We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow food, poor service, terrible choice” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tidewater Grill

Tidewater Grill
1060 Charleston Town Ctr, Charleston, WV 25389-1060
8884563463
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Tidewater Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 252 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Town Center Mall
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Slow food, poor service, terrible choice”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Went there on a Friday night and apparently they aren't set up to handle a full house. Took 3 hours to eat, took 2 hours to get the food. Waiter was terrible but really felt he was funny and he wasn't. The food was really average especially for the price, so that was disappointing. The manager had to intervene bc we were waiting so long and he gave us a discount. If the food was free, I still would never go back. But props to the manager trying to do some service recovery but it was just too little too late.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    78
    34
    21
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barrington, Illinois
Top Contributor
358 reviews 358 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Perhaps it was just mother's day”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

The restaurant looks great on the outside and the menu is pretty good but it didn't live up to my hopes at all. They lost our order so we ended up waiting about 40 minutes for the entrée. My wife had the prime rib which was ok but cooked too much (asked for medium rare) and didn't have an au just with it so it was a bit dry. I had the trout with a ginger glaze (the glaze was positively awful - just a lot of salt and soy which would overpower almost anything). Fish itself was tasty. The manage did apologize for the wait and offered a free desert (which we didn't take) so they did try to make it right. I'd probably go back for another try. It was very busy and sometimes you just get the luck of the draw.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Food was delicious and service was great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

The desk clerk at the Hampton Inn recommended the Tidewater Grill to us and we were so happy she did.

The food was awesome and the service was excellent. The key lime pie was divine, the turtle cake was huge and delicious. Would definitely go again and again. Wish I lived closer to do so.

Go, you will not be disappointed

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Marriot Front Desk advice proved accurate.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

The food choices available on the Menu was wide and the food quality was excellent. The service was very friendly yet courteous and efficient. I would return if I should visit Charleston..

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Love the atmosphere. The food is fantastic and the service is great. Will definitely go again. My only problem is the parking is at the mall.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tidewater Grill also viewed

 

Been to Tidewater Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tidewater Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.