We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden agenda, "Money before honor". They do not support soldiers if they have pets!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   105 Alex Lane, Charleston, WV 25304   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Moab
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden agenda, "Money before honor". They do not support soldiers if they have pets!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Our family of seven traveling across the U.S. made reservations with the knowledge that this hotel offered military discount but did charge a pet fee. When we arrived they refused to offer the military discount because we had a pet. They charged $97.00 for no pet, $159.00 with pet. There is no honor in lies or hidden agendas. They were disrespectful to the soldier by simply stating it is policy not to offer a discount to military if they have a pet. Knowing many soldiers whose pets are their only family, this policy is a disgrace and insult to our military in so many ways. After asking to speak with management we were told none was available then received a call many days later with the same shameless insults. For obvious reasons we will never support this hotel and will post on other sites to ensure that those who serve our country know that this hotel's priority is money before honor.

Green Features: There was a sign hanging above the toilet to reuse the towels
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. This hotel does not charge extra for pets, but they do not allow discounted rates for pet rooms, such as a Military Rate, AAA rate, or Senior Rate as there is an additional cost to cover the extensive cleaning involved with pet rooms. Paying the full rate for the room will cover these cleaning costs.

We certainly apologize for any confusion surrounding our hotel policies and we hope for another opportunity in the future to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    57
    37
    14
    5
See reviews for
76
50
9
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pekin, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stay at many Country Inn & Suites. No one was at the front desk when we checked in. The employee was outside smoking. Breakfast was served until 9:30am. We went to breakfast at 9am. The fruit cocktail bowl was empty of fruit, the oatmeal was so dried that you had to scrape up a serving and there was only 1 biscuit left as others were searching out possible breakfast options. Hopefully, this is an isolated incident. The room was clean and the property is in a good location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

stayed here on July 3rd and July 6th as a halfway point for a long drive to Kentucky. We stayed in a King Suite, room 316 and Room 108. Both were clean and comfortable. The rooms are recently renovated and smelled new. The King bed in both of them were so comfy that I wish I would have been able to stay longer to enjoy the beds longer. Breakfast in the mornings was excellent, great selection of foods and nice display, always kept filled never lacked for anything. Check-in and check-out were a breeze. No complaints and I would stay here again on another trip to Kentucky.

Room Tip: Room 108 is near the pool area, a little noisy and the pool closes at midnight, so if you want sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alderson
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My mother is in CAMC in grave condition, after sitting with her, the Country Inn and Suites was a very nice place to rest and unwind, very nice, clean and spacious room (king suite), the staff was very friendly and showed sincere concern, the breakfast buffet was nice and tasty...no complaints at all, would recommend to everyone and will definitely stay again. Thank you to a great hotel and friendly staff...you made me feel home.

Room Tip: King suites are spacious, clean and well worth the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stopped here both on our way to Virginia and on our way home. Even though they were effort to help you out. They were super friendly and the pool was great for our grandchildren after a long day in the car. Hot Tub was perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flushing
Level Contributor
169 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Our visit in May 2013 found to our surprise the entire hotel was being remodeled. We were located on the 3rd floor which we think was already refurbished. Everything was nice and clean. If you don't mind a little dust and noise during the daytime all went well. Their free breakfast was up to their usual standards. When the renovations are complete it will be a nice place to spend the night.

Room Tip: 3rd floor is the only one available at this time
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metamora, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We were coming back from a army graduation and wanted to sight see in Charleston WV and decided to stay here as this was the only room left in the area. First problem is if you pay by cash you have to put 150.00 down and also a credit card hold so you will have to front almost 300.00 for a room that is only worth 50.00. They are under construction so the hotel is very messy and dirty. The hot tub was very cold like getting into a cold bath and need a lot of repair. Office staff very rude also. Felt discriminated against since I wanted to pay cash and not by a credit card. Stay away from this hotel its is bad news.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Please reach out to any of our employees directly should you have any concerns during or after your next stay. Thank you again for your valuable feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
8.0 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
5.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#2 of 24 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
5.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South

Address: 105 Alex Lane, Charleston, WV 25304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Charleston
#2 Business Hotel in Charleston
#7 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay with us in the mountains! Our hotel is located in the beautiful capitol city of West Virginia. We have available numerous outdoor activities such as snow skiing, white water rafting, golfing and biking trails.Within one block of our hotel are many choices of restaurants, bowling and malls. We are also close to the Governor's Mansion, Appalachian Power ball park, WV Cultural Center, and The Clay Center for the Arts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Charleston-South Hotel Charleston
Country Inn And Suites Charleston-South
Charleston Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.