We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff with Heart” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Charleston-South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites Charleston-South to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites Charleston-South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   105 Alex Lane, Charleston, WV 25304   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fostoria
2 reviews
“Staff with Heart”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My sister and I were recently in the Charleston area because of a death in our family. We stayed at the Country Inn & Suites and we were so glad we did. They gave us a reduced bereavement rate for out-of-town family members, When I asked staff if they knew of a nearby restaurant that would be able to provide a quiet place for family members to gather and have a meal after the funeral, they offered us a private room at the hotel. They also made coffee and iced tea for us as well as provided the plates,napkins, cups, silverware, etc. We appreciated this more than words can say. Their many expressions of sympathy, empathy and concern meant so much. A big thank you to Terry, Stephanie and all of the staff.

I have stayed at several of the hotels in the area on other trips. From now on, this will be the ONLY hotel for me. Please stay here when you are in the Charleston area. It is clean, modern, and safe place to stay. The hot breakfast was great each morning. While I did not take advantage of the indoor pool and whirlpool, it looked very clean and nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy W, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Charleston-South, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Values Guest,

We are glad you enjoyed you stay with us, and that our staff could help in your family's time of need. We hope that your future stays with our hotel are under happier circumstances. Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We appreciate your kind words about our hotel and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    40
    30
    11
    4
See reviews for
47
40
5
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southside Virginia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Over the past 6 years we have stayed at this Country Inn & Suites many times. We are always pleased with the clean rooms and the helpful staff. Our most recent visit was exactly what we expected. We can add very little that has not been covered in other reviews. Our stay was great and I am sure we will book again soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the parking lot if you are concerned with highway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy W, Manager at Country Inn & Suites Charleston-South, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Vauled Guest,

Thanks for your comments. The managment and staff are glad that you enjoy your stays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

I stayed 2 full weekends loved it will stay here every time I come down this way best place I have ever stay in clean very nice staff and very friendly breakfast was the best I had bed made every day washer and dry to do my wash

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy W, Manager at Country Inn & Suites Charleston-South, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Guest,
Glad you had a wounderful stay. Look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Managment and Staff
Country Inn & Suites Charleston, South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

i stayed at this hotel in august. this was the best country inn ive ever stayed at we were here on a vacation and this was the perfect family freindly hotel. We loved the very large room and the huge pool. The staff was great and the breakfast was ok yet not the bes ive had but averge. overall i had a wonderful stay at the country inn and suites charleston.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room away from the interstate because those rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy W, Manager at Country Inn & Suites Charleston-South, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for the good comments on are hotel. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are working to make are breakfast better. Hopefully on your next vist we will do better with breakfast. Hope to see you again soon.

Managment and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Colorado
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Another Country Inn, and we have enjoyed them all. Comfortable and clean. OK breakfast. Personnel were very pleasant and helpful. Convenient location for those traveling through. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a first floor room, which was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy W, Manager at Country Inn & Suites Charleston-South, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your comments on are hotel. I have shared your comments with the staff. Hope to see you on your next vist to the area.

Managment and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The employees at this Country Inn & Suites were very accomodating and pleasant. The room seemed clean, especially the bathroom. However, I am always suspect of dark green carpeting in a hotel room. My only truly negatve comments would be the location of the smoking area for employees and guests - by the hotel's front entrance; and the location - so close to I64 that truck noise can be heard throughout the night. Our fault for choosing a hotel so "conveniently" close to the interstate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy W, Manager at Country Inn & Suites Charleston-South, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Thrilled Guest,

We are thrilled to read that you had a wonderful experience at The Country Inn & Suites Charleston. Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to our great city!
While we are glad to read we exceeded your expectations, we apologize that there were some areas where we missed the mark. We are looking at moving the smoking are for quest. Have already moved employee smoking to side of the hotel.
Please let us know when you return and we will be happy to work with you to get you a room on the opposite side of the hotel from the interstate.
Thank you for writing a review on Trip Advisor and we hope to welcome you back soon.


Sincerely,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akron, oh
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Everything was fine, but nothing was outstanding. It's a little hard to see from the main road.

I stay at many brands and like that this chain uses nicer plates at breakfast. You can only eat off of paper/foam for so long.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy W, Manager at Country Inn & Suites Charleston-South, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you very much for your nice comments. We are glad you enjoy staying at are Country Inn & Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites Charleston-South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Charleston-South

Address: 105 Alex Lane, Charleston, WV 25304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Charleston
#4 Business Hotel in Charleston
#7 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Charleston-South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay with us in the mountains! Our hotel is located in the beautiful capitol city of West Virginia. We have available numerous outdoor activities such as snow skiing, white water rafting, golfing and biking trails.Within one block of our hotel are many choices of restaurants, bowling and malls. We are also close to the Governor's Mansion, Appalachian Power ball park, WV Cultural Center, and The Clay Center for the Arts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Carlson, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Charleston-South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Charleston-South Hotel Charleston
Country Inn And Suites Charleston-South
Charleston Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Charleston-South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.