We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2014 Cross country road trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Preferred Place, Charleston, WV 25309   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2x HHonors Points
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Heathsville, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“2014 Cross country road trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Hampton Inns were our hotel of choice throughout our trip. They never disappointed us in cleanliness, service, etc. The staff members are always courteous and helpful. Whenever we travel we seek out Hampton Inns because we know we can depend on them for complete satisfaction. They are truly the next best thing to home, if not better.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCharlestonMGR, Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Ruby W,

I want you know that I appreciate your loyalty to the Hampton Brand and I am pleased to hear that they make you feel at home. Thank you for staying with us and for taking your time to let us and others know about your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    80
    23
    10
    5
See reviews for
91
56
9
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Northwest Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We really liked this hotel. Great location quiet, close restaurants Absolutely nothing to complain about. Breakfast was as expected. Staff was friendly and helpful. Wished we had bathing suits as the pool looked inviting.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCharlestonMGR, Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
allie1203,

It's great to hear from you and I wish you had been able to enjoy our pool as well. Thanks for taking your time to write a review and I am grateful to hear that you really liked us and had nothing to complain about. I look forward to seeing you the next time you pass this way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berea, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I stay at a lot of Hampton Hotels each year - this one has a lot of creative ideas that they've implemented (Coke fountain machine in lobby, huge breakfast room, free beer/wine select evenings, free hot wings from popular nearby restaurant first Wednesday of month, etc). While some carpets in public areas (lobby, elevator, halls, etc) were a little worn, otherwise, the hotel was very clean and up-to-date. One thing I always appreciate is A/C units that have a constant on fan - theirs do! Large shopping areas not too far away and many restaurants (and a Cabelas) within walking distance. I'd most certainly stay here again if my travels bring me this way again. Downtown (about a 15 minute drive) has a pretty nice downtown mall too!

Room Tip: No real road noise to worry about - hotel sits up on hill. Nothing exciting to see from room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCharlestonMGR, Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
KYMountainman,

Thank you for you visit and your loyalty to the Hampton Brand. It's great to hear all the things you feel we've done that are innovative and that give our guests that perfect stay! Thank you again for the kind comments and we are looking forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

It took literally hours to get the tv to work after a brief thunderstorm. I ha stayed at this hotel previously and had always been satisfied. The Direct tv guy was on the roof and couldn't figure out how to fix the problem. Finally, after several hours, some television was restored. Very difficult to stay in a small room without television. Please, switch to cable!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCharlestonMGR, Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Tamara M,

I appreciate your feedback about our TV service. I apologize for the inconvenience and wanted to let you know that the issue has been taken care of. It turned out that when a contractor moved our dish, they pulled some cabling loose, which in turn affected all the HD channels. Again, I apologize for the fact that this affected your stay with us and I hope that when you come back this way, we can show you a much higher quality of stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville Ontario
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We stayed at this Hampton Inn on our way to Georgia. The hotel is located very close to the highway and in the middle of many shops and places to eat. The hotel staff were great and the hotel clean and well maintained. Breakfast as always at the Hampton was good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCharlestonMGR, Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Robert O, Thank you for stopping by on your trip and thank you for the compliments. When you come back this way we would love to see you again!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

The hotel was a nice place to stay. Open lobby, friendly staff. located in plaza of many resturants and a walmart and much more. Easily able to travel to other locations if need to. Free breakfast. Nice pool area and nice outside lounge.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCharlestonMGR, Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Wayne S,

That was "nice" of you to say Wayne! Thank you for the compliments, I am glad you liked the pool and the outdoor lounge area, and especially the friendly staff. We try hard to make everyone welcome. I look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okeana, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

The Hampton Inn always has that fresh clean smell in each room! This particular location is convenient to many amenities. I travel a lot for business and frequent the Hampton Inns. This location is far enough away from Charleston so you are not in downtown, but close enough to Charleston to be convenient to downtown. If staying in this area again I would be apt to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCharlestonMGR, Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Jennifer L,

First let me thank you for your Loyalty to the Hampton Brand, and second, I am so happy that you had such a great time while you were here. Thank you for your comments on our location, we do think it is a great point in our favor and we sincerely look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge

Address: 1 Preferred Place, Charleston, WV 25309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Charleston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#4 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the Southridge Shopping Center, the Hampton Inn Charleston-Southridge is just steps away from shopping and dining establishments. Close to major businesses in Charleston, yet next door to walking trails, swimming and skiing, this hotel is perfect for business and leisure travelers. Don’t forget to begin your day with a free, hot breakfast or a quick dip in the indoor pool. Also enjoy complimentary high-speed internet and business center for the duration of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge Hotel Charleston
Charleston Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.