We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Charleston-South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites Charleston-South to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites Charleston-South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   105 Alex Lane, Charleston, WV 25304   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hampstead, North Carolina
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Restful Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Very close to I77 with some truck noise ( we had an even numbered room) but we slept well due to an amazingly comfortable bed. Breakfast was okay, strange that they only had light cream cheese would stay there again. I don't smoke but nice that they had two outside tables for smokers.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    41
    30
    11
    4
See reviews for
47
42
5
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alpena
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

In the past 4 months we have stayed at 4 different Country Inn and Suites. This one was the least value for your dollar. The front desk person had the attitude we were interrupting her when we checked in. When we saw her smoking in the hotel it should have been a clue things here we're not up to the standards of the other Country Inn and Suits we had stayed at.
On the plus side the room was clean and the complimentary breakfast was good. The breakfast staff did a great job of keeping things re-stocked and the area neat and clean.
Bottom line, if you're a Club Carlson member, don't waste your points on a stay at this place.

Green Features: They are not very"green". They need to use less disposable materials in the breakfast area
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulda
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

The front desk clerk was helpful and friendly. The room was clean and comfortable with lots of pillows, big bathrooms and plenty of towels. I was upgraded to a larger room with a sitting area just because and that was nice. The breakfast area was clean, and though I didn't eat much the breakfast was a fine selection. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I am a newby to Country Inn and Suites and I would stay in one again! The decor was done very nicely. For breakfast there was a good variety. Comfy beds and a great shower. There is an in-room micro-fridge. Just be sure to check the temp setting. All of our food froze.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley Springs, West Virginia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We've stayed here many years over the holidays when visiting family in the area.

A stay a couple years ago was bad (awful breakfast, pool closed without notice, general cleanliness issues) and, given his responses and non-apology, the GM didn't care so we stopped staying here.

But, we travel with small dogs and this is one of the only properties in the area that accepts pets. Since we also like an indoor pool, we prefer to stay here. The Red Roof Inn next door also allows pets and for no fee but no indoor pool.

This time, we notice there's been a decent amount of renovation in the rooms, front desk area and breakfast room. The pool area also looked better, not sure if it was a redo or if it's just cleaner.

First, we were put into an accessible room with a roll-in shower which I hate. I went to the desk to change rooms (I HATE doing this) and was told this was the only "pet" room left with our requested king bed. Eventually, we were given a room on the second floor with two queens. It was at the end of the hall, right by the stairwell, which was great for walking the dogs. A king would have been better since it gives more room for the rest of the room but we made the two queens work.

The rooms and the new Country Inn & Suites decor is a nice change from the overly country look before although this locations was more Tuscany inspired before. The logo has changed, the website is changing, new gen properties are changing, it's all nice.

Our bathroom was pretty much clean but there was a hair on one of the towels which isn't expected but doesn't freak me out. There was a shampoo and an already opened and half-used conditioner but no lotion as there usually is.

The pool and hot tub and the areas by them were all clean. The pool and hot tub were nice, the proper temperature and well maintained.

We were there for three nights and on the second day our key cards quit working on the entrance doors as well as our room. I had to go to the Front Desk to get re-keyed cards.

Overall, the staff (other than our housekeeper) just always seemed like they couldn't be bothered. This is always a big downer but it is what it is when it happens.

Breakfast was B A D! First morning, bad. Second morning, bad. Third morning, bad. Every day, bad. Whoever it was manning breakfast either was running around like a chicken with their head cut of and clueless as to what they needed to do (a guy on Sunday morning) or a girl who did nothing and basically sat at a table charging her phone, texting and writing on a paper.

All of this while there's NO fruit of any kind, NO milk, NO half and half, very little syrup, dry overcooked oatmeal and sparse anything else. There was an egg choice each day but no meat, aside from sausage in the sausage gravy one morning being served with burnt biscuits.

I've had this bad breakfast at other Country Inn & Suites properties. This wasn't a one-time thing at this one ... it was every morning.

Given the bad breakfast experience, my value perception of the stay goes way down. If this is the best this property can do, get rid of breakfast and drop the price $20. The current price of around $90-110 per night is way too much without a decent breakfast and is even a little high for the area with a good breakfast experience.

I would stay here again given the room quality and indoor pool.

Room Tip: If it matters to you, there is less highway noise in odd-numbered rooms which are ones facing the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshfield, Wisconsin, United States
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. The front desk clerk was extremely friendly. The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast area was clean, and breakfast was a fine selection. We used the pool and hot tub and both were clean. Our only complaint was the highway noise during the night, but only for the light sleepers in our group.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrice
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Easy on and off of expressway, room was clean, but thin walls you can hear people in next room and upstairs. Also window did not have solid curtain, we ended up putting extra bedspread over it. Restaurants and gas station close by

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites Charleston-South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Charleston-South

Address: 105 Alex Lane, Charleston, WV 25304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Charleston
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#8 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Charleston-South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay with us in the mountains! Our hotel is located in the beautiful capitol city of West Virginia. We have available numerous outdoor activities such as snow skiing, white water rafting, golfing and biking trails.Within one block of our hotel are many choices of restaurants, bowling and malls. We are also close to the Governor's Mansion, Appalachian Power ball park, WV Cultural Center, and The Clay Center for the Arts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Carlson, Priceline, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Charleston-South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Charleston-South
Country Inn & Suites Charleston-South Hotel Charleston
Charleston Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Charleston-South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.