We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"We would stay again"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com IHG
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   107 Alex Lane, Charleston, WV 25304 (Formerly Comfort Suites Charleston)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #14 of 23 hotels in Charleston
Terre Haute, Indiana, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“"We would stay again"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stopped in without reservations and the parking lot was full of vehicles. I felt we had no chance for a room but did actually get a very nice room. We were on ground floor, and the room couldn't have been better. It was clean, large and very accommodating. There was a satisfying continental breakfast and the staff was pleasant. We were driving a 26' U-Haul and they had no problem with us parking it in there lot. There was an area for large trucks to park. Not many, but a few.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    27
    17
    9
    3
See reviews for
22
15
6
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

After a longer then necessary trip and all kind of bad luck. Mia at the Holiday Inn Express in Charleston WV went above and beyond to do what she could to get me checked in. Everything that could go wrong has went wrong today including my phone dying In the process. She not only went above and beyond to take care of my check in issues but also let me use her personal charger to charge my dead phone. Mia made my day a lot better. Thank you for everything and going above and beyond.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hell, Michigan
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

From my notes from a work trip to Charleston in August. I've stayed in a lot of HIE the past few years and this one was very average. I was on the top floor at the end on the side facing away from the highway and I still heard noise from the highway and exit ramp even with a pillow over my head. The room was clean and everything worked but the front desk staff seemed to take their sweet time the few times I went there to check on something. Other than that everything is very typical of a HIE. Next time in Charleston I will seek a different hotel that is more quiet and with better front desk staff,

Room Tip: opposite side of the highway and bring earplugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear trbeer,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn Express around. However, it seems that we were not able to execute an exemplary hotel stay experience because of the noise and unsatisfactory front office services. Please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations. We take all reviews very seriously and we hope that you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel.

We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The motel was adequate, I recall it being extremely hot, one of the hottest days in Charleston in a long while. The room air conditioner was struggling to cool the room down. The breakfast was outstanding, had waffles and eggs cooked at tableside. Charleston is tricky to get around in, I highly suggest a GPS to navigate all the attractions. Over all the trip was note worthy and had a chance to learn some important historical events.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, OH
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The location of the hotel was fine as we couldnt get anything in Beckley WV, so had to settle for Charleston WV for a hotel. Location was tricky to get to as no great directions or signs to get to it. Once we got there, the hotel was nice, pool and hot tub were PACKED!!, and was walking distance to a few restaurants. The continental breakfast was pretty good and replenished quickly. Quality of the room was nice and roomy.

Room Tip: To get there, make sure you turn into the entrance for the Texas Saloon restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Georgia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

It's a bit hard to find this hotel off the highway, at night when it's raining. Alex Lane is not well marked and the hotel is tucked in the back of a plaza next to Country Inn & Suites. I had a reservation. No problems with the reservation but I would've thought that the A/C would have been turned on in advance for a customer with a reservation. Instead the room was hot and stuffy for the first two hours until the A/C could cool off. Otherwise, I was pleased with the hotel, the room and the breakfast area. My room was on the third floor and overlooking the highway but exterior noise was minimal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear CJIG106,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry about the air conditioning not turned on before you arrived. We will look into this point. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to ensure complete guest satisfaction. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The room was large and very clean. We had no problems with noise, at all, but we were on the side opposite from the highway. The Hotel people were all very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was just fine and plentiful. We did not use the pool or spa, but they looked very inviting, as did the fitness room.

Room Tip: The highway is Very Close to the back side of the Hotel. You might want to be sure to ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charleston South Hotel Charleston
Holiday Inn Express Charleston South Hotel
Comfort Suites Charleston
Charleston Comfort Suites
Address: 107 Alex Lane, Charleston, WV 25304 (Formerly Comfort Suites Charleston)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City. Located only minutes from the majestic West Virginia State Capitol, Yeager Airport, beautiful downtown Charleston and the historical East End district. Other points of interest are the Clay Center for the Performing Arts, the University of Charleston and Appalachian Power Stadium home of the West Virginia Power. As our guest of the Holiday Inn Express, you will stay in one of our totally renovated, spacious king, queen or executive suite room with high speed Internet, your choice of plush pillows and great nights sleep mattresses. Also enjoy our complimentary hot breakfast buffet with the worlds best cinnamon rolls. Fresh brewed coffee is available every evening. After a busy day of work or travel, you can energize yourself in our fitness center. Then, cool down in the heated, indoor pool and hot tub. Enjoy the many food options near the hotel that include everything from fast food to steak houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.