We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable and LOUD” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   107 Alex Lane, Charleston, WV 25304 (Formerly Comfort Suites Charleston)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Charleston
Estes Park, Colorado
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable and LOUD”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Although my room was beautiful, comfortable, and clean, I would not stay here again. Without a doubt it was the loudest room I've ever stayed in. Not only was it on the highway side and very, very close to the road with all-night traffic, there was also lots of noise from other rooms nearby. No sleep. Zero..

No airport shuttle so expect to pay $20 cash for taxi, no credit cards accepted.


Rough night!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear mrssimptom,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our room.

However, We’re sorry about the noise during your stay. We will look into this point. I understand the discomfort this caused you. Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    30
    22
    10
    4
See reviews for
27
16
6
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for about 3 weeks last spring. I liked the location as it was easy to get most anywhere in Charleston. The neighborhood, South Charleston is small and a great place to walk. The down side is that it is right next to the train tracks in coal country. This means that there is lots of noise at all hours of the day and night. If you are a sound sleeper this will be the place for you.

The restaurant in the hotel serves good food, the exercise room is well appointed, and the pool is lovely. The place has been remodeled recently and is nicely done. The staff were very friendly. It's just those trains...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear lrswtsn8,

Thank you for your detailed review of our hotel. I certainly apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the train noise.

We are glad to see that you left some feedback on what you liked as well. We are pleased that you did enjoy our well appointed rooms, pool, exercise rooms, restaurant and friendly staff.

We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments.

We thank you for having chosen our Hotel. We take this opportunity to send you our best wishes.

Regards,

Brenda J.
eMedia Coordinator
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverton, Utah
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Checked in late(after 11p.m.) after a long 20+ hour drive. Staff don't recall the young mans name, but was very helpful and friendly. Suggested a room away from the highway that would be quieter and more peaceful.
The room was very nice and very clean and comfortable.
The beds were probably the best hotel beds I have ever slept in. I like the bed firm and this one was. Also like a firm pillow and there were both soft and firm pillows on each bed and they were perfect. I've never seen a hotel that supplies different pillows.
Got a badly needed nights sleep, awoke early and enjoyed a nice complimentary breakfast in the hotel. Not a Continental breakfast but sausage and eggs and other items. Prefer the waffles but they had a pancake maker which was not working but that was okay with me.
Didn't use the fitness center or pool.
Ihop and a Texas Steakhouse nearby, within walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the first or second floor. The third floor is even with the freeway and can be a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I can tell that my room was a former Comfort Suites room. A king bed with a small (two seat) "couch" in an adjoining space. Overall, the hotel seemed to have a good renovated look and the room was clean. Bed was average but the mattress cover was vinyl, quite strange (sounded like vinyl when I sat on the bed). TV was a decent size flat screen with a good selection of channels, no movie menu. Bathroom sink was outside the shower area and had good shelf space. I was not on the highway side of the hotel and the room was quiet. I would probably stay at the hotel again, but the price was too high for what I received. Breakfast was sub-par.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the front of the hotel away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Travelinsider,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. I am pleased you appreciated the renovation done at our property. We regret the issues with the room accommodation and the breakfast. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Other than the front desk person who checked us in and was very short with questions that we asked - questions that should have been answered without us asking her. Such as internet password, breakfast hours, where our room was, etc. We were very happy with our stay. A front desk person with a helpful smile would put this establishment over the top!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Lovely room, however the layout is strange, the vanity area was just inside the front door so in full view of the rest of the room so no privacy and I could not get ready in the morning without disturbing my wife. The toilet and tub/shower were behind a door that you had to squeeze iand contort yourself in order to close the door. There was a nice sitting area and WiFi was free. The beds were comfortable.The hotel backed up to a hill with the highway above which made it quite noisy. The staff and service was terrific, the breakfast was plentiful and tasty but my eggs were lukewarm. We were only staying one night, so we did not use the pool or hot tub, but it looked good. There was a problem with the hot water but that was unforseeable and I did not fault it for that. Very expensive for a Holiday Inn Express but very comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, Michigan
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We had a room with 2 beds, we were told all the rooms with more than one bed were on the back side of the building-facing the expressway. We had requested a room in the front of the building but were told those only have one bed. So long story short we stayed in the back side of building next to expressway. No problem, yes you could hear a truck go pass if you listened. My wife is a light sleeper and she had no problem. As for the building it was clean, hot tub & pool plus workout room.Front desk was friendly and helpful, our room-clean and beds were comfortable. The breakfast was good. Location was OK it is about 5 miles from civic center,shopping mall.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of building face the freeway.Didn't affect us but the choice is yours
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City

Address: 107 Alex Lane, Charleston, WV 25304 (Formerly Comfort Suites Charleston)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City. Located only minutes from the majestic West Virginia State Capitol, Yeager Airport, beautiful downtown Charleston and the historical East End district. Other points of interest are the Clay Center for the Performing Arts, the University of Charleston and Appalachian Power Stadium home of the West Virginia Power. As our guest of the Holiday Inn Express, you will stay in one of our totally renovated, spacious king, queen or executive suite room with high speed Internet, your choice of plush pillows and great nights sleep mattresses. Also enjoy our complimentary hot breakfast buffet with the worlds best cinnamon rolls. Fresh brewed coffee is available every evening. After a busy day of work or travel, you can energize yourself in our fitness center. Then, cool down in the heated, indoor pool and hot tub. Enjoy the many food options near the hotel that include everything from fast food to steak houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charleston South Hotel Charleston
Comfort Suites Charleston
Charleston Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.