We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Preferred Place, Charleston, WV 25309   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2x HHonors Points
Ranked #1 of 23 hotels in Charleston
USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Stayed here one night on a road trip - two rooms. Although the hotel was busy with a wedding party, everything was of a high standard. Check in was a breeze and very courteous. The rooms were great - large, clean and modern. King size beds and brilliant pillows (i usually hate most hotel pillows), 2/3 seat sofa and armchair, flat screen TV and plenty of channels, good work desk and reasonably fast WiFi, good bathroom with double size shower (not bath).
All the staff were very helpful to the highest degree, good free breakfast and free soda fountain drinks 24/7. Two flat screen computer screens available near the breakfast area.
All in all a very good overnight stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    74
    19
    8
    5
See reviews for
81
50
9
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chicagoland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

We stayed here on our way home from Virginia Beach a couple of days ago. It was clean and nice. The breakfast was good and we loved how the indoor pool and breakfast area opened up into each other. The room had a fridge and microwave which is always a good thing. The only thing I would change is the price. I don't like spending $125 for one night anywhere just for sleeping. It seemed like a bit much for the area. It cost us as much as the Hampton Inns did in the tourist areas like Virginia Beach and Williamsburg, VA. Since Charleston isn't exactly a high tourist area, the room really should have been under $100.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petersburg wv
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

This is the second year our Little League Baseball team stayed at this hotel. We were guests for 6 nights and the staff was super to all of our players and their families. They went above and beyond in helping make our week away from home comfortable.

Room Tip: Hotel is located off the highway so any room should be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg, VA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

This was our 4th stay at this hotel. Coming from Central Virginia, I use Charleston as a mid-point stop on road trips to visit family in Indiana. This hotel, although a bit off of the interstate, is our new favorite. It's located at the back of a shopping area on a road which is full of stores, restaurants, etc. So, you have a wide range of places to eat and shop all within walking distance or a short drive. Within walking distance: Panera, Quaker Steak and Lube, Chuck-E-Cheese, Bob Evans, Wendy's, McDonald's, and more. Possible negative if you're traveling with kids: Toys R Us is right in front of the hotel, too! Parking is plentiful, too.

The hotel is nicely decorated, clean and the staff members are friendly. They have freshly baked cookies by the front desk. On Wednesdays, they have a Manager's reception where they serve drinks and small snacks (that day they had salad). I actually was not told this by staff, but by a fellow guest. The breakfast area is continuously restocked by very friendly staff members who even remembered me from last time.

On the way to Indiana, we had just arrived in the middle of a huge storm. I found the hotel to be extremely busy. The front desk clerk told me several other hotels were sending people there because of widespread power outages. He even told me that one year, the only place in town to have power during/after a storm were Wal-Mart (at the other end of the shopping complex the hotel is located in) and this hotel. So, good to know when traveling in bad weather! Although we checked in rather late because of the storm and traffic (around 9 pm) I was relieved to find my room had not been given away! :)

On the return part of this particular trip, our refrigerator was not working when we got to the room and maintenance came up and had it replaced within 15 minutes. Another great stay and look forward to coming again during the holidays as usual!

Room Tip: For those who need accessible rooms, I highly recommend requesting a king study suite on the first f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

The staff was nice and the lobby amenties were good. I went to get coffee in the evening and there was a crew of teenage boys half dressed and wet sitting in the dining area for the free PB Jelly. The pool is big and would have been fun but, this hotel definately gets a work out with kids. If you are a business traveler sometimes you just want some peace and quiet. This is of course not the hotel's fault. Like another review my air conditioner kept me up all night. I cranked my tv volume up to 48 to hear it and my hearing is just fine. Another real bummer was the bike fest at Quaker Steak next to the hotel. Needless to say they were still playing loud music and revving engines at 10:00 PM:( I think if I was the manager I would strike up a deal with them or go further with corporate and file some type of property breach.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersburg, West Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

I stay in hotels throughout the state and this one is absolutely the best. Traci, the manager and in fact the entire staff, treat every guest like family. This can be seen best on Wednesday evenings at the managers reception. The free beer and wine is nice, the free food is nice but the personal interaction with Traci and her staff makes being away from home much easier.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

I've stayed here numerous times. This is the best hotel in Charleston, WV. The staff are so friendly. The Management reception on Wednesday nights is excellent! Would not stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCharlestonMGR, Admin Staff at Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
Thank you so much for your continued support. We always appreciate our returning guests and are happy you were able to come to the Manager’s Reception. We look forward to having you back the next time you are through the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge

Address: 1 Preferred Place, Charleston, WV 25309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Charleston
#1 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the Southridge Shopping Center, the Hampton Inn Charleston-Southridge is just steps away from shopping and dining establishments. Close to major businesses in Charleston, yet next door to walking trails, swimming and skiing, this hotel is perfect for business and leisure travelers. Don’t forget to begin your day with a free, hot breakfast or a quick dip in the indoor pool. Also enjoy complimentary high-speed internet and business center for the duration of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge Hotel Charleston
Charleston Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.