We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible experience, NOT SAFE!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Charleston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Charleston to your Saves list
Motel 6 Charleston
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   6311 MacCorkle Ave SE, I-64/I-77 at Exit #95, Charleston, WV 25304   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Charleston
charleston wv
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Terrible experience, NOT SAFE!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The police were beating on the door in the middle of the night to arrest the person in the room next door. We initially thought it was a knock at our door and was advised by law enforcement to go back in our room. It's what I would refer to as a "crack hotel." There was drinking and partying going on with no resolution, it was loud, and it didn't feel safe to go to the parking lot alone. The manager Robin is sarcastic and lacks the ability to problem solve and has an "I don't care" attitude." There is no professionalism at this hotel whatsoever. The WORST hotel experience I've ever had. Almost no toilet paper, dirty bed linens, and a broken microwave. A LOUD noise comes from the plumbing on and off at all times thru the walls. It is cheap but you definitely get what you pay for. If you have children DO NOT stay in this hotel, there is also very questionable male staff there.

Room Tip: Choose a room at another hotel. This one is unsafe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    11
    3
    23
See reviews for
14
6
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Only stayed one night ( thankfully) on my way home from D.C. First room they gave me had already been used with unmade bed & towels on the floor. Front desk apologized & quickly fixed the problem & gave me another room. But I still didn't feel the room was great. It was clean but towels had stains. Alot of low life people in lobby & surrounding area. Room was cheap but I would not stay again. Just felt uneasy. They accepted pets so I chose this but would not recommend

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Definitely a good choice for the price. They just redid the rooms so they're pretty nice. They have hard wood floors which is kinda nice and kinda not lol. The shower was awesome and everything else was good besides the fact that I got a nonsmoking room and it smelled like smoke :( Overall a good hotel. Would definitely stay there again :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

This seriously cannot be a Motel 6! The rooms were huge, immaculate, and despite being just feet from the road, vert quiet! Amazing price, dog welcomed, friendly clerk at checkin. The floors were wood, not creepy carpet. The bed had what looked like high end linens. The parking lot was well lit whicj was good because on the back you can't park by your room. The towels were in a cute, lighted display. Just a great value. We will not hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Percy, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This place has just been remodeled. There is no carpet, which I think is awesome. The staff is friendly. If you stay here be sure to keep your vehicle locked. There were quite a few breakins while we were there. The beds are comfortable. There is only coffee available until 10 am. The Internet is slow and you have to pay 3.17 a day for it . Basically you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Staff was ok room didn't look bad but killed 5 roaches the first night I would not even think of staying to this hotel again never again but when comp is paying guess you got to go where they put you at
Ty to my comp I got to do my wash somewhere 3 miles away too
Like I said never stay here again ill sleep outside first on ground

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The staff at this Motel 6 went above and beyond the call of duty. I came in at around 9am after being on the bus all night and not getting any sleep. I knew it was not anywhere close to the usual check in time but I asked what was the earliest I could get in. The manager had the housekeeper clean a room especially for me so I could get some well needed sleep.

The room was in great shape, The staff is great, If you are visiting Charleston I wholeheartedly recommend this motel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Charleston

Address: 6311 MacCorkle Ave SE, I-64/I-77 at Exit #95, Charleston, WV 25304
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Charleston 2*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Motel 6 Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Six Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Charleston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.