We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good amenities, wonderful people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Preferred Place, Charleston, WV 25309   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Charleston
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good amenities, wonderful people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stay here every time we're in West Virginia to visit family. Every time we've visited, the hotel the rooms have been clean, the pool and hot tub have been warm and clean, and the staff has been extremely helpful. Our only problem is that the entrance to the hotel has been difficult to get to-it's up a giant zig zagging hill-but this is West Virginia, so a hill isn't that big of a deal. Overall, this is a great hotel, and one that will continue to be our go to hotel for our many trips during the year.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCharlestonMGR, Admin Staff at Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Meagan O, I can't tell you enough how nice it is to hear what a great stay you had at our hotel. Thank you very much for your kind comments and we will look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    89
    24
    10
    5
See reviews for
96
66
12
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mount Hope, West Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This Hotel is always VERY clean, staff is VERY friendley, breakfast was great! We love this place! The pool is very nice, as well as the hot tub. The matresses are veyr comfortable, and the towels are of good quality.
Jason & Missy Williams

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Piont, OH
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Hotel is a good location for shopping and not to far from Charleston downtown area.. They have a very adequate breakfast and coffee and soft drinks are always available at no extra charge in the lobby.. The pool area is nice, but at times it seemed as though the chlorine level was to high..Overall this hotel is a good stay...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCharlestonMGR, Admin Staff at Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dan S, Thanks for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. I’m happy to read from your review that you found our hotel to be conveniently located and that our staff was friendly and helpful. I sincerely appreciate you comment regarding there being too much chlorine in our pool. Our guests’ feedback is incredibly important to us and I will definitely take your comments into consideration to improve our hotel. Thank you very much for your business and I do hope that next time you are in town, you stay with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
forestville,ny
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This inn was clean, the room and common areas. Morning breakfast was plentiful and fresh. This is the first Hampton we've been at that that had two, count 'em TWO, waffle irons. Not such a big deal but when traveling with your spouse it is nice to be able to sit down and eat together.

Other inns should take note.

Pool and hot tub area were kept very well. Workout area as well. Elevators clean and quiet. Staff was congenial and professional.

One downer - some idiot tripped the emergency switch for the heat, so at 5am we needed staff to reset the heater. Which they quickly did.

Room Tip: We were on floor 6. Extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Fantastic Experience, Incredibly friendly, helpful staff, Superb accommodations, amenities, and Super Clean... The private lounging areas by the pool and Jacuzzi made ordering out pizza handy and FUN! We loved it and will stay here again when we travel to this area.

Room Tip: With us and the kids, it was most comfortable to stay in the Double Queen Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCharlestonMGR, Admin Staff at Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Maggie Sean T, I'm pleased to hear that you had such a great time and want to come again when you are in the area. I'm also pleased to hear that you liked the private Cabanas in the pool area. Thank you for your comments and I hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyburn, West Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Excellent accomadations, great room, extremely comfortable, awesome whirlpool bath, and very close to shopping and other area attractions . Overall the stay went great nice and quiet for a couple to getaway for some alone time. The hotel was extremely clean and quiet and i must say had the most comfortable bed ive slept in, in a hotel . Internet service was great for my wifes facebook surfing and keeping up with kids back home.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCharlestonMGR, Admin Staff at Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Clinton B, Thank you for the review, we're glad you had such a great getaway, and that you enjoyed the hotel so much! We look forward to serving you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The first night our toilet clogged (ugh) The maintenance man responded quickly but was unsuccessful. They offered us another room, but fortunately we had family staying in an adjoining room so we were able to use their toilet. Early the next morning the maintenance man arrived with a new toilet. He removed the old plugged one reset the ring and a new toilet in less than 30 minures! Upon checkout we learned that not only did the hotel comp the first night but the second one as well. As if that were not enough, our family was given coupons for 2 free pizzas!! Now that is what I call above and beyond good customer service. We make it a habit to stay at Hamptons whenever there is one in the area we are visiting but from now on it will definately be a top priority. Thank you to the Managment team and staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCharlestonMGR, Admin Staff at Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
pdiddysnonna, Again, we are sorry for the maintenance issue that you experienced while with us. I'm glad things were resolved and that you enjoyed the rest of your stay. I hope we will see you again when you come back this way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge

Address: 1 Preferred Place, Charleston, WV 25309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Charleston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#3 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the Southridge Shopping Center, the Hampton Inn Charleston-Southridge is just steps away from shopping and dining establishments. Close to major businesses in Charleston, yet next door to walking trails, swimming and skiing, this hotel is perfect for business and leisure travelers. Don’t forget to begin your day with a free, hot breakfast or a quick dip in the indoor pool. Also enjoy complimentary high-speed internet and business center for the duration of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge Hotel Charleston
Charleston Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.