We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to Country Inn & Suites standards” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Charleston-South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites Charleston-South to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites Charleston-South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   105 Alex Lane, Charleston, WV 25304   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pekin, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not up to Country Inn & Suites standards”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stay at many Country Inn & Suites. No one was at the front desk when we checked in. The employee was outside smoking. Breakfast was served until 9:30am. We went to breakfast at 9am. The fruit cocktail bowl was empty of fruit, the oatmeal was so dried that you had to scrape up a serving and there was only 1 biscuit left as others were searching out possible breakfast options. Hopefully, this is an isolated incident. The room was clean and the property is in a good location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    40
    30
    11
    4
See reviews for
47
40
5
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

stayed here on July 3rd and July 6th as a halfway point for a long drive to Kentucky. We stayed in a King Suite, room 316 and Room 108. Both were clean and comfortable. The rooms are recently renovated and smelled new. The King bed in both of them were so comfy that I wish I would have been able to stay longer to enjoy the beds longer. Breakfast in the mornings was excellent, great selection of foods and nice display, always kept filled never lacked for anything. Check-in and check-out were a breeze. No complaints and I would stay here again on another trip to Kentucky.

Room Tip: Room 108 is near the pool area, a little noisy and the pool closes at midnight, so if you want sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alderson
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My mother is in CAMC in grave condition, after sitting with her, the Country Inn and Suites was a very nice place to rest and unwind, very nice, clean and spacious room (king suite), the staff was very friendly and showed sincere concern, the breakfast buffet was nice and tasty...no complaints at all, would recommend to everyone and will definitely stay again. Thank you to a great hotel and friendly staff...you made me feel home.

Room Tip: King suites are spacious, clean and well worth the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stopped here both on our way to Virginia and on our way home. Even though they were effort to help you out. They were super friendly and the pool was great for our grandchildren after a long day in the car. Hot Tub was perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flushing
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Our visit in May 2013 found to our surprise the entire hotel was being remodeled. We were located on the 3rd floor which we think was already refurbished. Everything was nice and clean. If you don't mind a little dust and noise during the daytime all went well. Their free breakfast was up to their usual standards. When the renovations are complete it will be a nice place to spend the night.

Room Tip: 3rd floor is the only one available at this time
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metamora, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We were coming back from a army graduation and wanted to sight see in Charleston WV and decided to stay here as this was the only room left in the area. First problem is if you pay by cash you have to put 150.00 down and also a credit card hold so you will have to front almost 300.00 for a room that is only worth 50.00. They are under construction so the hotel is very messy and dirty. The hot tub was very cold like getting into a cold bath and need a lot of repair. Office staff very rude also. Felt discriminated against since I wanted to pay cash and not by a credit card. Stay away from this hotel its is bad news.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites Charleston-South, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Please reach out to any of our employees directly should you have any concerns during or after your next stay. Thank you again for your valuable feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairborn
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We found this Country Inn to be clean and well maintained. The room had a microwave, refrig and large screen TV. The bathroom was very large. The heating/cooling unit was great! It had actual temperature settings and the fan had a pleasant noise level. The breakfast was hot and the dining area was clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy W, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Charleston-South, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Valued Customer,
Thank you for taking time to write your review about your stay at our hotel. I am Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you can visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites Charleston-South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Charleston-South

Address: 105 Alex Lane, Charleston, WV 25304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Charleston
#4 Business Hotel in Charleston
#7 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Charleston-South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay with us in the mountains! Our hotel is located in the beautiful capitol city of West Virginia. We have available numerous outdoor activities such as snow skiing, white water rafting, golfing and biking trails.Within one block of our hotel are many choices of restaurants, bowling and malls. We are also close to the Governor's Mansion, Appalachian Power ball park, WV Cultural Center, and The Clay Center for the Arts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Carlson, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Charleston-South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Charleston-South Hotel Charleston
Country Inn And Suites Charleston-South
Charleston Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Charleston-South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.