We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives up to ranking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Preferred Place, Charleston, WV 25309   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Member Savings
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, West Virginia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lives up to ranking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

Selected hotel due to proximity to downtown Charleston to attend dance competition. Great location to shopping. Booked through this site via Expedia. Expedia messed up the reservation. Our confirmation stated we had a guaranteed room. Front desk had nothing from Expedia. Beth at front desk went out of her way to make it right, even though it wasn't Hampton's problem. Kudos to Beth. She jumped on phone with Expedia (rep. had difficult Japan accent) and she proceeded to exceed our expectations. Mgnt should commend her. Great Service. Good breakfast, pool, wifi, etc. Will stay her next time in Charleston.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCharlestonMGR, Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge, responded to this review, May 2, 2011
Thank you for such an awesome review! We’ re so glad that Beth could help you out with Expedia and we certainly do commend her for it. We applaud all our employees who give great service to our guests. We’re glad you enjoyed the breakfast and pool as well the shopping. We hope your dance competition was wonderful and really look forward to seeing you the next time you are back this way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    107
    27
    13
    7
See reviews for
123
84
14
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
75 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

Arrived at this hotel and was greeted by the friendly desk staff. The check-in was quick and efficient. I was told free Coke products were available in the lobby and yes fountain soda was free, a very nice touch. The lobby was tastefully decorated, organized and clean.

The breakfast area was larger than most and again, nicely decorated with soothing colors and texture.

I arrived at my room and it was clean and neat. The bathroom was larger than most, clean and well stocked with towels and amenities. Inspection of the bed showed clean, fragrant sheets and the comforter was soft and freshly washed. The bed was comfortable. The wireless internet was acceptable. A flat screen television was in the room and the channel selection was very good, 63 channels but no high-definition. The water was hot and the pressure was very good in the shower. The room also had a refrigerator and microwave, both clean and it working order. The couch was a pull out and was of good comfort.

The pool area was also clean and neat. The pool was large and the Jacuzzi was refreshing. The workout room was great and well equipped with new exercise equipment.

This hotel is located in a large retail area with many restaurant choices within walking distance and many others within a short drive.

The only drawback I had was the HVAC in the room. It quickly and easily heated the room but was loud when it was on and awoke me several times during the night.

I would recommend this hotel and would stay again. Total cost with tax for a Monday night was $130.04, competitive for this area of Charleston.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCharlestonMGR, Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge, responded to this review, December 29, 2010
We appreciate such a great review! We are pleased that our front desk staff were able to make your stay so enjoyable. Our hotel prides itself on our efficiency and our ability to have all the amenities you've come to expect, such as the newly remodeled Lobby and Breakfast area. We're pleased you enjoyed the pool and hot tub as well as the exercise room. Our location offers many area restaurants like Red Lobster, Buffalo Wild Wings and Panera Bread as well as others.

We are sorry that the HVAC unit disturbed you and if you would contact us to let us know what room you were in, we'd like to investigate the equipment further so that our next guest will have an enjoyable stay as well.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope you'll give us another opportunity to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dandridge, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

I travel to Charleston on a regular basis. This is the only place I stay. I am impressed by the amenities that I would not expect (free soft drinks and snacks). The hotel is recently remodeled and convenient to shopping and restaurants. The staff is excellent and helpful. You will not be disappointed in the service or value.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCharlestonMGR, Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge, responded to this review, November 10, 2010
We are so happy that you like our hotel so much! We try to provide the best service to all our guests. The shops like Kohl’s, Books-a-Million and Gander Mountain are so close to us and the dining possibilities like Buffalo Wild Wings, Panera Bread and China Gourmet are almost too numerous to mention. We hope you are back this way again when the new Best Buy opens up just down the road in mid November! We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

When checking into the hotel the desk clerk invited us to the manager's reception. This is a wonderful idea and was well attended. I would love for Hampton Inn-Southridge to have its' own restaurant so travelers are able to stay in and dine.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCharlestonMGR, Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge, responded to this review, October 27, 2010
Thank you so very much for your kind review! We love the Manager’s Reception and are grateful that you did too. We like your idea about an onsite restaurant, too. While we will consider your idea, please take advantage of the many restaurants nearby, like Red Lobster, Olive Garden, or Bob Evans! Thanks again and we would love to see you when you come by this way again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

Stayed at this hotel while in Charleston area for a family wedding. Left the room mid-morning to run some errands. Came back to the room after cleaning crew had been in, to discover very valuable jewelry (est $2K) had been STOLEN from my belongings. Police came and took report. Less than sincere sympathy from hotel personnel.

DO NOT STAY HERE -- Thieves in the hotel !!!!!!!!

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCharlestonMGR, Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge, responded to this review, December 1, 2010
We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this incident caused you. We undertook an immediate investigation into the situation and are very glad to have resolved the matter after the items were located and returned to you. Once again, we extend our sincerest apologies and wish to assure you and all our guests that we make your security, and that of your belongings, our utmost priority. We offer a safe in every room to ensure that all our guests can store their belongings in their rooms with peace of mind. We hope you will offer us the opportunity to be your home away from home when you are next in Charleston. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taichung, Taiwan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

Got a great rate to stay overnight here. We were passing through on I-77, and wanted to stop in Charleston. This hotel is advertised as being in Charleston. It's not...you must drive 10-15 off of I-77 to get to it...shame on me for not double-chekcking the locale. After getting there though, this hotel was in the perfect spot! A mall and two other large shopping centers surrounding it. 8 restaraunts within WALKING distance, 3 that are right outside the door. We ordered in Chinese though, it was some of the best Chinese I've had in America. The staff at the hotel was really friendly, the pool area was the best I've seen in a hampton. All indoor corridors, and newly renovated! If you don't mind the drive, it's worth it!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCharlestonMGR, Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge, responded to this review, October 21, 2010
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Our staff is so pleased that you like the new renovations and pool as well as their friendliness. We are thankfully located near many different types of restaurants such as Panera Bread, Quaker Steak and Lube, and Red Lobster. We are looking forward to seeing you the next time you pass this way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inwood, West Virginia, Usa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

I stayed at this Hampton Inn last weekend in order to attend a workshop for teachers. It was easy to find, far away from the congestion of downtown, it was very clean and comfortable. The desk manager even gave me a bigger discount that I expected, the pool and spa was just what I needed after a 5 hour drive to get there. There was a lot of work going on but the workers were discreet and very polite - even funny to talk with. Breakfast was OK for this kind of hotel but the juice and all day coffee were great. Lots of great places nearby to eat. The room was comfortable, WiFi was free and I slept peacefully for 2 nights!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaCharleston, Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge, responded to this review, October 5, 2010
We are so happy that you enjoyed staying with us. We are very excited about our new lobby and exercise facilities. Your review is the kind of thing we like to hear. Our staff works hard to make every guest feel at home even when renovations were under way. We hope you come back soon –maybe take a trip to do some holiday shopping at the nearby stores. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
4.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
8.9 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#2 of 24 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 229 reviews
5.1 mi away
Charleston Marriott Town Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge

Address: 1 Preferred Place, Charleston, WV 25309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Charleston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#4 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the Southridge Shopping Center, the Hampton Inn Charleston-Southridge is just steps away from shopping and dining establishments. Close to major businesses in Charleston, yet next door to walking trails, swimming and skiing, this hotel is perfect for business and leisure travelers. Don’t forget to begin your day with a free, hot breakfast or a quick dip in the indoor pool. Also enjoy complimentary high-speed internet and business center for the duration of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge Hotel Charleston
Charleston Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.