We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay for deep sleepers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Charleston-South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites Charleston-South to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites Charleston-South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   105 Alex Lane, Charleston, WV 25304   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Marshfield, Wisconsin, United States
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Nice stay for deep sleepers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. The front desk clerk was extremely friendly. The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast area was clean, and breakfast was a fine selection. We used the pool and hot tub and both were clean. Our only complaint was the highway noise during the night, but only for the light sleepers in our group.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    40
    30
    11
    4
See reviews for
47
40
5
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morrice
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Easy on and off of expressway, room was clean, but thin walls you can hear people in next room and upstairs. Also window did not have solid curtain, we ended up putting extra bedspread over it. Restaurants and gas station close by

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

I am very disappointed in the reviews as saying this hotel was worth a stay. Save your money not worth 100$ maybe $50. I never write reviews and by far I am not too picky bc as I said I would rather stay In the woods. Our first room smelled of smoke so we moved. Our second room we could tell the floor was a little dirty but at the rate things were going e third room wasn't going to be any better and our newborn was asleep. Woke in the am to take a shower and found dirty washcloths hanging over the shower curtain and leftover popcorn on the floor. This hotel chain is off our list... Next time will go with gut and go next door to holiday inn

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites Charleston-South, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room. We will discuss the conditions of your room with our staff to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inns and Suites by Carlson standards. To discuss your stay further, please contact the hotel directly at your earliest convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stopped in Charleston overnight on our way to North Carolina and landed in the area of the Country Inn. We priced the three in the general area and the Country Inn was the only one that gave the AARP discount. The room was very nice, we stayed on the main floor and it appeared to have been recently renovated. No problem with noise, the beds were very comfortable, clean, and the breakfast started at 6 a.m. which was great for the early travelers. The food was the basic breakfast bar, nothing special but adequate for what we needed. I would recommend this hotel to anyone needing a clean, reasonably priced hotel.

Green Features: They were very eco-friendly with their towels, etc.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My family usually stays at this hotel when we visit family. They are decent accomadations. Clean, not very modern, but freshly renovated as of Spring 2013. The staff is okay. They aren't very helpful and they are usually new, but they have compensated us numerous times for issues we find within the facility, which is nice of them. We went while they were renovating and a few time we were awoken early and the fire alarm went off, they compensated us with 2-nights free stay for the troubles. I can appreciate a clean hotel with good customer service.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the front, right of the building, there is a highway on the back side of the buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monclova
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Beautiful rooms and very clean! Better price than the Holiday Inn next door. Great staff; the cable on our large flat screenn TV wasn't working and a staff member was up immediately and fixed it. Lovely decorum in lobby and room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here with 2 kids (age 9 and 6) while on a drive from Raleigh, NC to Akron, OH. We stopped in around 9:00 PM to see what kind of rate we could get after going to the Holiday Inn Express next door. They beat the Holiday Inn by about $20 and we were sold. And now that we've stayed there it will likely be our stop in the future.

The double room was spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was clean and plenty big. The front desk staff was courteous and helpful. I also appreciated the courtesy of the man who was emptying trash and doing general janitorial work in the morning. He helped me find a fresh sleeve of coffee cups, which was nice.

The breakfast is the basic hotel continental breakfast. There were waffle makers as well as some sausage gravy in addition to the usual assortment of cereal, diced melons, and pastries. It was nothing outstanding, but it was right in line with the value we would expect from such a place.

The kids enjoyed swimming in the indoor pool as well. We didn't have a lot of time to spend there, but that was OK. There was just enough to do for a nice overnight stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites Charleston-South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Charleston-South

Address: 105 Alex Lane, Charleston, WV 25304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Charleston
#4 Business Hotel in Charleston
#7 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Charleston-South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay with us in the mountains! Our hotel is located in the beautiful capitol city of West Virginia. We have available numerous outdoor activities such as snow skiing, white water rafting, golfing and biking trails.Within one block of our hotel are many choices of restaurants, bowling and malls. We are also close to the Governor's Mansion, Appalachian Power ball park, WV Cultural Center, and The Clay Center for the Arts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Carlson, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Charleston-South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Charleston-South Hotel Charleston
Country Inn And Suites Charleston-South
Charleston Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Charleston-South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.