We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charleston Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   107 Alex Lane, Charleston, WV 25304 (Formerly Comfort Suites Charleston)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #15 of 23 hotels in Charleston
Orange Park, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Charleston Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The motel was adequate, I recall it being extremely hot, one of the hottest days in Charleston in a long while. The room air conditioner was struggling to cool the room down. The breakfast was outstanding, had waffles and eggs cooked at tableside. Charleston is tricky to get around in, I highly suggest a GPS to navigate all the attractions. Over all the trip was note worthy and had a chance to learn some important historical events.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    28
    19
    10
    4
See reviews for
25
15
6
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, OH
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The location of the hotel was fine as we couldnt get anything in Beckley WV, so had to settle for Charleston WV for a hotel. Location was tricky to get to as no great directions or signs to get to it. Once we got there, the hotel was nice, pool and hot tub were PACKED!!, and was walking distance to a few restaurants. The continental breakfast was pretty good and replenished quickly. Quality of the room was nice and roomy.

Room Tip: To get there, make sure you turn into the entrance for the Texas Saloon restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Georgia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

It's a bit hard to find this hotel off the highway, at night when it's raining. Alex Lane is not well marked and the hotel is tucked in the back of a plaza next to Country Inn & Suites. I had a reservation. No problems with the reservation but I would've thought that the A/C would have been turned on in advance for a customer with a reservation. Instead the room was hot and stuffy for the first two hours until the A/C could cool off. Otherwise, I was pleased with the hotel, the room and the breakfast area. My room was on the third floor and overlooking the highway but exterior noise was minimal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear CJIG106,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry about the air conditioning not turned on before you arrived. We will look into this point. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to ensure complete guest satisfaction. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The room was large and very clean. We had no problems with noise, at all, but we were on the side opposite from the highway. The Hotel people were all very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was just fine and plentiful. We did not use the pool or spa, but they looked very inviting, as did the fitness room.

Room Tip: The highway is Very Close to the back side of the Hotel. You might want to be sure to ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Check in was a little abrupt with a lack of personality and with no conversation. Asking about breakfast, check out time and how to get a taxi in the morning to the airport looked like it was a stretch by the person that checked me in especially when I didn't know the area. Not the best impression.

Room was lovely, spacious with all the amenities for a nights stay or longer. Room was clean to a standard which is manageable such as clean bed, bathroom and towels. But room hasn't had a deep clean in a couple of weeks as dust galore was present on some of the fixtures. Could hear a little traffic from the road behind but it didn't keep me awake or bother me and it did quieter through the night.

On check out Brenda (think that was her name) was the complete opposite of check in person - Lovely, warm and helpful along with the guy doing breakfast and the general manager whom I spoke to. I'm glad Brenda was the lasting impression of this hotel.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estes Park, Colorado
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Although my room was beautiful, comfortable, and clean, I would not stay here again. Without a doubt it was the loudest room I've ever stayed in. Not only was it on the highway side and very, very close to the road with all-night traffic, there was also lots of noise from other rooms nearby. No sleep. Zero..

No airport shuttle so expect to pay $20 cash for taxi, no credit cards accepted.


Rough night!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear mrssimptom,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our room.

However, We’re sorry about the noise during your stay. We will look into this point. I understand the discomfort this caused you. Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for about 3 weeks last spring. I liked the location as it was easy to get most anywhere in Charleston. The neighborhood, South Charleston is small and a great place to walk. The down side is that it is right next to the train tracks in coal country. This means that there is lots of noise at all hours of the day and night. If you are a sound sleeper this will be the place for you.

The restaurant in the hotel serves good food, the exercise room is well appointed, and the pool is lovely. The place has been remodeled recently and is nicely done. The staff were very friendly. It's just those trains...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear lrswtsn8,

Thank you for your detailed review of our hotel. I certainly apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the train noise.

We are glad to see that you left some feedback on what you liked as well. We are pleased that you did enjoy our well appointed rooms, pool, exercise rooms, restaurant and friendly staff.

We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments.

We thank you for having chosen our Hotel. We take this opportunity to send you our best wishes.

Regards,

Brenda J.
eMedia Coordinator
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City

Address: 107 Alex Lane, Charleston, WV 25304 (Formerly Comfort Suites Charleston)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City. Located only minutes from the majestic West Virginia State Capitol, Yeager Airport, beautiful downtown Charleston and the historical East End district. Other points of interest are the Clay Center for the Performing Arts, the University of Charleston and Appalachian Power Stadium home of the West Virginia Power. As our guest of the Holiday Inn Express, you will stay in one of our totally renovated, spacious king, queen or executive suite room with high speed Internet, your choice of plush pillows and great nights sleep mattresses. Also enjoy our complimentary hot breakfast buffet with the worlds best cinnamon rolls. Fresh brewed coffee is available every evening. After a busy day of work or travel, you can energize yourself in our fitness center. Then, cool down in the heated, indoor pool and hot tub. Enjoy the many food options near the hotel that include everything from fast food to steak houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charleston South Hotel Charleston
Comfort Suites Charleston
Charleston Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.