
6
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northport, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Motel is right on the river, you could fish from your room! Room was clean and smelled good. There is an attached restaurant / bar. Home made food was real good, folks are nice. We travel 77 from MI to Fl several times a year this is the first time I have felt compelled to write a motel review. Even my wife thought it was good! I'm not giving it 5 stars as compared to a high priced hotel but for what it is we are going to keep this one in mind on our next trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the river side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We also stayed here during the power outage. We didn't pay the high price like you though. Our online rate was around $50. The manager did not handle things appropriately, i agree. However they were nice enough people. It wasn't his fault that the power went out. We slept with the window open since we had no A/C. seemed like a safe area. It is next to a busy road that is noisy though. The rooms have a microwave and fridge.

Room Tip: get far away from the road if that is possible. The road is noisy/busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, West Virginia, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

You people are crazy that are even giving this hotel one positive comment. For one, the manager and wife? were very unfriendly and as stated in previous reviews, hard to understand. They were not reasonable at all. I made the reservations online and when arriving, found out that the power was out due to a storm. Instead of refunding my money since the hotel could provide zero amneties due to no power, the hotel manager said he couldnt do that due to me making the reservation online. After finally reaching corporate, they told me to speak to the property manager. I didn't do the run-around. I paid 85 bucks for a room I didn't stay in. I am taking legal process right now. This is not a lie. My email is jasonczerr1@yahoo.com if anybody wants to ask me about it. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Clean hotel room, free, wifi and only $74 for.two adults with tax. Attendant was very friendly. Why pay the prices at those fancy hotels when you can get the same here? No BS...This is a good place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

This property is several miles away from downtown Charleston. In terms of amenities, it is definitely a 2-star hotel at the best. However, my room, which was on the back side of the property, was quiet and clean. It faced the river, with a pretty mountain scene behind it. Access to the highway or road was extremely easy. The beds were fine and comfortable, with no sign of overuse, etc. I wanted the least expensive overnight stay, while still staying safe. That's just what I got.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012 via mobile

Easy access from highway. Cheap rates. Internet access. If you don't mind extra firm beds & flat pillows, this motel will work for you. It was better than driving thru the night or sleeping in the car. Plenty of construction workers stay here evidently, because the lot was filled with mud covered, full size pickups with out of state plates. Smoking & non-smoking rooms available. Two double beds & a recliner.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Budget Host Inn Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Inn Charleston

Address: 3313 East Kanawha Boulevard, Charleston, WV 25306
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Budget Host Inn Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Inn Charleston Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Host Inn Charleston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.