We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for overnight” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   105 Alex Lane, Charleston, WV 25304   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good value for overnight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stopped in Charleston overnight on our way to North Carolina and landed in the area of the Country Inn. We priced the three in the general area and the Country Inn was the only one that gave the AARP discount. The room was very nice, we stayed on the main floor and it appeared to have been recently renovated. No problem with noise, the beds were very comfortable, clean, and the breakfast started at 6 a.m. which was great for the early travelers. The food was the basic breakfast bar, nothing special but adequate for what we needed. I would recommend this hotel to anyone needing a clean, reasonably priced hotel.

Green Features: They were very eco-friendly with their towels, etc.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LSSIWEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My family usually stays at this hotel when we visit family. They are decent accomadations. Clean, not very modern, but freshly renovated as of Spring 2013. The staff is okay. They aren't very helpful and they are usually new, but they have compensated us numerous times for issues we find within the facility, which is nice of them. We went while they were renovating and a few time we were awoken early and the fire alarm went off, they compensated us with 2-nights free stay for the troubles. I can appreciate a clean hotel with good customer service.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the front, right of the building, there is a highway on the back side of the buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monclova
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Beautiful rooms and very clean! Better price than the Holiday Inn next door. Great staff; the cable on our large flat screenn TV wasn't working and a staff member was up immediately and fixed it. Lovely decorum in lobby and room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tamsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here with 2 kids (age 9 and 6) while on a drive from Raleigh, NC to Akron, OH. We stopped in around 9:00 PM to see what kind of rate we could get after going to the Holiday Inn Express next door. They beat the Holiday Inn by about $20 and we were sold. And now that we've stayed there it will likely be our stop in the future.

The double room was spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was clean and plenty big. The front desk staff was courteous and helpful. I also appreciated the courtesy of the man who was emptying trash and doing general janitorial work in the morning. He helped me find a fresh sleeve of coffee cups, which was nice.

The breakfast is the basic hotel continental breakfast. There were waffle makers as well as some sausage gravy in addition to the usual assortment of cereal, diced melons, and pastries. It was nothing outstanding, but it was right in line with the value we would expect from such a place.

The kids enjoyed swimming in the indoor pool as well. We didn't have a lot of time to spend there, but that was OK. There was just enough to do for a nice overnight stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jchamber73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moab
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Our family of seven traveling across the U.S. made reservations with the knowledge that this hotel offered military discount but did charge a pet fee. When we arrived they refused to offer the military discount because we had a pet. They charged $97.00 for no pet, $159.00 with pet. There is no honor in lies or hidden agendas. They were disrespectful to the soldier by simply stating it is policy not to offer a discount to military if they have a pet. Knowing many soldiers whose pets are their only family, this policy is a disgrace and insult to our military in so many ways. After asking to speak with management we were told none was available then received a call many days later with the same shameless insults. For obvious reasons we will never support this hotel and will post on other sites to ensure that those who serve our country know that this hotel's priority is money before honor.

Green Features: There was a sign hanging above the toilet to reuse the towels
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevamoab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. This hotel does not charge extra for pets, but they do not allow discounted rates for pet rooms, such as a Military Rate, AAA rate, or Senior Rate as there is an additional cost to cover the extensive cleaning involved with pet rooms. Paying the full rate for the room will cover these cleaning costs.

We certainly apologize for any confusion surrounding our hotel policies and we hope for another opportunity in the future to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pekin, Illinois
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stay at many Country Inn & Suites. No one was at the front desk when we checked in. The employee was outside smoking. Breakfast was served until 9:30am. We went to breakfast at 9am. The fruit cocktail bowl was empty of fruit, the oatmeal was so dried that you had to scrape up a serving and there was only 1 biscuit left as others were searching out possible breakfast options. Hopefully, this is an isolated incident. The room was clean and the property is in a good location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

stayed here on July 3rd and July 6th as a halfway point for a long drive to Kentucky. We stayed in a King Suite, room 316 and Room 108. Both were clean and comfortable. The rooms are recently renovated and smelled new. The King bed in both of them were so comfy that I wish I would have been able to stay longer to enjoy the beds longer. Breakfast in the mornings was excellent, great selection of foods and nice display, always kept filled never lacked for anything. Check-in and check-out were a breeze. No complaints and I would stay here again on another trip to Kentucky.

Room Tip: Room 108 is near the pool area, a little noisy and the pool closes at midnight, so if you want sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3trip1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
8.0 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
5.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#2 of 24 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 252 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South

Address: 105 Alex Lane, Charleston, WV 25304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Charleston
#2 Business Hotel in Charleston
#8 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay with us in the mountains! Our hotel is located in the beautiful capitol city of West Virginia. We have available numerous outdoor activities such as snow skiing, white water rafting, golfing and biking trails.Within one block of our hotel are many choices of restaurants, bowling and malls. We are also close to the Governor's Mansion, Appalachian Power ball park, WV Cultural Center, and The Clay Center for the Arts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Carlson, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Charleston-South
Country Inn & Suites Charleston-South Hotel Charleston
Charleston Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing